Gameboy core

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

brNX
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 10:22 pm
Location: Coimbra/Portugal

Re: Gameboy core

Postby brNX » Sat Dec 29, 2018 1:42 pm

yeah ,
the gameboy color is quite a capable machine, 15bit "rgb" colors (the mixing is weird) , 8 color palettes for BG and 8 for sprites, and some games even change them at hblank to show more colors.

brNX
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 10:22 pm
Location: Coimbra/Portugal

Re: Gameboy core

Postby brNX » Mon Dec 31, 2018 12:59 am

Hi all,

in the latest release there's a save fix that turns the old saves incompatible with the new ones. Data was repeated every 2 bytes, now the saves should be compatible with emulators and probably flash cards.

Do a save backup before using the new release, a solution to convert the saves can be found, or at least part of them and you still can use them on older releases.

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1415
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: Gameboy core

Postby Newsdee » Mon Dec 31, 2018 1:07 am

I won't do bug reports (because you aren't asking), but wanted to say compatibility on the GBC is great! Sure not perfect but it's such a great progress from where the core was some months ago. Well done!

brNX
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 10:22 pm
Location: Coimbra/Portugal

Re: Gameboy core

Postby brNX » Mon Dec 31, 2018 2:21 pm

Thanks, I will probably slow down development a bit, but will continue to work on it in the future.

After implementing fast mode (8mhz cpu clock) , the BG priority bit and probably check for overflows on the HDMA feel free to send reports.

robfish
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 11:20 pm

Re: Gameboy core

Postby robfish » Sun Jan 06, 2019 3:22 pm

I'm trying to get gameboy color to work with no luck. I got the boot1.rom file and put it first in where the bgc roms are with no luck. Then where the cores are with no luck. Can't find anything on Google about where to put this bootrom.

nico24
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: Gameboy core

Postby nico24 » Sun Jan 06, 2019 5:26 pm

So mine - works - here's how:

1. Make sure the folder is called GameBoy
2. put the boot1.rom in that folder
3. Select Gameboy color from the menu of the gameboy core.

That's works here.

If not check it's the correct bios file

brNX
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 10:22 pm
Location: Coimbra/Portugal

Re: Gameboy core

Postby brNX » Sun Jan 06, 2019 6:17 pm

robfish wrote:I'm trying to get gameboy color to work with no luck. I got the boot1.rom file and put it first in where the bgc roms are with no luck. Then where the cores are with no luck. Can't find anything on Google about where to put this bootrom.


It's in the readme https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Gameboy_MiSTer , scroll down.

Create a Gameboy folder on the root of your sd card.

Cheers

vanfanel
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 10:19 pm
Location: Salamanca, España

Re: Gameboy core

Postby vanfanel » Tue Jan 08, 2019 4:33 pm

Tittle screen on "Super Hunchback" still has blinking lines, etc. This tittle screen requires precise timing so when it looks right, I believe the implementation can be considered pretty much "perfect" regarding timing! :D

User avatar
Shazz
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 576
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 9:27 am
Location: Crétin des Alpes dauphinoises

Re: Gameboy core

Postby Shazz » Thu Jan 10, 2019 3:40 am

Hi,
Is it the good bootrom for the GBC ?

Code: Select all

Filename [BIOS] Nintendo Game Boy Color Boot ROM (World).gbc
Filesize: 2304   
CRC 41884E46


renamed + moved to the good folder did not help... so I guess it is not...

Thanks !
...8bits are enough...

brNX
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 10:22 pm
Location: Coimbra/Portugal

Re: Gameboy core

Postby brNX » Thu Jan 10, 2019 10:33 am

Shazz wrote:Hi,
Is it the good bootrom for the GBC ?

Code: Select all

Filename [BIOS] Nintendo Game Boy Color Boot ROM (World).gbc
Filesize: 2304   
CRC 41884E46


renamed + moved to the good folder did not help... so I guess it is not...

Thanks !


same crc as the one I use. should be ok , did you toggle gameboy color in the osd ? the GB color splashscreen/bootscreen should pop up after reseting , even without game rom.

