MiSTer NES Core

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

sabreAZ
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 4:07 pm

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby sabreAZ » Tue Mar 19, 2019 8:37 pm

Right. Hopefully it gets fixed soon. It's definitely annoying

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5380
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Mar 20, 2019 1:52 pm

Played bolder dash which has full screen scroll - and i can't see the issue neither with overscan on nor off.

vorvek
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2018 10:29 am

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby vorvek » Wed Mar 20, 2019 4:11 pm

I don't need the screen to scroll to see it, just showing the overscan. I'll take a screenshot when I'm home.

vorvek
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2018 10:29 am

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby vorvek » Wed Mar 20, 2019 7:50 pm

So, I ended up recording a video. There's no audio because I didn't have my mixer plugged in. I recorded the footage using HDMI. As you can see, there's a single "column" of pixels missing. It's obvious in the GUI, and when looking at 45 angle lines, like the roof of the hospital, also noticeable in the cross of the same hospital. I also zoom in on the main character, you can see how part of the sword goes missing when crossing that vertical line.


Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5380
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Mar 20, 2019 8:19 pm

Thanks for detailed video!
But i don't have such issue with Faxandu. I've tried original game and both Restoration 1.01 and Retranslation 1.04 patches.
i will check it more

vorvek
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2018 10:29 am

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby vorvek » Wed Mar 20, 2019 8:26 pm

If you need me to provide any other stuff, like config options in the config file or whatever, just let me know!

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5380
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Mar 20, 2019 8:32 pm

upload your MiSTer.ini file here

vorvek
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2018 10:29 am

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby vorvek » Wed Mar 20, 2019 8:35 pm

There you go.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
BitsNStuff
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2018 7:55 am
Contact:

BitsNStuff

Postby BitsNStuff » Wed Mar 20, 2019 9:45 pm

sabreAZ wrote:Right. Hopefully it gets fixed soon. It's definitely annoying

Sorgelig wrote:Played bolder dash which has full screen scroll - and i can't see the issue neither with overscan on nor off.


We've been discussing this on the Classic Gaming Discord and there are quite a few of us who have variations on the issue.
Image
Some of us are getting a single horizontal tear while others of us get several horizontal tears as you can see between the red lines in the image above.

We're all getting the vertical tear down the centre of the screen and although it's incredibly obvious when you see it, we've not been able to capture it in a photo.

We've been trying to work out what the issue is, what we have so far is this.

Horizontal Tear/Tears
- only occurs when using scandoubler FX with vscale=1 & vsync_adjust 2
- No tear line visible when using scandoubler FX with vscale=0 & vsync_adjust 2
- No tear line visible on any settings with vsync_adjust 0
- This can happen on TGFX, NES, SNES & Genesis.
- Affects all games. Some games not apparent because tear line is positioned in a stationary portion of the screen like hud area at top.


Vertical Tear
- Nobody has reported it on any console apart from NES.
- Occurs any time you enable scandoubler FX along with 'Hide Overscan=OFF', no matter what scaler or vsync settings are used.

It does seem to be connected to scaling in some way, there just seems to be something that's changed recently that stops it working correctly for some people.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5380
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Mar 20, 2019 10:22 pm

So, it looks like metastability issue.
I will simply re-compile this core with other parameters.

User avatar
BitsNStuff
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2018 7:55 am
Contact:

BitsNStuff

Postby BitsNStuff » Wed Mar 20, 2019 10:42 pm

Thanks Sorgelig. Will ask the people having the issues to try it when it goes live and see what feedback we get.

As always, brilliant work, appreciate it...you do work far too hard though. :)

JamesF
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 155
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 6:46 am

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby JamesF » Thu Mar 21, 2019 6:56 am

Keyboard input report:
Assigned keyboard buttons will not work when the core is loaded until "kbd mode" changed to Joystick1.
Moreover, the default keyboard buttons (alt, space, enter) working together with the assigned buttons, which is undesirable.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5380
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Mar 21, 2019 7:46 am

JamesF wrote:Keyboard input report:
Assigned keyboard buttons will not work when the core is loaded until "kbd mode" changed to Joystick1.
Moreover, the default keyboard buttons (alt, space, enter) working together with the assigned buttons, which is undesirable.

