Scripting news

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

Shaneus
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 12:07 am

Re: Scripting news

Postby Shaneus » Fri Jan 10, 2020 12:32 am

Sorgelig wrote:It's in beta stage. When this core will be stable, it will be moved to MiSTer-devel for general use.
There is no point to tweak update for this repository.
If you like to use unfinished cores, then update them by hands. They may not follow the general schema for automatic updates.

Understood, easily done. Thanks!

Locutus73
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:13 pm

Re: Scripting news

Postby Locutus73 » Mon Jan 13, 2020 12:03 pm

Scripting news:
===========================
Updater_script_MiSTer: 2020-01-13
- mister_updater.sh - Version 4.0 - 2020-01-13 - Added report/log of updated cores and additional files at the end of the script; added exit code 100 when there's an error downloading something; now PARALLEL_UPDATE="true" is the default value; added REPOSITORIES_NEGATIVE_FILTER parameter, like REPOSITORIES_FILTER but repository names and core categories must not match the filter, it is processed after REPOSITORIES_FILTER; now the updater only checks repositories which have been actually updated since the last successful update, edit your ini or delete /media/fat/Scripts/.mister_updater/*.last_successful_run files to reset this mechanism; changed MidiLink additional repository to the official MiSTer-devel one.
- updater-pc/updater-pc.zip - 2020-01-13 - Added cut.exe.
===========================
https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Updater_script_MiSTer

Regards.

Locutus73

evdberg
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2018 8:32 am

Re: Scripting news

Postby evdberg » Tue Jan 14, 2020 8:33 pm

Is it normal that the update script throws 'Transient errors' and is 'Throwing away bytes'?
I also got whole scrolling screens of timestamps. I have the feeling something is wrong.

Chris23235
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 6:52 pm

Re: Scripting news

Postby Chris23235 » Tue Jan 14, 2020 8:56 pm

evdberg wrote:Is it normal that the update script throws 'Transient errors' and is 'Throwing away bytes'?
I also got whole scrolling screens of timestamps. I have the feeling something is wrong.


Same here, after the updater ran I had a bunch of arcade core files in the folder, that should only contain the mra files.

Locutus73
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:13 pm

Re: Scripting news

Postby Locutus73 » Tue Jan 14, 2020 9:29 pm

evdberg wrote:Is it normal that the update script throws 'Transient errors' and is 'Throwing away bytes'?
I also got whole scrolling screens of timestamps. I have the feeling something is wrong.


Are you on Wi-Fi?
It’s not the first time I see people having problems with Wi-Fi (sometimes it’s a power issue).
Can you try with PARALLEL_UPDATE="false" which will stress less the network?
Anyway the script should be resilient, restoring files not updated correctly, reporting errors in the final log and not considering the update successful so that the next run will check again the current updated repos.

Let me know.

Regards.

Locutus73
Last edited by Locutus73 on Tue Jan 14, 2020 9:35 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Locutus73
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:13 pm

Re: Scripting news

Postby Locutus73 » Tue Jan 14, 2020 9:32 pm

Chris23235 wrote:Same here, after the updater ran I had a bunch of arcade core files in the folder, that should only contain the mra files.

Are you using MAME_ARCADE_ROMS="true" (and optionally MAME_ALT_ROMS="true") in your ini?

Regards.

Locutus73

djsquare
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 2:01 am

Re: Scripting news

Postby djsquare » Tue Jan 14, 2020 9:33 pm

I also get transient errors every time now and I am not on wifi. I will try the above when I get home. Thank you

Locutus73
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:13 pm

Re: Scripting news

Postby Locutus73 » Tue Jan 14, 2020 9:48 pm

If PARALLEL_UPDATE="false" solves the transient network errors and you complete a successful update run, can you try PARALLEL_UPDATE="true" again?
In the next runs the updater will check only the repos which have been actually updated so it will check only few repos in parallel instead of 100+. Actually on the first run after you change the ini it will check all repos finding no updates and then will check only the updated ones, so:
1) run the updater with PARALLEL_UPDATE="false", it should update 100+ repos with no network problems.
2) run the updater with PARALLEL_UPDATE="true", it should check 100+ repos finding no update.
3) run the updater again with PARALLEL_UPDATE="true", it should skip all MiSTer-devel repos.

If you run again the updater the next day after 3), it should update in parallel only the few repos with actual updates and maybe you won’t have network transient errors even with PARALLEL_UPDATE="true"

Thank you in advance.

Regards.
Last edited by Locutus73 on Wed Jan 15, 2020 7:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

Chris23235
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 6:52 pm

Re: Scripting news

Postby Chris23235 » Tue Jan 14, 2020 9:57 pm

Locutus73 wrote:
Chris23235 wrote:Same here, after the updater ran I had a bunch of arcade core files in the folder, that should only contain the mra files.

Are you using MAME_ARCADE_ROMS="true" (and optionally MAME_ALT_ROMS="true") in your ini?

Regards.

Locutus73


Ah, I forgot I had to change MAME_ARACDE_ROMS to "true", did it before, but that was on the old card, my fault.

djsquare
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 2:01 am

Re: Scripting news

Postby djsquare » Wed Jan 15, 2020 4:08 am

Locutus73 wrote:If PARALLEL_UPDATE="false" solves the transient network errors and you complete a successful update run, can you try PARALLEL_UPDATE="true" again?
In the next runs the updater will check only the repos which have been actually updated so it will check only few repos in parallel instead of 100+. Actually on the first run after you change the ini it will check all repos finding no updates and then will check only the updated ones, so:
1) run the updater with PARALLEL_UPDATE="false", it should update 100+ repos with no network problems.
2) run the updater with PARALLEL_UPDATE="true", it should check 100+ repos finding no update.
3) run the updater again with PARALLEL_UPDATE="true", it should skip all MiSTer-devel repos.

If you run again the updater tomorrow, it should update in parallel only the few repos with actual updates and maybe you won’t have network transient errors even with PARALLEL_UPDATE="true"

Thank you in advance.

Regards.


Worked like a charm. Thank you again

Locutus73
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:13 pm

Re: Scripting news

Postby Locutus73 » Wed Jan 15, 2020 7:26 am

djsquare wrote:Worked like a charm. Thank you again

Image
Maybe the parallel update pushes something in your network too hard.
i.e. my DE10-Nano is connected through Ethernet to an Apple Airport Express which bridges it through Wi-Fi to an AirPort Extreme connected (Ethernet) to a low power x86 box with VMWare eSXI and pfSense (firewall) then to a VDSL2 modem (all routing functions disabled). I don’t have any transient error (maybe some really rare instances).
Anyway each and every network is different and disabling the parallel update eases the network life.
I’ll add a prompt in the final recap when there’s a downloading error.

Regards.

Locutus73

evdberg
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2018 8:32 am

Re: Scripting news

Postby evdberg » Wed Jan 15, 2020 9:13 am

Locutus73 wrote:Are you on Wi-Fi?
It’s not the first time I see people having problems with Wi-Fi (sometimes it’s a power issue).
Can you try with PARALLEL_UPDATE="false" which will stress less the network?
Anyway the script should be resilient, restoring files not updated correctly, reporting errors in the final log and not considering the update successful so that the next run will check again the current updated repos.

I am on wired LAN.

I added PARALLEL_UPDATE="false" after ALLOW_INSECURE_SSL="true" to the update.sh script, but that does not seem to make any difference.

[UPDATE}
Putting PARALLEL_UPDATE="false" in update.ini works much better ...

Locutus73
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:13 pm

Re: Scripting news

Postby Locutus73 » Thu Jan 16, 2020 4:25 pm

@Sorgelig
I see you renamed some old cores releases dirs to _releases, reworked the wiki in order to point some entries to the parent core and now you're deleting the bat files for generating old style ROMs... this leads me to think that MRA is not only the future of arcade cores, but it's the present and old rom files are deprecated. Am I right?
If this is true, what do you think about updater MAME_ARCADE_ROMS and MAME_ALT_ROMS default values?
Now it's "" which means the updater will behave like in the past, so downloading rbf files in the _Arcade dir and no MRA is processed.
When "true" the updater will move all rbf files under _Arcade/cores, update them there and download MRA files into _Arcade.
When "false" the original old style structure will be restored.

