New Screenshot Feature

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

MartinW
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu May 09, 2019 9:28 pm

New Screenshot Feature

Postby MartinW » Sat May 11, 2019 11:35 am

Just wanted to say that the new screenshot feature is an awesome addition - thank you! (I realise it was a PR from a contributor)

I only tested on two cores last night, Genesis and Minimig. Genesis was fine but Minimig was squashed to half height and extra-wide. Is this just an unfortunate side effect of creating the image from before scaling? Or is it a bug?

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4635
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: New Screenshot Feature

Postby Sorgelig » Sat May 11, 2019 1:56 pm

it's not a bug. This is a real resolution from the core without any processing.

alanswx
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 96
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 4:34 pm

Re: New Screenshot Feature

Postby alanswx » Sat May 11, 2019 7:56 pm

Sorgelig wrote:it's not a bug. This is a real resolution from the core without any processing.


Is there information in the scaler header or somewhere so we can optionally scale the png?

MartinW
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu May 09, 2019 9:28 pm

Re: New Screenshot Feature

Postby MartinW » Sat May 11, 2019 8:54 pm

I guess if you are specifying a specific video mode in mister.ini then you can just resize to that resolution in whatever program you choose. That works.

Would be cool if the screenshot could have the processing applied automatically but will happily settle for what is there

Grabulosaure
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2017 9:35 pm
Contact:

Re: New Screenshot Feature

Postby Grabulosaure » Sat May 11, 2019 11:37 pm

There is currently the output resolution in the scaler header, for debug. It just reflects the current settings (4/3, 16/9...) not the format on original hardware.
The PNG format allows different X/Y pixel dimensions (pHYs chunk), but it's probably ignored by viewers.
Anyway, command-line image converters and scripts could resize pictures if needed.

Locutus73
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:13 pm

Re: New Screenshot Feature

Postby Locutus73 » Sun May 12, 2019 7:38 am

IMHO the unprocessed original picture is the best option. Postprocessing can (IMHO should) be done later.

Regards.

Locutus73

fille1976
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2018 4:33 pm

Re: New Screenshot Feature

Postby fille1976 » Sun May 12, 2019 12:39 pm

How do you setup MISTer with screenshot feature,its not in the guide?

MartinW
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu May 09, 2019 9:28 pm

Re: New Screenshot Feature

Postby MartinW » Sun May 12, 2019 3:27 pm

Win+PrtScrn will take the snapshot and you’ll find a new folder with them in within the fat partition.

Think it’s in the releases thread? Pretty sure I looked on GitHub to find out how it worked.

Obviously (or not) needs the latest release since it’s a new addition

fille1976
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2018 4:33 pm

Re: New Screenshot Feature

Postby fille1976 » Sun May 12, 2019 4:36 pm

Ok,gona try,thx.

User avatar
Paradroyd
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 287
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 10:50 pm
Contact:

Re: New Screenshot Feature

Postby Paradroyd » Sun May 12, 2019 5:58 pm

This works well in every core I've tried it in so far except FXcast/Atari ST. When I press the key combo in FXcast it pops a window for a few seconds that says, "Scaler not compatible". I assume that this is because FXcast doesn't support the newer scaler format.
- Paradroyd
@paradroyd on Twitter, @paradroyd@mastodon.sdf.org on Mastodon

User avatar
kitrinx
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 6:03 am

Re: New Screenshot Feature

Postby kitrinx » Sun May 12, 2019 6:14 pm

Paradroyd wrote:This works well in every core I've tried it in so far except FXcast/Atari ST. When I press the key combo in FXcast it pops a window for a few seconds that says, "Scaler not compatible". I assume that this is because FXcast doesn't support the newer scaler format.


Its not open source so it can't be updated to the latest framework and features.

alanswx
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 96
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 4:34 pm

Re: New Screenshot Feature

Postby alanswx » Mon May 13, 2019 12:07 am

kitrinx wrote:
Paradroyd wrote:This works well in every core I've tried it in so far except FXcast/Atari ST. When I press the key combo in FXcast it pops a window for a few seconds that says, "Scaler not compatible". I assume that this is because FXcast doesn't support the newer scaler format.


Its not open source so it can't be updated to the latest framework and features.

Screenshot requires a pretty new version of the scaler because the first few versions had a bug in the header. Also the header needs to be turned on.

Locutus73
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:13 pm

Re: New Screenshot Feature

Postby Locutus73 » Tue May 14, 2019 10:47 am

@alanswx ingenious work + Nginx web server = this



Regards.

Locutus73


User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1399
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: New Screenshot Feature

Postby Newsdee » Tue May 14, 2019 12:04 pm

Whoa 8O


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests