Custom Video Modes Test Thread

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5795
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Custom Video Modes Test Thread

Postby Sorgelig » Fri Aug 09, 2019 5:36 am

for 4K monitor, the best resolution is 1920x1080. It will perfectly zoomed by monitor with least possible distortions.

User avatar
Xtro
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 11:47 am
Location: Spain

Re: Custom Video Modes Test Thread

Postby Xtro » Sun Sep 01, 2019 9:53 am

ghogan42 wrote:
hyperterminal wrote:Anybody got working modes for 240p and 480i?


240p requires a custom build of the mister binary because they have pixel clocks around 6mhz and mister doesn't allow pizel clocks under 20mhz by default. With a custom mister build, 240p modes work fine. I use one for gameboy on my crt tv.

I haven't made an interlaced modeline for mister before. Can interlaced modes be given through mister.ini?

Is there still the 6mhz limit in default MiSTer binary? Where to find the custom binary? I am hoping to create several custom resolutions for using in a 15khz monitor for the menu core to enable screen-saver and for other cores that doesn't display in 15khz like GameBoy and Apple II.
Is there a calculator or something to create those modes? For example I would need 640x240@60hz and 320x240@60hz

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5795
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Custom Video Modes Test Thread

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Sep 01, 2019 10:15 pm

Gameboy readme already lists such resolution

User avatar
Xtro
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 11:47 am
Location: Spain

Re: Custom Video Modes Test Thread

Postby Xtro » Wed Sep 04, 2019 9:29 pm

In order to have menu core at 640x240@60hz I created a custom resolution, I paste here what you have to append to mister.ini:
[Menu]
video_mode=640,8,58,78,240,1,3,18,12324
vga_scaler=1
vsync_adjust=2
vscale_mode=0

Mills
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2019 10:57 am

Re: Custom Video Modes Test Thread

Postby Mills » Sat Nov 30, 2019 1:11 pm

I'm trying to solve the tearing issues with the 3.5" 480x320 screen. I wonder if a custom 480x320 mode will improve things a little bit (I don't think so, I just have to try).

What settings do I have to use in the custom video_mode for a 480x320@60hz?

Thanks.

Paradroid
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2019 12:41 pm

Re: Custom Video Modes Test Thread

Postby Paradroid » Sun Dec 01, 2019 10:17 pm

Is the Mister capable of Overlays. Imagine the option to output a 4x scale of the GBA Core Image and place it in the middle of an image like this:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5795
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Custom Video Modes Test Thread

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Dec 02, 2019 9:08 am

Paradroid wrote:Is the Mister capable of Overlays.

no

hyperterminal
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 171
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 1:43 pm

Re: Custom Video Modes Test Thread

Postby hyperterminal » Mon Dec 02, 2019 11:54 am

Sorgelig wrote:
Paradroid wrote:Is the Mister capable of Overlays.

no

Is it just that overlays are not implemented yet or is it a technical problem (for example with the framebuffer, that it would cause additional lag)? Some cores would really benefit from overlays (Vectrex and Arcade cores with bezel come to mind).

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5795
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Custom Video Modes Test Thread

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:54 pm

hyperterminal wrote:
Sorgelig wrote:
Paradroid wrote:Is the Mister capable of Overlays.

no

Is it just that overlays are not implemented yet or is it a technical problem (for example with the framebuffer, that it would cause additional lag)? Some cores would really benefit from overlays (Vectrex and Arcade cores with bezel come to mind).

it's not implemented. It's also a technical difficulty to apply an overlay at the 150MHz clock rate without breaking the video. But it's definitely possible. So you have a green light to make such overlay engine.

Mills
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2019 10:57 am

Re: Custom Video Modes Test Thread

Postby Mills » Mon Dec 02, 2019 2:44 pm

If anyone happens to own one of those raspberry pi/HDMI LCD, with 480x320 resolution, this is the video mode to get pixel perfect results:

Code: Select all

video_mode=960,40,96,136,640,1,3,19,49010

I found a configured 960x640@60 (480x320 x 2) and it worked perfect.

These LCDs have a lot of tearing issues, but games look good enough :).

mathieulh
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2019 3:16 pm

Re: Custom Video Modes Test Thread

Postby mathieulh » Sat Jan 11, 2020 1:57 am

I managed to get 1920x1200; 1600x1200 and 752x2160 (most cores seem to be incompatible with that one though) to work on my 4K TV using MiSTer, no luck on 1440p.
I still prefer the good old 1080p, it scales well on my 4K TV, also my tv doesn't like 1200p@50hz, so no PAL games.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5795
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Custom Video Modes Test Thread

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Jan 11, 2020 5:34 am

mathieulh wrote:I managed to get 1920x1200; 1600x1200 and 752x2160 (most cores seem to be incompatible with that one though) to work on my 4K TV using MiSTer, no luck on 1440p.
I still prefer the good old 1080p, it scales well on my 4K TV, also my tv doesn't like 1200p@50hz, so no PAL games.

for true 4K (3840x2160) the only one ideal mode is 1920x1080.

vorvek
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2018 10:29 am

Re: Custom Video Modes Test Thread

Postby vorvek » Tue Jan 14, 2020 11:40 am

Wouldn't 720p be better for both 1440p and 2160p tvs, since you can get integer scaling all the way?

Peredonov
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2020 8:06 pm

Re: Custom Video Modes Test Thread

Postby Peredonov » Tue Jan 14, 2020 2:30 pm

vorvek wrote:Wouldn't 720p be better for both 1440p and 2160p tvs, since you can get integer scaling all the way?


You'd think so but it looks like all 4K TVs are optimized to upscale 1080p much better than anything else. Probably less work for them to do. In comparison they're not great at upscaling 720p though it should be a simple integer scale, but TV manufacturers never do anything right. Never seen a 1440p TV, I thought those are only PC monitors, which have their own downsides.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5795
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Custom Video Modes Test Thread

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Jan 14, 2020 2:45 pm

vorvek wrote:Wouldn't 720p be better for both 1440p and 2160p tvs, since you can get integer scaling all the way?

i don't know about 1440p - probably it's 2K, not 4K.
Scaling to higher resolution has less artefacts, so MiSTer scales to 1080p much better than to 720p.

BahnYuki
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2018 11:20 pm

Re: Custom Video Modes Test Thread

Postby BahnYuki » Tue Jan 21, 2020 6:40 am

Great thread, I was wondering if anyone's had any luck doing 240p@120hz over VGA? I was able to do it on the Mister menu but things looked warped with the actual cores. Has anything been proven to work for all cores?

AndreStarTrek
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2019 10:47 pm

Re: Custom Video Modes Test Thread

Postby AndreStarTrek » Fri Jan 24, 2020 8:45 am

BahnYuki wrote:Great thread, I was wondering if anyone's had any luck doing 240p@120hz over VGA? I was able to do it on the Mister menu but things looked warped with the actual cores. Has anything been proven to work for all cores?


Yes I got it working with this setting:

video_mode=320,8,32,40,240,1,3,14,12380

Epic
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2018 9:08 am

Re: Custom Video Modes Test Thread

Postby Epic » Sun Jan 26, 2020 1:08 pm

Can anyone help with setting a custom video mode for my 1366x768 LCD that comes in the Taito Vewlix's?

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5795
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Custom Video Modes Test Thread

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Jan 26, 2020 1:22 pm

1366x768 is one of predefined modes.
video_mode=10

Epic
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2018 9:08 am

Re: Custom Video Modes Test Thread

Postby Epic » Sun Jan 26, 2020 3:45 pm

Sorgelig wrote:1366x768 is one of predefined modes.
video_mode=10


It’s working perfectly now. Thanks @Sorgelig!

User avatar
comatron
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 2:56 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Custom Video Modes Test Thread

Postby comatron » Mon Jan 27, 2020 11:29 am

Ahoi. I got a PC Screen capable of higher refresh rates (up to 100hz @ 1024x768). I really like the screen and my prefered method is just to use scandoubler as there is no latency. But then of course it flickers as it is at 50hz. Is there a possibility to get it running at double refresh so the flickering is gone and i stick with a latency free pic? that would be sooo awesome (mainly using minimig)

Alternativly i connected it to the scaler (sadly with latency). But there i am not getting the modeline right (used some modeline calcs but i just dont get it). Can anyone help with the modline string for those resolutions to test?

1024x768@100hz
800x600@100hz

Cool would be a webseite or small tool and calculates that for you - OR the stringt might get a little simplified in the mister.ini? like just setting resolution and refresh only ...

Firung up old PC screens with higher refresh would really be a burner as you get this stuff for free and thats a recycling thing. the picture of mister on crt is such a good thing. im thankful. greetings from germany.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5795
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Custom Video Modes Test Thread

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Jan 27, 2020 5:30 pm

comatron wrote:(sadly with latency)

with latency only for those who don't want to study the subject.

User avatar
comatron
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 2:56 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Custom Video Modes Test Thread

Postby comatron » Mon Jan 27, 2020 9:45 pm

Sorgelig wrote:
comatron wrote:(sadly with latency)

with latency only for those who don't want to study the subject.


oh thanx, that helped

User avatar
comatron
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 2:56 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Custom Video Modes Test Thread

Postby comatron » Tue Jan 28, 2020 12:51 pm

i ment that literarelly. i did not know about what exact the fb_size ment and how it is related to the scaler. would be nice to point in the wiki under "what is lag" how that works together. so i now am totally happy with the latency.

fb_size=4
vsync_adjust=2

is the setting i go with now on that CRT. i tho would really appreciate if someone could help me with the higher refreshrate at 800x600 at least. i just dont get the string right - not even after several hours of researching and trying. i might be too stupid for this

User avatar
comatron
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 2:56 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Custom Video Modes Test Thread

Postby comatron » Tue Jan 28, 2020 2:00 pm

solved. i found a nice site:

https://www.epanorama.net/faq/vga2rgb/calc.html

select VESA resolution there or import modeline which you can spit out there:

https://arachnoid.com/modelines/

then enter the values that are shortcuts in the mister.ini - here a translation for noobs like me if you use the first mentioned site in this post:

hact,hfp,hs,hbp,vact,vfp,vs,vbp,Fpix_in_KHz
= Horizontal Resolution, H-Front Porch, H-Sync-Pulse, H-Backporch, Vertical Resolution, V-Front-Porch, V-Sync Pulse, V-Back Porch, Pixel Clock in MHz (multipy this by 1000)

works fine in the menus for me. as i fire up minimig resolution stays but refresh goes over to native 50 (pal). i wonder, if this could be doubled as the screen does 100hz. like just repeating the last frame for another so it would still be 50 moving frames per second but the flickering is gone. possible or is my thinking wrong? have a good day. i hope i could help some non-total-geeks :)


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AttaRub, marra, Sorgelig and 15 guests