Maybe it's time for having MAME_ARCADE_ROMS="true" and MAME_ALT_ROMS="true" as default value: this would help new users, but it could harm some old user still using old style roms. Maybe I can display a disclaimer in the updater for a week or two and then change the default value to "true".

Please tell me what you think, suggestions are welcome.

Thank you in advance.
Regards.

brunosilva
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 127
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:58 pm

Re: Scripting news

Postby brunosilva » Thu Jan 16, 2020 4:29 pm

my idea:
alternatives could be off because not everyone likes it...

but mra on by default :)

Locutus73
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:13 pm

Re: Scripting news

Postby Locutus73 » Sat Jan 18, 2020 12:12 pm

Scripting news:
===========================
Updater_script_MiSTer: 2020-01-13
- update.sh - Version 2.1.3 - 2020-01-18 - Improved script output.
- mister_updater.sh - Version 4.0.1 - 2020-01-18 - Improved script output.
===========================
https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Updater_script_MiSTer

Regards.

Locutus73

marra
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2019 2:08 pm

MRA files not downloading

Postby marra » Sat Jan 18, 2020 7:45 pm

Hi, long time lurked and newb to mister.
Pretty much as the title says, I have retrodrivens script downloading roms and the update.sh that downloads rbf files but it doesn't create/download official mra files is there a option in update.ini im supposed to enable so it does? I've had help on a facebook group to get to this point but I just cant get any arcade cores to run even when I found some mra files and added them manually when I tried to run them it just took me back to the cores menu.
Any help would be great. Thanks.

Locutus73
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:13 pm

Re: MRA files not downloading

Postby Locutus73 » Sun Jan 19, 2020 6:50 pm

marra wrote:Any help would be great. Thanks.

Hi,
please add MAME_ARCADE_ROMS="true" and MAME_ALT_ROMS="true" to your ini.
Please read https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Updater_script_MiSTer regarding the ini and stuff.

Regards.

Locutus73

kublai
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2019 6:59 pm

Re: MRA files not downloading

Postby kublai » Sun Jan 19, 2020 8:25 pm

marra wrote:Hi, long time lurked and newb to mister.
Pretty much as the title says, I have retrodrivens script downloading roms and the update.sh that downloads rbf files but it doesn't create/download official mra files is there a option in update.ini im supposed to enable so it does? I've had help on a facebook group to get to this point but I just cant get any arcade cores to run even when I found some mra files and added them manually when I tried to run them it just took me back to the cores menu.
Any help would be great. Thanks.

I had the same happen to me and I ended up formatting my SDCard and started from scratch. ran the update and update_retrodrivens script after and everything worked. Probably something with the old config that caused none of the Arcade cores to run. I was enevr able to figure out what it was but I'm glad I started from scratch as my dirs are now clean.

marra
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2019 2:08 pm

Re: MRA files not downloading

Postby marra » Mon Jan 20, 2020 10:32 pm

Locutus73 wrote:
marra wrote:Any help would be great. Thanks.

Hi,
please add MAME_ARCADE_ROMS="true" and MAME_ALT_ROMS="true" to your ini.
Please read https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Updater_script_MiSTer regarding the ini and stuff.

Regards.

Locutus73


Thanks for your help I double checked and I had already done that but it still wouldn't even try to download the mra files

kublai wrote:
marra wrote:Hi, long time lurked and newb to mister.
Pretty much as the title says, I have retrodrivens script downloading roms and the update.sh that downloads rbf files but it doesn't create/download official mra files is there a option in update.ini im supposed to enable so it does? I've had help on a facebook group to get to this point but I just cant get any arcade cores to run even when I found some mra files and added them manually when I tried to run them it just took me back to the cores menu.
Any help would be great. Thanks.

I had the same happen to me and I ended up formatting my SDCard and started from scratch. ran the update and update_retrodrivens script after and everything worked. Probably something with the old config that caused none of the Arcade cores to run. I was enevr able to figure out what it was but I'm glad I started from scratch as my dirs are now clean.


I decided to follow you advice and re do my sd it didnt work straightway but after I made another update.ini it worked so i could only imagine it was a formatting error on my part.

