Genesis Core

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

fufenicon
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2019 3:23 am

Re: Genesis Core

Postby fufenicon » Sun Aug 25, 2019 2:08 pm

Sorgelig wrote:I think it should be fixed in today's release


I'm using the 20190824 core and experiencing video glitches sometimes when changing cores or changing roms in the Genesis Core. Sometimes, I get a black screen for a second when loading a rom on both the SNES or Genesis core and then everything goes on normally.
In one instance, I changed from the SNES core to the TG16 core and the video signal got all garbled. Tried cold rebooting but the rom was still loaded on the background, even playing sound. Powered off the DE10, problem solved.

It's kind of random, I will try to reproduce it later.

PhantombrainM
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 184
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: Genesis Core

Postby PhantombrainM » Sun Aug 25, 2019 4:55 pm

fufenicon wrote:Tried cold rebooting but the rom was still loaded on the background, even playing sound. Powered off the DE10, problem solved.

It's kind of random, I will try to reproduce it later.


Do you have newest menu.rbf too? There was a bug fixed which was preventing booting / switching cores / go back to menu.
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.

fufenicon
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2019 3:23 am

Re: Genesis Core

Postby fufenicon » Sun Aug 25, 2019 9:12 pm

PhantombrainM wrote:Do you have newest menu.rbf too? There was a bug fixed which was preventing booting / switching cores / go back to menu.


Yep, menu_20190824 and MiSTer_20190820. I can go back to menu. What's happening is that sometimes video loses signal after changing cores and loading a new rom. I don't know what triggers this behavior since it doesn't happen all the time. Rebooting before loading a new core prevents this, tho.

Piacenti
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2019 4:26 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Piacenti » Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:32 am

After the last update audio seems fine now, thank you.

MattE888
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 5:34 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby MattE888 » Thu Sep 26, 2019 12:15 am

I haven't been updating the MiSTer in a few months, probably since the cheats were added, and today I used the updater script to do update. Everything works fine except Genesis games. Snes and NES games all work fine. I then made sure that the updater script updated the menu file and the genesis file, by manually grabbing those from GitHub , and it did. Still Genesis games not working. What else should I try?

[edit]
I went through several games, and some of them only show a red screen, some show a black screen, and 1 so far shows lots of glitches. And very few of them actually work.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5285
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Sep 26, 2019 6:35 am

try to power cycle the MiSTer

MattE888
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 5:34 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby MattE888 » Thu Sep 26, 2019 11:55 am

If a power cycle is just turning it off and un plugging it from the power, and then plugging it back in, and turning it back on, I did that. Didn't work.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5285
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Sep 26, 2019 1:04 pm

try several previous releases to find when it's started.

MattE888
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 5:34 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby MattE888 » Thu Sep 26, 2019 1:37 pm

Thanks for the help. It was a ROM problem. I guess the MiSTer or the Genesis core is more picky than it used to be. I'm sure that's a good thing!

ghogan42
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2018 7:27 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby ghogan42 » Fri Sep 27, 2019 12:25 am

MattE888 wrote:Thanks for the help. It was a ROM problem. I guess the MiSTer or the Genesis core is more picky than it used to be. I'm sure that's a good thing!


There was a region setting thing added where the core will set the region based on the header. If you have any more trouble you should try manually setting the region for that game in the OSD and resetting the game (not the mister board). It should be fine then.

breiztiger
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:54 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Genesis Core

Postby breiztiger » Sun Sep 29, 2019 8:58 am

hi

with last commit build (Z80 wait state when accessing MBUS. Remove Titan 2 speed hack.),

Werewolf (https://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=81513)
and
The Spiral (https://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=82607)

work a lot better

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5285
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Sep 29, 2019 10:29 am

some small glitches in Titan 1 are also fixed.

breiztiger
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:54 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Genesis Core

Postby breiztiger » Sun Sep 29, 2019 10:31 am

are those corrections valid for all core that use z80 ? (like amstrad ...)

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5285
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Sep 29, 2019 11:39 am

breiztiger wrote:are those corrections valid for all core that use z80 ? (like amstrad ...)

nope, it's specific to Genesis, bus arbitration.

Glaurung
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2019 6:22 am

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Glaurung » Tue Nov 05, 2019 7:29 am

I dont know why the hell doesnt work savestats in Wonder Boy in monster Land (Genesis).
I every other game it works.I have treid other Wonderboy roms.

So when I save the game (ingame) ,but when i play again I dont know how to recover the game (doesnt seems to to show any "recover game", or "load game", in the start screen.

I miss something with this game? It's seems odd that is the only game that doesnt work.

(I have notice that the led of mister doenst blink (only in this game)when you save.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5285
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Nov 05, 2019 8:16 am

Wonder Boy uses EEPROM for saves. And such saves currently aren't implemented in the core.

12characters
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 10:38 am

Re: Genesis Core

Postby 12characters » Tue Nov 05, 2019 7:05 pm

Glaurung wrote:I dont know why the hell doesnt work savestats in Wonder Boy in monster Land (Genesis).

There is a patch to convert the ROM from using EEPROM to SRAM, see http://www.tototek.com/phpBB2/viewtopic ... 6722#16722. I have not tried the patched ROM on MiSTer myself but it ought to work.

Glaurung
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2019 6:22 am

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Glaurung » Sat Nov 09, 2019 7:20 pm

12characters wrote:
Glaurung wrote:I dont know why the hell doesnt work savestats in Wonder Boy in monster Land (Genesis).

There is a patch to convert the ROM from using EEPROM to SRAM, see http://www.tototek.com/phpBB2/viewtopic ... 6722#16722. I have not tried the patched ROM on MiSTer myself but it ought to work.


Thanks I will try it

djsquare
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 2:01 am

Re: Genesis Core

Postby djsquare » Wed Nov 20, 2019 5:37 pm

I can't believe this core is getting Sega CD support. What an amazing accomplishment :cheers:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_nxGg9crgWM


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests