MiSTer NES Core

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

MattE888
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 5:34 pm

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby MattE888 » Fri May 10, 2019 5:47 pm

I just updated the cores through the updater script and the Cheats menu item is grayed out and I don’t see game genie in the menu anymore. What am I missing?

Edit: just found the wiki
https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_Mi ... eat-Engine

I was enjoying the game genie. I’ll miss it lol.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4616
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby Sorgelig » Fri May 10, 2019 6:45 pm

GameGenie is just one of representation of cheat codes.
Now MiSTer got its own cheat engine. All codes are the same just different format.

MattE888
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 5:34 pm

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby MattE888 » Fri May 10, 2019 6:54 pm

I still haven't got the cheat engine to work and I followed the wiki. Does the name of the zip file need to include .nes, like Double Dragon (USA).nes.zip? And is it possible my issue is from using the wrong version of the rom?

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4616
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby Sorgelig » Fri May 10, 2019 8:30 pm

if rom has name Double Dragon (USA).nes then cheat should be Double Dragon (USA).zip

User avatar
kitrinx
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 6:03 am

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby kitrinx » Fri May 10, 2019 8:37 pm

MattE888 wrote:I just updated the cores through the updater script and the Cheats menu item is grayed out and I don’t see game genie in the menu anymore. What am I missing?

Edit: just found the wiki
https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_Mi ... eat-Engine

I was enjoying the game genie. I’ll miss it lol.


As retro as the game genie rom was, it was a little hacky and limited. You can use game genie codes with the new engine by creating a file. I think maybe it is worth documenting how to do this in the wiki, but right now you can get packs of codes from https://gamehacking.org/

Soon there will a way to set up the codes for you automatically. By default most of the code packs are going to match no-intro (or smokemonster) rom names.

This new system allows you to use raw, gameshark, game genie, etc.

edit:
I updated the wiki with more info.

MattE888
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 5:34 pm

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby MattE888 » Sat May 11, 2019 9:13 pm

Thanks for the info! I never figured it out but i’ll be patient and try again when an update happens.

fille1976
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2018 4:33 pm

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby fille1976 » Sun May 12, 2019 1:04 pm

Graphics issue in the game commando,if you pick up granates or other weapons,you see squares.
This is on latest core.

jemismyname
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2019 8:25 pm

NESmaker mapper #30

Postby jemismyname » Tue May 14, 2019 5:09 am

I was kind of bummed to realize that mapper #30 doesn't seem to work... (it works, but it is a glitchfest) This is the mapper which is used by the new NESmaker development platform, so it seems like it might be a good mapper to support, as there will undoubtedly be many new games created for this mapper.

http://www.thenew8bitheroes.com

User avatar
kitrinx
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 6:03 am

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby kitrinx » Tue May 28, 2019 11:45 pm

@Sorgelig

A user on discord was interested in using real NES peripherals directly with the core. I suggested he use a little sparkfun level shifter board to the user IO port and just make a usb to NES-port adapter. I wrote some simple code for him:

https://github.com/Kitrinx/NES_MiSTer/tree/serialio

It ended up working well and he was successfully using a NES and SNES controller and original zapper with his CRT. I don't know if he plans to release a board for this or not, do you think that this code is useful in the main repo or just clutter?

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby Newsdee » Wed May 29, 2019 1:53 am

Personally, I think it's great to have the option to connect to real original peripherals.

paulbnl
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 9:43 am

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby paulbnl » Wed May 29, 2019 9:20 am

@Kitrinx, That is awesome. Now we just need someone to sell these adapters.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4616
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby Sorgelig » Wed May 29, 2019 12:00 pm

kitrinx wrote:@Sorgelig

A user on discord was interested in using real NES peripherals directly with the core. I suggested he use a little sparkfun level shifter board to the user IO port and just make a usb to NES-port adapter. I wrote some simple code for him:

https://github.com/Kitrinx/NES_MiSTer/tree/serialio

It ended up working well and he was successfully using a NES and SNES controller and original zapper with his CRT. I don't know if he plans to release a board for this or not, do you think that this code is useful in the main repo or just clutter?


if at least schematics of the board will be available, then can move it to main repo. Otherwise i don't see a reason to clutter the source with code supporting some black box.

onaryc29
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 9:47 am

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby onaryc29 » Mon Jun 03, 2019 1:28 pm

Is there someone working on a pal option in the nes core?

User avatar
kitrinx
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 6:03 am

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby kitrinx » Mon Jun 03, 2019 5:18 pm

onaryc29 wrote:Is there someone working on a pal option in the nes core?


I've been adding basic building blocks to make it work as I do other things. The CPU/PPU alignment working with the SDRAM timing will be the trickiest part of that, but the PPU also needs some work. It's not structured in a way that will adapt easily right now, particularly with VRAM handling.

onaryc29
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 9:47 am

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Postby onaryc29 » Mon Jun 03, 2019 9:03 pm

yes! Generally i do not care to much about pal version of games (even if i'm in pal region) but there is no difficult configuration with graphic card driver to have 50hz mode so they are quite enjoyable (for those which where adapted to pal timing)


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: solo20 and 7 guests