It's not a bug. It's intended behaviour.
With updated API it's possible to assign all buttons on powerpad, so keyboard can be used in Joystick emulation permanently.

JamesF
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 155
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 6:46 am

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby JamesF » Thu Mar 21, 2019 8:06 am

Yes, I understand that it is a feature, but my assigned keyboard buttons do not work when the core is booted,, other cores like snes and genesis work correctly but not NES.
Also, in other cores the default keyboard buttons (alt, space, enter) do not remain assigned when I change them, only in NES core.

So the current keyboard behavior is specific for the NES core?

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5380
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Mar 21, 2019 9:08 am

Most other consoles don't require so many buttons (like power pad), so they are locked in joystick emulation from the start.

vanfanel
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 10:19 pm
Location: Salamanca, España

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby vanfanel » Thu Mar 21, 2019 2:16 pm

Hoho! Latest NES core fixes any bug I had seen so far! :D
The NES is back!!! :lol: :cheers:

djsquare
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 2:01 am

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby djsquare » Fri Mar 22, 2019 6:45 pm

Thanks for the new update. It's so nice not have to load the FDS BIOS anymore :cheers:

sabreAZ
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 4:07 pm

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby sabreAZ » Sat Mar 23, 2019 5:32 am

Unfortunately, I am still seeing the vertical tear problem. Using VGA, using hdmi, scan double, filers, resolutions. Nothing fixes it but turning overscan on

breiztiger
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 174
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:54 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby breiztiger » Sat Mar 23, 2019 8:51 am

hi

sorry but has someone try with asterix (E) ?

i have big probs like asterix "fly" over the flor

joegaff76
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2019 11:30 pm

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby joegaff76 » Sun Mar 24, 2019 10:17 am

sabreAZ wrote:Unfortunately, I am still seeing the vertical tear problem. Using VGA, using hdmi, scan double, filers, resolutions. Nothing fixes it but turning overscan on


I downloaded the newest NES Core (NES_20190321), however it did not seem to fix the vertical tear problem. I am only using HDMI so I can't speak for VGA results. I tried both vsync_adjust=1 and vsync_adjust=0 with the same results.

vorvek
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2018 10:29 am

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby vorvek » Sun Mar 24, 2019 1:01 pm

sabreAZ wrote:Nothing fixes it but turning overscan on


*Hiding the overscan.

User avatar
BitsNStuff
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2018 7:55 am
Contact:

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby BitsNStuff » Sun Mar 24, 2019 11:33 pm

The core from a few days ago didn't help the issues for me but today's core has sorted fixed it for me.

Strange that the previous core fixed it for some people, today's fixed it for others but there are still some people having the issue.

sabreAZ
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 4:07 pm

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby sabreAZ » Mon Mar 25, 2019 1:34 am

I attached a photo using 240 test suite. With hide overscan off, you can see a horizontal tear in the 4th row from the top(crooked boxes) and you can a vertical screen tear towards the center of the screen(skinny column of boxes).

If I turn hide overscan on, the vertical bar disappears, but the horizontal bar remains. I have tried every setting I can think of, scandoubler settings, filters, resolutions, hdmi, vga. No luck

sabreAZ
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 4:07 pm

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby sabreAZ » Mon Mar 25, 2019 1:35 am

Image

Used 240p test suite. With hide overscan off, you can see a horizontal tear in the 4th row from the top(crooked boxes) and you can a vertical screen tear towards the center of the screen(skinny column of boxes).

If I turn hide overscan on, the vertical bar disappears, but the horizontal bar remains. I have tried every setting I can think of, scandoubler settings, filters, resolutions, hdmi, vga. No luck

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5380
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Mar 25, 2019 4:39 am

sabreAZ wrote:Image

Used 240p test suite. With hide overscan off, you can see a horizontal tear in the 4th row from the top(crooked boxes) and you can a vertical screen tear towards the center of the screen(skinny column of boxes).

If I turn hide overscan on, the vertical bar disappears, but the horizontal bar remains. I have tried every setting I can think of, scandoubler settings, filters, resolutions, hdmi, vga. No luck

i don't see such issue. Make sure you've really updated the core.


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: phillymost and 8 guests