Serial console core. Anyone?

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3126
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Serial console core. Anyone?

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Nov 14, 2018 7:14 pm

I want console core for MiSTer which will use already working serial port between FPGA and HPS to control the linux part directly from MiSTer keyboard.
I'm busy by many other cores so would like to ask if someone is willing to write such core. I think it won't be too complex and can be made by those who is just started to learn HDL and want to write something useful.
Basically the core is just keyboard inputs send to UART and receive from UART to the screen.
This core will be handy and can be used instead of USB console.

And this console should support xterm format. There is midnight commander already installed on Linux. So i would like to have it work in this console with colors and correct control codes from keyboard.

Anyone would like to try?

alanswx
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 4:34 pm

Re: Serial console core. Anyone?

Postby alanswx » Wed Nov 14, 2018 7:50 pm


Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3126
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Serial console core. Anyone?

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Nov 15, 2018 5:59 am

yeah. Something like that but really working on MiSTer and with color and keys working in midnight commander :)
I'm not sure if CPU is really required. I believe it can be written in pure HDL. But i really don't care if it will use CPU with firmware as long as it works.

User avatar
oldgit
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 11:05 am

Re: Serial console core. Anyone?

Postby oldgit » Sat Nov 17, 2018 2:16 pm

I have ported across a vt220 xterm colour console and should be able to get it working, once I get past the requirement for 8Mbytes of sdram !!!

Is the HPS uart connections set up in MiSTer as I cannot find them ?
Old enough to remember B&W TV with 2 channels: Young enough to embrace new technology: Stupid enough to try and get it to work.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3126
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Serial console core. Anyone?

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Nov 17, 2018 4:28 pm

oldgit wrote:I have ported across a vt220 xterm colour console and should be able to get it working, once I get past the requirement for 8Mbytes of sdram !!!

Is the HPS uart connections set up in MiSTer as I cannot find them ?

check sys_top.v file in Minimig. It has additional signals for UART

User avatar
oldgit
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 11:05 am

Re: Serial console core. Anyone?

Postby oldgit » Sat Nov 17, 2018 5:17 pm

Sorgelig wrote: check sys_top.v file in Minimig. It has additional signals for UART


Thanks - I had just finished a qsys to add the uart and the code is very similar - I have set mine to uart_0
Do I need uart_1 ?
Old enough to remember B&W TV with 2 channels: Young enough to embrace new technology: Stupid enough to try and get it to work.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3126
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Serial console core. Anyone?

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Nov 17, 2018 9:26 pm

Of course cannot. They are physical devices, so you cannot swap them.

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1224
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: Serial console core. Anyone?

Postby Newsdee » Sun Nov 18, 2018 1:58 am

Interesting idea. It's basically a Linux shell that can be loaded like any core, and then it's easy to switch back to a core.
Looking forward to it!

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3126
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Serial console core. Anyone?

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Nov 18, 2018 9:18 pm

All cores released on 20181118 have UART signals in emu entity. So, just grab sys from any of these cores (Genesis, NES, SMS, Gameboy, TGFx16)
Your core needs return correct flags for hps_io:

Code: Select all

.uart_mode(16'b000_11111_000_11111),

so MiSTer will know your core is using UART and will give the option to choose the UART mode.


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: HappyBirthday, HeroOfTheDay and 6 guests