Newbie questions

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

digitron
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2019 7:27 pm

Re: Newbie questions

Postby digitron » Sun May 19, 2019 3:05 pm

Whats the best core (or does it matter) to run the 240p test suite on?

mikealbert
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2018 5:10 pm

Re: Newbie questions

Postby mikealbert » Sun May 19, 2019 3:08 pm

MattE888 wrote:
mikealbert wrote:
mikealbert wrote:What's the best way to troubleshoot cores that fail to launch? Haven't used my MiSTer in a couple months, so I ran the updater script to get the latest files. Now I'm just seeing a black screen whenever I launch the NES or SNES core. I wiped my sd card, ran a fresh install and everything is working again. Any ideas of how to troubleshoot that sort of issue?

Thanks!


I should have mentioned earlier, but I'm seeing a black screen after hitting F12 and selecting a ROM.



I have the same problem. Did you find an answer?


Unfortunately I never found a solution. I just updated my Mister again yesterday with the updater script and all the cores continued to work after the update. So maybe it was only a problem with previous versions.

wolfme
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2018 7:43 am

Re: Newbie questions

Postby wolfme » Mon May 20, 2019 8:36 am

Methanoid wrote:5) RTC board - Wiki says dont need this if you connect to net and use that for time. No RJ45 anywhere so only if I buy a compatible WiFi dongle yes?


Uh, did i miss somenthing? Is there a new DE10 Nano board out?
Mine has RJ45 LAN...

User avatar
Methanoid
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2004 2:41 pm
Location: England.. where else?

Re: Newbie questions

Postby Methanoid » Mon May 20, 2019 10:05 am

wolfme wrote:
Methanoid wrote:5) RTC board - Wiki says dont need this if you connect to net and use that for time. No RJ45 anywhere so only if I buy a compatible WiFi dongle yes?


Uh, did i miss somenthing? Is there a new DE10 Nano board out?
Mine has RJ45 LAN...


Yeah I didnt spot it at first :shrug:

Lynkk
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 22, 2019 7:19 am

Re: Newbie questions

Postby Lynkk » Sat May 25, 2019 9:47 am

Hello, I was wondering if it is possible to save data from a game acting as a bootrom (ex: SNES.rom)? Currently we can't, is there a way? Thank you.

Hewhoisred
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 6:53 pm

Re: Newbie questions

Postby Hewhoisred » Sun May 26, 2019 3:12 am

Lynkk wrote:Hello, I was wondering if it is possible to save data from a game acting as a bootrom (ex: SNES.rom)? Currently we can't, is there a way? Thank you.


No, it's recommended to not use a game that has saves as your boot.rom. For example, use Castlevania 4 as your boot.rom instead of SMW.

Lroby74
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 8:35 pm

Re: Newbie questions

Postby Lroby74 » Sat Jun 08, 2019 6:32 am

Hello,
since now, i am a new Mister's owner, after tried sometimes that of my friend, at the end it's my birthday (15 June) gift :D :D :D :D

It's all still quite hard to understand for me (after about 3 years of Mist and then Mistica) but MC on Linux is wonderfull (and boot from a usb device is same!)

now i ask for begin a pair of things please..

486 core, which files i need to put into sd card?
arcade cores, which roms i need to put into sd card, mame ones?
ScummVM, should i install it by hand?

Thank you all

Roberto

spidersfrommars
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 3:39 am

Re: Newbie questions

Postby spidersfrommars » Sat Jun 08, 2019 4:08 pm

Lroby74 wrote:Hello,
since now, i am a new Mister's owner, after tried sometimes that of my friend, at the end it's my birthday (15 June) gift :D :D :D :D

It's all still quite hard to understand for me (after about 3 years of Mist and then Mistica) but MC on Linux is wonderfull (and boot from a usb device is same!)

now i ask for begin a pair of things please..

486 core, which files i need to put into sd card?
arcade cores, which roms i need to put into sd card, mame ones?
ScummVM, should i install it by hand?

Thank you all

Roberto


For 486 you need to make a vhd and install dos or some sort of os on it. I recommend making vhd with virtualbox and installing the os with it.

arcade cores you run the script for each one with the mame files and it makes the folders for you. Or you can try smoke monster packs, but i never tried them.

Lroby74
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 8:35 pm

Re: Newbie questions

Postby Lroby74 » Sun Jun 09, 2019 6:52 am

spidersfrommars wrote:For 486 you need to make a vhd and install dos or some sort of os on it. I recommend making vhd with virtualbox and installing the os with it.

arcade cores you run the script for each one with the mame files and it makes the folders for you. Or you can try smoke monster packs, but i never tried them.


Thank you,
now i have 486 and arcade cores perfectly working, do you know something about ScummVM too?
:cheers:

EDIT : about ScummVM, i've found a link for a script in another forum section (ScummVM running on FrameBuffer), i will try it

RndMnkIII
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2019 7:40 am

Problems loading cores tested with

Postby RndMnkIII » Fri Jun 14, 2019 8:05 am

Hello

I have the following system:
- DE10-Nano without memory extension board and without I/O extension board.
- USB keyboard dongle connected to USB Host adapter.
- Before discovering the MiSTer project had used the DE10-Nano for simple projects with the FPGA programming the Flash memory of the board.
-Now I have tried to install MiSTer using the following files and versions:

- release_20190510.rar (installed on 16Gb Sandisk Flash SD card)
- MiSTer_20190510 (renamed to MiSTer)
- menu_20190226.rbf (renamed to menu.rbf)
- Genesis_20190510.rbf (renamed to Genesis.rbf)

genesis rome copied to a folder in fat partition in / Genesis_roms

1) Insert the SD card in the DE10-Nano
2) I connect all connections (HDMI cable, ethernet cable).
3) I turn on TV
4) Connect DC 5v 2A plug to the power adapter.
5) The main screen of MiSTer appears and I select the core Genesis.
6) The screen goes black and the TV shows that the HDMI signal has been lost.
7) This is the capture of the console since I turn on the DE10-nano until an error occurs when loading the core Genesis:

09: 35: 27.010 Core path: /media/fat/Genesis.rbf
09: 35: 27.010
09: 35: 27.010 GPI [31] == 1. FPGA is uninitialized or incompatible core loaded.
09: 35: 27.010 Quitting. Bye bye ...

In the attachment is the full output console capture since boot starts.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

RndMnkIII
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2019 7:40 am

Re: Problems loading cores tested with

Postby RndMnkIII » Fri Jun 14, 2019 11:41 am

Ok, it's fixed. In the end a silly mistake downloading the cores from github. I've seen it was not the first one that happens the same. It works perfectly now. Thanks!


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests