Minimig RTG possible?

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

fpgaarcade
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 10:06 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Minimig RTG possible?

Postby fpgaarcade » Thu Nov 07, 2019 5:27 pm

"I think i will just make my own RAM_LUT"
Take a look in prims, the exact file you need is in there. Just include.

I wouldn't run it up at the moment until we've got the regression suite run and found what I broke, it's really for the merge.

I'll remove that generic completely, it's not needed.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5822
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Minimig RTG possible?

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Nov 07, 2019 5:31 pm

fpgaarcade wrote:"I think i will just make my own RAM_LUT"
Take a look in prims, the exact file you need is in there. Just include.

Sure, i will take your definition. My code already has base class of dpram, so will add RAM_LUT wrapper on top.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5822
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Minimig RTG possible?

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Nov 07, 2019 6:36 pm

M68K works fine so far.
I hope 68000 bug (what's the bug?) will be fixed soon, so it will be possible to make a release.

fpgaarcade
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 10:06 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Minimig RTG possible?

Postby fpgaarcade » Thu Nov 07, 2019 8:53 pm

It doesn't work in 68000 mode as far as I remember, I'm working on it now.

kolla
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 279
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 11:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Minimig RTG possible?

Postby kolla » Thu Nov 07, 2019 10:19 pm

It could be an idea to use only SDRAM when picking 68000 as CPU, as max amount of fast ram is just 8MB anyways?
-- kolla

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5822
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Minimig RTG possible?

Postby Sorgelig » Fri Nov 08, 2019 12:30 am

fpgaarcade wrote:It doesn't work in 68000 mode as far as I remember, I'm working on it now.

yes, it works only in 68020 mode. This is what i mean.

kolla wrote:It could be an idea to use only SDRAM when picking 68000 as CPU, as max amount of fast ram is just 8MB anyways?

68000 mode is kind of very special mode. Usually for some ancient and picky games. So just ChipRAM + SlowRAM is pretty much enough with cache turned off - you will get slow, close to original A500 speed Amiga.

kolla
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 279
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 11:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Minimig RTG possible?

Postby kolla » Fri Nov 08, 2019 10:46 am

Sorgelig wrote:Actually there is no much use for internet connection on Amiga.

Well, that's a rather subjective opinion. Without internet connection for the Amiga core, the MiSTer would be pretty much useless for me. Some of us use the MiSTer as a replacement for actual Amiga hardware, and we use it like we have used actual Amiga hardware for decades, and that includes TCP/IP - not just for file transfer.
-- kolla

ericgus
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 500
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: Minimig RTG possible?

Postby ericgus » Fri Nov 08, 2019 4:35 pm

kolla wrote:
Sorgelig wrote:Actually there is no much use for internet connection on Amiga.

Well, that's a rather subjective opinion. Without internet connection for the Amiga core, the MiSTer would be pretty much useless for me. Some of us use the MiSTer as a replacement for actual Amiga hardware, and we use it like we have used actual Amiga hardware for decades, and that includes TCP/IP - not just for file transfer.


Yep I agree 100% ..

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5822
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Minimig RTG possible?

Postby Sorgelig » Fri Nov 08, 2019 11:51 pm

Not a problem. MiSTer cannot suit everyone's needs.
But development (at least in open source) is directed by developer. Currently active developer on Minimig for MiSTer is only me. If whole Amiga community is rusted by commerce and cannot find more open source developers, then is it my problem? Or may be MiSTer problem? Bring more Minimig developers who will add more features in parallel, then most likely you will get what you want. I never developed software on Amiga (besides some in AMOS). So if some feature needs special driver on Amiga side, then for me it's full stop. Find the developer who will be able to add fast virtual Ethernet connection between Linux and Minimig and then Minimig will have it. Did i say i'm against fast internet connection for Minimig? No. I've just said it's not in my to do list because i CAN'T do it. It's as simple as that.

djmartins
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 232
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 10:26 pm

Re: Minimig RTG possible?

Postby djmartins » Sat Nov 09, 2019 5:27 am

What sorta thing are you doing online with an Amiga?
AmIRC is ok but the browsers are far from modern...

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5822
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Minimig RTG possible?

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Nov 09, 2019 7:12 am

I've tried the browser on Amiga. It's worse than browser 20 years ago on PC.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5822
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Minimig RTG possible?

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Nov 09, 2019 9:28 am

Besides the 68000 mode, it seems there are other problems with M68K. For example Jim Power crashes soon after starting the game. It doesn't crash on TG68K.

kolla
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 279
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 11:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Minimig RTG possible?

Postby kolla » Sat Nov 09, 2019 9:54 am

Sorgelig wrote:Did i say i'm against fast internet connection for Minimig? No. I've just said it's not in my to do list because i CAN'T do it. It's as simple as that.

Sorry, I know that much. You just said there is no much use for internet connection on Amiga, as if that’s a general fact. Noone suggested you must do it. Users have features they would like to see implemented at some point, with varying priorities. I am just very thankful that you implemented the serial link and PPP.
-- kolla

kolla
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 279
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 11:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Minimig RTG possible?

Postby kolla » Sat Nov 09, 2019 10:03 am

djmartins wrote:What sorta thing are you doing online with an Amiga?

