Genesis Core

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

Grego2d
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2018 5:57 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Grego2d » Wed May 15, 2019 8:18 pm

Added in 3x and 0.5x clock speed options and sent the pull request.

Here's the diff:

https://github.com/originalgrego/Genesi ... 56e6a4c2cf

Spinball is insane at 60fps when you turn on 3x CPU speed. Doesn't seem to have much of an effect on Road Rash. 0.5x speed seems to cause a lot of graphical glitches, but it does successfully slowdown many games, so whatever it's a bonus.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4615
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Wed May 15, 2019 9:06 pm

i've pushed my changes.
I don't think 0.5x is useful. You can use cheats instead.

Grego2d
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2018 5:57 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Grego2d » Wed May 15, 2019 9:13 pm

Looks good, you should add 3x as well, spinball benefits from it.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4615
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Wed May 15, 2019 9:37 pm

ok. i will add it

Grego2d
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2018 5:57 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Grego2d » Wed May 15, 2019 10:28 pm

You need both turbo options 1.5 and 3, spinball is ok at both but other games like Sonic aren't happy with 3x.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4615
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Wed May 15, 2019 10:34 pm

in which part Sonic (which one?) not happy with 3x?

Grego2d
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2018 5:57 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Grego2d » Wed May 15, 2019 10:43 pm

Sonic 2, music totally screwed up.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4615
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Wed May 15, 2019 10:47 pm

Hmm. Music in Sonic 2 plays fine for me in turbo 3x.

Grego2d
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2018 5:57 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Grego2d » Wed May 15, 2019 10:50 pm

You don't hear it missing it's timing on the song? It's playing it but it keeps missing the beat. This is on the version I made, I'll test your changes later tonight.

Compiling your changes.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4615
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Wed May 15, 2019 11:48 pm

Ok.
Check my version.
I will add option for medium/high turbo

SegaMan
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 12:59 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby SegaMan » Thu May 16, 2019 10:08 am

Low Latency Mode did not work anymore on genesis core on my display.

Did not have any problems with that in the past.

:shrug:

PhantombrainM
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: Genesis Core

Postby PhantombrainM » Thu May 16, 2019 3:35 pm

PhantombrainM wrote:Sonic & Knuckles + Sonic 2 (W) [!].md
MD5 3e5e4b18d035775b916a06f2b3dc5031

shows only black screen. It was working, i played it already. Checksum of file checked with a local backup copy.


Since you are working on the genesis core, I investigated further, were it broke:

Genesis_20190110.rbf -> Working
all newer Versions -> not working anymore.

Maybe you have some time to look at it, when turbo is finished. Thank you! :cheers:
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4615
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Thu May 16, 2019 9:16 pm

PhantombrainM wrote:
PhantombrainM wrote:Sonic & Knuckles + Sonic 2 (W) [!].md
MD5 3e5e4b18d035775b916a06f2b3dc5031

shows only black screen. It was working, i played it already. Checksum of file checked with a local backup copy.


Since you are working on the genesis core, I investigated further, were it broke:

Genesis_20190110.rbf -> Working
all newer Versions -> not working anymore.

Maybe you have some time to look at it, when turbo is finished. Thank you! :cheers:

No problem with this game.

Code: Select all

4ea493ea4e9f6c9ebfccbdb15110367e *Sonic & Knuckles (World).gen

PhantombrainM
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: Genesis Core

Postby PhantombrainM » Thu May 16, 2019 9:25 pm

Sorgelig wrote:No problem with this game.

Code: Select all

4ea493ea4e9f6c9ebfccbdb15110367e *Sonic & Knuckles (World).gen


Yes the first part is running fine. I'm talking about the second part.

Sonic & Knuckles -> Runs fine
Sonic & Knuckles with Sonic 2 -> Doesn't work anymore
Sonic & Knuckles with Sonic 3 -> Runs fine
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4615
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Thu May 16, 2019 9:30 pm

ah, i see it's different.. So many Sonics!

