Genesis Core

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

ghogan42
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2018 7:27 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby ghogan42 » Wed Feb 27, 2019 1:00 am

paulbnl wrote:Re-forking the repo is unnecessary. You should be creating a new branch for every pull request so you don't mess with the master branch. If you create a pull request and then later push updates to the same branch then it will update the pull request.

So you can either use interactive rebase to merge commits, use git reset HEAD~1 to undo the previous commit without losing your changes or use git commit --amend to update the last commit and then push to the same branch.

https://help.github.com/en/articles/changing-a-commit-message

Here is how to cleanly update the master branch from the MiSTer repo:
https://help.github.com/en/articles/syncing-a-fork


Thanks for the help. I knew all this was possible, but git is tricky when you don't use it often or at all. We'll see if I can fix anything without breaking my fork. If not, then I can re-fork and follow instructions better by putting changes in a branch like I should have done in the first place.

My current plan is to recompute the filter for 96khz like sorgelig wants. Then like jotego has warned me about and JamesF wants too, resampling without properly low-passing is bad, so I want to implement a higher order low-pass filter that might be useful in other cores. The current filters are low order and can really only copy simple (-6db or -12db/octave) analog filters that original hardware had. That's maybe not enough for some digital audio problems, so another type of filter may be useful.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5091
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Feb 27, 2019 9:43 am

For sporadic pull requests it's better to do following: fork -> add changes -> make PR -> wait PR to merge -> delete the repo.

NML32
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 641
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: Genesis Core

Postby NML32 » Fri Mar 15, 2019 5:35 pm

Old Towers graphics glitch after a few deaths. :(

ROM: https://retrosouls.itch.io/old-towers

Screenshot with gfx glitch.
Old Towers (SEGA Mega Drive and Genesis).png


Screenshot without gfx glitch.
OldTowerGood.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

HappyBirthday
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2018 5:29 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby HappyBirthday » Fri Mar 15, 2019 5:52 pm

NML32 wrote:Old Towers graphics glitch after a few deaths. :(

ROM: https://retrosouls.itch.io/old-towers

Screenshot with gfx glitch.
Old Towers (SEGA Mega Drive and Genesis).png

Screenshot without gfx glitch.
OldTowerGood.png


I have experienced this glitch as well, and I know at least one other person reported this on the Discord as well. This is a neat game, it would be cool if it could be fixed on the Mister.

ovalfastlx
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2018 3:13 am

Re: Genesis Core

Postby ovalfastlx » Fri Mar 15, 2019 7:30 pm

NML32 wrote:Old Towers graphics glitch after a few deaths. :(

ROM: https://retrosouls.itch.io/old-towers

Screenshot with gfx glitch.
Old Towers (SEGA Mega Drive and Genesis).png

Screenshot without gfx glitch.
OldTowerGood.png


Is this on the latest version?

I'm getting corrupt graphics after level 1 with previous version. I haven't tried version v1.1

NML32
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 641
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: Genesis Core

Postby NML32 » Fri Mar 15, 2019 7:41 pm

ovalfastlx wrote:
NML32 wrote:Old Towers graphics glitch after a few deaths. :(

ROM: https://retrosouls.itch.io/old-towers

Screenshot with gfx glitch.
Old Towers (SEGA Mega Drive and Genesis).png

Screenshot without gfx glitch.
OldTowerGood.png


Is this on the latest version?

I'm getting corrupt graphics after level 1 with previous version. I haven't tried version v1.1

Yes, the latest version on itch.io (v1.1 10.03.2019) running on the latest Genesis core. Genesis_20190307.rbf

Indcsion
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2018 11:48 am

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Indcsion » Fri Mar 15, 2019 8:04 pm

I don't get graphics glitch in Old Towers if its set to EU region.

NML32
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 641
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: Genesis Core

Postby NML32 » Fri Mar 15, 2019 8:43 pm

Indcsion wrote:I don't get graphics glitch in Old Towers if its set to EU region.

Thanks for the tip. :cheers:

Gameplay set to EU region.
https://youtu.be/m3V-TlVZymE

HappyBirthday
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2018 5:29 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby HappyBirthday » Sat Mar 16, 2019 2:14 am

Indcsion wrote:I don't get graphics glitch in Old Towers if its set to EU region.


Nice! Thanks for sharing! :cheers:

ovalfastlx
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2018 3:13 am

Re: Genesis Core

Postby ovalfastlx » Sat Mar 16, 2019 3:05 am

NML32 wrote:
Indcsion wrote:I don't get graphics glitch in Old Towers if its set to EU region.

Thanks for the tip. :cheers:

Gameplay set to EU region.
https://youtu.be/m3V-TlVZymE



That should be something the dev might need to address on their game side? Make a US rom?

ctarstar
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 1:52 am

Re: Genesis Core

Postby ctarstar » Sun Mar 31, 2019 4:30 am

Does anyone have issues with slow music, but otherwise correct speed? (sound effect speeds seem Ok, but not background music). I notice this in particular on Toejam and Earl and also on X-Men. I've updated to latest Mister core and Genesis and menu cores, and the problem remains.

Everblue
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2018 12:30 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Everblue » Sun Mar 31, 2019 9:18 am

I would like to report a bug in Castle of Illusion. When on level 2, while walking on a part where there are four leaves next to each other, a line starts glitching, as evidenced in the photo below.

coi.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

guvner
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 12:32 am

Re: Genesis Core

Postby guvner » Sun Mar 31, 2019 3:04 pm

I'm seeing something similar in Streets of Rage 2

sor2s.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

xzarian
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 4:15 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby xzarian » Mon Apr 01, 2019 12:26 am

I was watching the new Digital Foundry video on Blast Processing as they were testing the new mega sg. I tried it on the mister core and it doesn't display the image correctly. Links below for anyone interested.

DF Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rvvL6S5Buiw
Test Rom: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Ag-J_smY75mUGAIL3J1VHwTVdmFWbyL0/view

Hewhoisred
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 6:53 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Hewhoisred » Mon Apr 01, 2019 12:50 am

If you folks post these as issues on Github, it makes it easier for the developers to track and fix these.

For convenience, here is the Genesis issues page:
https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Genesis_MiSTer/issues

BlockABoots
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 138
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 3:20 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby BlockABoots » Mon Apr 01, 2019 6:29 pm

xzarian wrote:I was watching the new Digital Foundry video on Blast Processing as they were testing the new mega sg. I tried it on the mister core and it doesn't display the image correctly. Links below for anyone interested.

DF Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rvvL6S5Buiw
Test Rom: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Ag-J_smY75mUGAIL3J1VHwTVdmFWbyL0/view


I saw that too and was wondering how it fared on the MiSTer, sad to hear it doesnt work correctly. Can anyone confirm if the 2 Face Boss fight in Batman & Robin has the graphic glitch running across the screen on MiSTer??

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1142
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby slingshot » Tue Apr 02, 2019 8:17 am

xzarian wrote:I was watching the new Digital Foundry video on Blast Processing as they were testing the new mega sg. I tried it on the mister core and it doesn't display the image correctly. Links below for anyone interested.

DF Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rvvL6S5Buiw
Test Rom: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Ag-J_smY75mUGAIL3J1VHwTVdmFWbyL0/view


Direct color DMA...not new. Good for tuning the CPU slots during disabled display in the VDP.

the1ross
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2018 12:17 am

Re: Genesis Core

Postby the1ross » Wed Apr 03, 2019 7:15 am

Just tested Batman and Robin, played up to the third level without seeing any glitches. The Two-face boss works fine and doesn't have the line glitch (or any others that can spot) mentioned in the DF retro review.

cyb4
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2019 1:29 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby cyb4 » Wed Apr 03, 2019 1:31 pm

Hi, first of all, thanks for all the work on the core!

I noticed that the sound is off in Panorama Cotton (stage 1). It just doesn't sound right.
Last edited by cyb4 on Thu Apr 04, 2019 12:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

BlockABoots
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 138
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 3:20 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby BlockABoots » Wed Apr 03, 2019 5:32 pm

the1ross wrote:Just tested Batman and Robin, played up to the third level without seeing any glitches. The Two-face boss works fine and doesn't have the line glitch (or any others that can spot) mentioned in the DF retro review.


Nice :cheers:

User avatar
Xtro
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 11:47 am
Location: Spain

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Xtro » Fri Apr 05, 2019 7:16 pm

I got MiST and MiSTer, just ran VDP FIFO test on both FPGAs and MiST passes 115/122 of the test and MiSTer only 110/122 so MiST core seems more advanced, maybe it is possible to adapt to MiSTer the changes.

breiztiger
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 160
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:54 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Genesis Core

Postby breiztiger » Sat Apr 06, 2019 4:15 pm

hi

with last build titan overdrive 2 doesn't work anymore

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5091
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Apr 06, 2019 6:06 pm

hmm.. yeah. i have to revise the changes.

User avatar
kitrinx
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 6:03 am

Re: Genesis Core

Postby kitrinx » Sun Apr 07, 2019 4:16 am

Sorgelig wrote:hmm.. yeah. i have to revise the changes.


Sorry, I tested with street fighter, I didn't realize other things used it's mapper. It looks like you already found the problem though.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5091
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Apr 07, 2019 6:37 am

kitrinx wrote:It looks like you already found the problem though.

yep.
bonus in new release: Correct audio sync in Titan 2 :)


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jdubs and 5 guests