Mostly command-line things, rsh combined with arexx and various graphical interfaces. I enjoy blending old with new, configure Amiga frontends for “modern stuff” like cloud services etc. What I would use a fast link for, is to stream data from the Amiga side to other systems, but going via a fifo file handler on a common filesystem would work too.
-- kolla

fpgaarcade
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 10:06 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Minimig RTG possible?

Postby fpgaarcade » Sat Nov 09, 2019 8:56 pm

Sorgelig wrote:Besides the 68000 mode, it seems there are other problems with M68K. For example Jim Power crashes soon after starting the game. It doesn't crash on TG68K.

Used to work. We'll see what I broke when the regression is running.
Last edited by fpgaarcade on Sat Nov 09, 2019 9:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

djmartins
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 232
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 10:26 pm

Re: Minimig RTG possible?

Postby djmartins » Sat Nov 09, 2019 8:59 pm

kolla wrote:
djmartins wrote:What sorta thing are you doing online with an Amiga?

Mostly command-line things, rsh combined with arexx and various graphical interfaces. I enjoy blending old with new, configure Amiga frontends for “modern stuff” like cloud services etc. What I would use a fast link for, is to stream data from the Amiga side to other systems, but going via a fifo file handler on a common filesystem would work too.


That's cool!
Maybe see if you can get someone to work on that for you.
As you know most people use it for game playing.

fpgaarcade
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 10:06 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Minimig RTG possible?

Postby fpgaarcade » Sat Nov 09, 2019 9:01 pm

djmartins wrote:
kolla wrote:
djmartins wrote:What sorta thing are you doing online with an Amiga?

Mostly command-line things, rsh combined with arexx and various graphical interfaces. I enjoy blending old with new, configure Amiga frontends for “modern stuff” like cloud services etc. What I would use a fast link for, is to stream data from the Amiga side to other systems, but going via a fifo file handler on a common filesystem would work too.


That's cool!
Maybe see if you can get someone to work on that for you.
As you know most people use it for game playing.


GigEthernet on Replay2, just saying ....

djmartins
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 232
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 10:26 pm

Re: Minimig RTG possible?

Postby djmartins » Sat Nov 09, 2019 9:42 pm

fpgaarcade wrote:GigEthernet on Replay2, just saying ....


amazing!

User avatar
kitrinx
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 6:03 am

Re: Minimig RTG possible?

Postby kitrinx » Mon Nov 11, 2019 6:36 pm

fpgaarcade wrote:GigEthernet on Replay2, just saying ....


Thank god. How else will I watch my 1080p movie collection on amiga.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5822
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Minimig RTG possible?

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Nov 12, 2019 1:20 am

kitrinx wrote:
fpgaarcade wrote:GigEthernet on Replay2, just saying ....


Thank god. How else will I watch my 1080p movie collection on amiga.

:mrgreen: :lol:

User avatar
Paradroyd
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 293
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 10:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Minimig RTG possible?

Postby Paradroyd » Tue Nov 12, 2019 2:24 am

djmartins wrote:What sorta thing are you doing online with an Amiga?
AmIRC is ok but the browsers are far from modern...


Quite a bit actually.

IRC, X11, FTP, Telnet, nfs mounts, wget, and some other things.
MVIMG_20190409_222944(2).jpg

If it can't do networking functions, it loses most of it's usefulness to me and it becomes just another limited game platform.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
- Paradroyd
@paradroyd on Twitter, @paradroyd@mastodon.sdf.org on Mastodon

ericgus
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 500
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: Minimig RTG possible?

Postby ericgus » Tue Nov 12, 2019 7:47 am

djmartins wrote:As you know most people use it for game playing.


And there are many people who actually don't play many games at all on it.. my self most of my time is spent using it for telecom/telnet BBS and other non-game stuff and very little time is actually used to play games..

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5822
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Minimig RTG possible?

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Nov 12, 2019 10:13 am

ericgus wrote:
djmartins wrote:As you know most people use it for game playing.


And there are many people who actually don't play many games at all on it.. my self most of my time is spent using it for telecom/telnet BBS and other non-game stuff and very little time is actually used to play games..

These tasks are completely independent from specific computer. It can be done more effectively on PC/Mac.
There is no point to use Amiga on anything except the games/demos and some Workbench for retro feeling. For internet use it's definitely not the right computer.

Sure, some people like to try to use even ZX Spectrum for internet browsing.. But it's not about internet use than "can it do it?" There is a clear distinction between "Hey, see! It can open web page!" and actual use of internet services. Ignoring modern computer in favour to ancient for internet is not wise at all.

djmartins
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 232
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 10:26 pm

Re: Minimig RTG possible?

Postby djmartins » Tue Nov 12, 2019 3:14 pm

Sorgelig wrote:Sure, some people like to try to use even ZX Spectrum for internet browsing.. But it's not about internet use than "can it do it?" There is a clear distinction between "Hey, see! It can open web page!" and actual use of internet services. Ignoring modern computer in favour to ancient for internet is not wise at all.


Exactly.
AmigaOS was pre-internet.
I'd think a real Amiga would be best for those so hardcore as to need fast internet on one.....
Then again, this project is open source and if someone was so inclined they could work on the core in that regard.
:shrug:

kolla
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 279
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 11:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Minimig RTG possible?

Postby kolla » Tue Nov 12, 2019 6:58 pm

If you believe Amiga is pre-internet, then you don’t know what the Internet is. Internet just turned 50, Amiga just 34. IPv4 was established one year before Amiga.
-- kolla


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Atmosfear, Total Eclipse and 7 guests