Code: Select all

Name: gbc_bios.bin
Size: 2304 bytes (2 KiB)
CRC32: 41884E46
CRC64: B1DA2790DEA10D35
SHA256: B4F2E416A35EEF52CBA161B159C7C8523A92594FACB924B3EDE0D722867C50C7
SHA1: 1293D68BF9643BC4F36954C1E80E38F39864528D
BLAKE2sp: C92BDF58CC4512A664CB898AFF6FE86139649275359C570E4BAD046E2891DC5B


edit: btw , I like your location :lol:

User avatar
Shazz
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 576
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 9:27 am
Location: Crétin des Alpes dauphinoises

Re: Gameboy core

Postby Shazz » Thu Jan 10, 2019 1:02 pm

brNX wrote:same crc as the one I use. should be ok , did you toggle gameboy color in the osd ? the GB color splashscreen/bootscreen should pop up after reseting , even without game rom.

edit: btw , I like your location :lol:


Yeah, black screen when switching to color mode. With or without a gbc rom.

(Note: not any more there but still a cretin :))
...8bits are enough...

brNX
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 10:22 pm
Location: Coimbra/Portugal

Re: Gameboy core

Postby brNX » Thu Jan 10, 2019 2:50 pm

Shazz wrote:
brNX wrote:same crc as the one I use. should be ok , did you toggle gameboy color in the osd ? the GB color splashscreen/bootscreen should pop up after reseting , even without game rom.

edit: btw , I like your location :lol:


Yeah, black screen when switching to color mode. With or without a gbc rom.

(Note: not any more there but still a cretin :))


even after loading a rom/resetting after the switch ? sdcard:\Gameboy\boot1.rom ?

User avatar
Shazz
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 576
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 9:27 am
Location: Crétin des Alpes dauphinoises

Re: Gameboy core

Postby Shazz » Sun Jan 13, 2019 12:01 am

brNX wrote:even after loading a rom/resetting after the switch ? sdcard:\Gameboy\boot1.rom ?


yes...

Code: Select all

# pwd
/media/fat/Gameboy
# ls *.rom
boot1.rom
# ls -al boot1.rom
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 2304 Dec 24  1996 boot1.rom
# md5sum boot1.rom
dbfce9db9deaa2567f6a84fde55f9680  boot1.rom
# sha1sum boot1.rom
1293d68bf9643bc4f36954c1e80e38f39864528d  boot1.rom
...8bits are enough...

stepea
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 4:59 pm

Re: Gameboy core

Postby stepea » Sun Jan 13, 2019 11:14 am

Where do i get the boot1.rom file ?

brNX
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 10:22 pm
Location: Coimbra/Portugal

Re: Gameboy core

Postby brNX » Sun Jan 13, 2019 11:36 am

stepea wrote:Where do i get the boot1.rom file ?


the instructions are in the readme, I will not post rom links in this forum (haven't checked but I'm preeeetty sure it's against the rules).

@Shazz no other files in the gameboy folder ? I will try to reproduce the "bug" so any additional info is helpful.

cheers

edit:
if you're familiar with terminals (e.g.: termite , putty, cutecom etc.. ) connect a usb cable to the mini usb port between the ethernet port and the usb-otg port, connect using 115200 bps you should see something like this when loading the GB core:

Code: Select all

Loading config GAMEBOY.CFG
Found config
get cfgstring 0 = GAMEBOY
get cfgstring 1 = (null)
get cfgstring 2 = -
get cfgstring 3 = FS,GBCGB,Load ROM
get cfgstring 4 = OB,System,Gameboy,Gameboy Color
get cfgstring 5 = -
get cfgstring 6 = OC,Inverted color,No,Yes
get cfgstring 7 = O1,Palette,Grayscale,Custom
get cfgstring 8 = F,GBP,Load Palette
get cfgstring 9 = -
get cfgstring 10 = R9,Load Backup RAM
get cfgstring 11 = RA,Save Backup RAM
get cfgstring 12 = -
get cfgstring 13 = O34,Aspect ratio,4:3,10:9,16:9
get cfgstring 14 = O78,Stereo mix,none,25%,50%,100%
get cfgstring 15 = -
get cfgstring 16 = O2,Boot,Normal,Fast
get cfgstring 17 = -
get cfgstring 18 = R6,Reset
get cfgstring 19 = J1,A,B,Select,Start
OSD is now invisible
get cfgstring 20 = V,v190110
get cfgstring 21 = (null)
FileOpenEx(open) File:/media/fat/GAMEBOY/boot0.rom, error: No such file or directory.
Selected file GAMEBOY/boot1.rom with 2304 bytes to send for index 0.1
.

FileOpenEx(open) File:/media/fat/GAMEBOY/boot2.rom, error: No such file or directory.
FileOpenEx(open) File:/media/fat/GAMEBOY/boot3.rom, error: No such file or directory.
FileOpenEx(open) File:/media/fat/GAMEBOY/boot.rom, error: No such file or directory.