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4615
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Thu May 16, 2019 9:33 pm

i have this:
Sonic & Knuckles + Sonic The Hedgehog 2 (World) (Rev A) EverDrive Fixed v1.1 SmokeMonster.bin
It works.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4615
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Thu May 16, 2019 9:57 pm

After some checking - the problem in paging register. It seems this game uses SSF2 mapper.
I don't know yet why new versions don't accept old bob-patched page 1 and requires page 2. But it seems MiSTer is not the only system requires this patch.

PhantombrainM
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: Genesis Core

Postby PhantombrainM » Thu May 16, 2019 10:02 pm

Yes, a lot of sonics. :D

I also just noticed that:

Sonic the Hedgehog 2 (W) (REV1) [!] is also not working anymore -> (It also works with Genesis_20190110.rbf) interestingly it broke from Genesis_20190407.rbf) while the knuckles thing broke after 20190110

Don't know if its also the paging register issue.
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4615
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Thu May 16, 2019 10:13 pm

PhantombrainM wrote:Sonic the Hedgehog 2 (W) (REV1) [!] is also not working anymore

I have:
Sonic the Hedgehog 2 (W) (REV00) [!]
Sonic the Hedgehog 2 (W) (REV01) [!]
Both work.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4615
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Thu May 16, 2019 10:53 pm

More check reveals that Sonic & Knuckles + Sonic The Hedgehog 2 is clashing with SRAM enable register (used in some games) (added after 20190110 release).
Change the value 1 to 2 disables the SRAM and game works.
What this game wants by writing 1 to A130F1 - i have no idea. Since it's just hack of Sonic 2, it's possible some buggy code copy/pasted from other hack.

PhantombrainM
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: Genesis Core

Postby PhantombrainM » Fri May 17, 2019 9:22 am

I'm replying to you later. I will hook up my CRT and run it in parallel with my HDMI TV to check why Sonic 2 REV 1 is not working for me and to see, where the problem is.

By the way, Knuckles with sonic 2 is not a hack, it's official.

Knuckles original module has a module connector on it's top of the knuckles module!
So you can put your sonic games you already have on top of that module and enjoy the old sonics with new knuckles content:

https://segaretro.org/Lock-On_Technology

Really crazy and nice stuff from the past! ;)

EDIT:

Sorgelig wrote:
PhantombrainM wrote:Sonic the Hedgehog 2 (W) (REV1) [!] is also not working anymore

I have:
Sonic the Hedgehog 2 (W) (REV00) [!]
Sonic the Hedgehog 2 (W) (REV01) [!]
Both work.


Okay, this is interesting. I hooked up my CRT and Sonic 2 Rev 1 is working.
My LCD HDMI TV doesn't display anything and even OSD is not working anymore.
I then tried editing the config and found out: Vsync adjust 0 = It works! Vsync adjust 1 or 2 = no display, no gui.

So something with vsync adjust broke from newer than 20190407.
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4615
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Fri May 17, 2019 10:09 am

Sonic 3 originally has SRAM on cart! This explains the problem.
This is why it uses SRAM in the hack as a part of Sonic 3 code but it fails as Sonic 2 doesn't expect the SRAM. So the patch fixes this issue.

As for vsync_adjust problem - press the user button on IOBoard to reset the game - and it will work on HDMI.
I will fix this issue in next release.

PhantombrainM
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: Genesis Core

Postby PhantombrainM » Fri May 17, 2019 10:29 am

The IO Button reset works! :cheers:

About the patch/fix, do you think it can be fixed in MISTer without patching the rom?
I mean, I for myself know it now because you told me and so I can use a patched rom, thats okay. But the normal user doesn't know it and uses verified [!] dumps and is wondering why it's not working.
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4615
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Sorgelig » Fri May 17, 2019 2:47 pm

If user is banned on google and other search engines, then he can play other Sonics - they are plenty.

Grego2d
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2018 5:57 pm

Re: Genesis Core

Postby Grego2d » Fri May 17, 2019 3:49 pm

Just tried your build of Genesis with turbo, same issue as I had with Sonic 2, music is wrong at 3x and plays at an uneven pace.

Road rash at 3x sees an improvement in your build thanks to the vdp fifo changes. Now it needs a software patch, it's input handling seems to have been hardcoded for the lower framerate.


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: damopinn, hubersn and 3 guests