Although i got it to download the files it downloaded the mra and rbf files in the wrong place so I need to work that out.
when I manually put them in the right place every game i tried worked, the weird thing is i shutdown my laptop thinking i had cracked it and then went to load another game and none would boot I'm sure it was complaining about the rom files, it's strange because I hadn't changed anything if you have any ideas about the above any help would be great.

Thank you both for your help it's really appreciated I'm a lot further on than I was.
Last edited by marra on Tue Jan 21, 2020 3:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Locutus73
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:13 pm

Re: MRA files not downloading

Postby Locutus73 » Tue Jan 21, 2020 2:53 pm

marra wrote:Thank you both for your help it's really appreciated I'm a lot further on than I was.

I honestly don't understad your issue very much... my advice is using Notepad++ for editing ini files.
Regarding target directories, when MAME_ARCADE_ROMS="true" MRA files will go into_Arcade, while RBF cores will go into _Arcade/cores; you have just to put your MAME ROM zips into _Arcade/mame.

Regards.

Locutus73

marra
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2019 2:08 pm

Re: Scripting news

Postby marra » Wed Jan 22, 2020 8:46 pm

Thanks for you help guys and i'm sorry for taking so long to reply. I managed to get everything to download to the correct place now it was me being a idiot and changing something I shouldn't in the folder structure in the script.
But since getting things to run by manually placing the files in the correct place which i mentioned earlier then for reasons I still haven't worked out they stopped working.
I went back to the script and now everything downloads in the right place with the arcade updater script and the roms are downloading with retrodrivens script but games are still not working when I try to boot the mra it says ****.bin not found, I'm at a loss now because everything is there

_Arcade --- .mra
_Arcade/cores --- .rbf
_Arcade/mame --- .zip

I've disabled hbmame on the retrodriven script for the time being.

thanks again and any help is appreciated.

marra
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2019 2:08 pm

Re: Scripting news

Postby marra » Sat Jan 25, 2020 7:24 pm

just posting incase anybody else has a brain fart like me.
I had another look at my problem today and realised after a pointer of someone else, I moved my mame zips to /games/mame and everything is working now. Sorry to put you through this and hopefully this helps someone else.

trashuncle
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2019 9:34 pm

Re: Scripting news

Postby trashuncle » Tue Jan 28, 2020 10:08 am

Does anyone know of GBA Cheats will be added to the updater script?

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5794
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Scripting news

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Feb 03, 2020 6:51 pm

Locutus73 wrote:@Sorgelig
I see you renamed some old cores releases dirs to _releases, reworked the wiki in order to point some entries to the parent core and now you're deleting the bat files for generating old style ROMs... this leads me to think that MRA is not only the future of arcade cores, but it's the present and old rom files are deprecated. Am I right?
If this is true, what do you think about updater MAME_ARCADE_ROMS and MAME_ALT_ROMS default values?
Now it's "" which means the updater will behave like in the past, so downloading rbf files in the _Arcade dir and no MRA is processed.
When "true" the updater will move all rbf files under _Arcade/cores, update them there and download MRA files into _Arcade.
When "false" the original old style structure will be restored.

Maybe it's time for having MAME_ARCADE_ROMS="true" and MAME_ALT_ROMS="true" as default value: this would help new users, but it could harm some old user still using old style roms. Maybe I can display a disclaimer in the updater for a week or two and then change the default value to "true".

Please tell me what you think, suggestions are welcome.

Thank you in advance.
Regards.


I think it's better not to touch the old Arcade structure - leave it as is. Current users will decide what to do - leave the old structure along with new one or delete - it's not hard to do - and it's one-time operation. But i would be angry if some script would delete the whole folder structure from my SD card.
But updater must be switched to MRA from now, as there won't be support for old pre-made ROMs. MRA includes additional important features like change the core ID, provide DIP and button settings. So old way is definitely obsolete and there is no way back. New milti-arcade cores cannot support it anyway.

djsquare
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 2:01 am

Re: Scripting news

Postby djsquare » Thu Feb 06, 2020 3:30 pm

I just noticed that the new Chip8 core downloads into the _Console folder rather than the _Computer folder


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: attle and 12 guests