User avatar
Shazz
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 576
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 9:27 am
Location: Crétin des Alpes dauphinoises

Re: Gameboy core

Postby Shazz » Sun Jan 13, 2019 2:31 pm

brNX wrote:@Shazz no other files in the gameboy folder ? I will try to reproduce the "bug" so any additional info is helpful.


Strangely after the last release, the issue disappeared (I promise I changed nothing ^^). So, that's all good!
...8bits are enough...

brNX
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 10:22 pm
Location: Coimbra/Portugal

Re: Gameboy core

Postby brNX » Sun Jan 13, 2019 2:47 pm

Shazz wrote:
brNX wrote:@Shazz no other files in the gameboy folder ? I will try to reproduce the "bug" so any additional info is helpful.


Strangely after the last release, the issue disappeared (I promise I changed nothing ^^). So, that's all good!


:lol:

the crc/sha1 etc and my last post should help others find out what's wrong. glad it's working, enjoy.

:cheers:

stepea
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 4:59 pm

Re: Gameboy core

Postby stepea » Sun Jan 13, 2019 5:02 pm

brNX wrote:
stepea wrote:Where do i get the boot1.rom file ?


the instructions are in the readme, I will not post rom links in this forum (haven't checked but I'm preeeetty sure it's against the rules).




I can't see it in the Gameboy github readme !! Am I looking in the correct place ?

brNX
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 10:22 pm
Location: Coimbra/Portugal

Re: Gameboy core

Postby brNX » Sun Jan 13, 2019 5:15 pm

stepea wrote:
brNX wrote:
stepea wrote:Where do i get the boot1.rom file ?


the instructions are in the readme, I will not post rom links in this forum (haven't checked but I'm preeeetty sure it's against the rules).




I can't see it in the Gameboy github readme !! Am I looking in the correct place ?


Place the Gameboy color bootrom into the Gameboy folder and rename it to boot1.rom

bootrom a.k.a. bios.

Cheers

stepea
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 4:59 pm

Re: Gameboy core

Postby stepea » Sun Jan 13, 2019 11:08 pm

brNX wrote:
stepea wrote:
brNX wrote:


the instructions are in the readme, I will not post rom links in this forum (haven't checked but I'm preeeetty sure it's against the rules).




I can't see it in the Gameboy github readme !! Am I looking in the correct place ?


Place the Gameboy color bootrom into the Gameboy folder and rename it to boot1.rom

bootrom a.k.a. bios.

Cheers



Thanks

brNX
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 10:22 pm
Location: Coimbra/Portugal

Re: Gameboy core

Postby brNX » Sat Jan 19, 2019 3:01 pm

vanfanel wrote:Tittle screen on "Super Hunchback" still has blinking lines, etc. This tittle screen requires precise timing so when it looks right, I believe the implementation can be considered pretty much "perfect" regarding timing! :D


Hey thanks for the tip (the game stays in the title screen so it's very handy), this is now next on my todo list, this and checking IRQ timings in general. I'm more or less happy with the state of the GBC implementation, some bugs to iron out but will work on them as I go (shantae not working, DKC crashing, the megaman xtreme suicide thing :lol: among other small issues).

Cheers

bitfan2011
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2018 5:46 pm

Re: Gameboy core

Postby bitfan2011 » Sun Jan 20, 2019 4:16 pm

could you possibly add a mappable control for pallette changes? so we could cycle through pallette files with one button press and quickly find our favorite for that particular game/scene. cheers

User avatar
kitrinx
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 6:03 am

Re: Gameboy core

Postby kitrinx » Sun Jan 20, 2019 5:35 pm

bitfan2011 wrote:could you possibly add a mappable control for pallette changes? so we could cycle through pallette files with one button press and quickly find our favorite for that particular game/scene. cheers


The way MiSTer handles files in cores is unfortunately not built with that kind of behavior in mind. Maybe someday if that situation changes.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4729
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Gameboy core

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Jan 20, 2019 9:03 pm

It's possible just concatenate many palettes together an load them at once. Then core will handle it internally.
With proper palette handling as RAM, you don't need arrays like it's now, so can use BRAM with loadable palettes.

slingshot
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 956
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Gameboy core

Postby slingshot » Sun Feb 10, 2019 4:20 pm

I've made an attempt to backport the MiSTer changes to MiST. But I realized that something is odd with sprites, e.g. in Xenon 2, many of the enemies are invisible with the MiSTer version (easy to see at the first stage, e.g. the worms here:
https://youtu.be/ZR9Va4090Nk?t=109
Totally invisible, but kill you.
Is it OK and I made a mistake during the port?


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests