Wifi

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

NML32
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 503
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Wifi

Postby NML32 » Tue Jan 16, 2018 1:21 am

@Sorgelig, thanks for adding wifi support to MiSTer.

The Wiki states some wifi are supported. What USB wifi dongles are supported or could you recommend a few?

Wifi_Wiki.PNG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2171
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Wifi

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Jan 16, 2018 1:51 am

I've only tried ASUS wifi dongle which is realtek based.
It's hard to name the modules because i don't know which dongles used which chip.
It's more like try and see ;)

Probably it's wise to try dongle you probably have. Buying a new one is more like buying cat in the bag.
At least till we have some list of proven to work dongles.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2171
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Wifi

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Jan 16, 2018 5:07 am

Actually WiFi is not a good option for connection. On my WiFi dongle it takes some time to connect. And it's not always succeed connection. Something in wifi framework locks the whole system till it finish initial connection phase, so i cannot even use keyboard in menu core some time after boot.

So, you have been warned ;)

User avatar
cvenditti
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2017 12:45 am

Re: Wifi

Postby cvenditti » Wed Jan 17, 2018 5:56 pm

NML32 wrote:@Sorgelig, thanks for adding wifi support to MiSTer.

The Wiki states some wifi are supported. What USB wifi dongles are supported or could you recommend a few?

Wifi_Wiki.PNG


This kinds works for me:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/New-150Mbps-15 ... 25c57ee51e

kolla
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 162
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 11:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Wifi

Postby kolla » Wed Jan 17, 2018 8:51 pm

Sorgelig wrote:Something in wifi framework locks the whole system till it finish initial connection phase, so i cannot even use keyboard in menu core some time after boot.


Guess I am lucky, since don't experience this, I can use the keyboard at once to browse the menu.
I insert power, it takes maybe 2-3 seconds for menu to show up, I press M to go to Minimig core, and by the time Workbench is up, the Linux side is online. :)

I know that some adapters look like more like ethernet NICs from the Linux side, doing all the wifi-work on their own, and after initial authentication/connecting, the kernel just needs to send ethernet packages to them. Other adapters function more like a "stripped radio" and rely much more on the 802.11 framework in the operating system. The trends is more and more the former, which simplifies things for the OS, but makes the security scenery a bit harder. Speaking of that, just for fun I now tried a wpa config set up for WPA2-Enterprise, with 802.1x/PEAPv0/MSCHAPv2 authentication to an eduroam access point - and it works :mrgreen:

I am using this adapter from The Pi Hut
(though it requires an extra piece of firmware, rt2870.bin, that simply goes into /lib/firmware)
-- kolla

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2171
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Wifi

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Jan 18, 2018 12:49 am

kolla wrote:I am using this adapter from The Pi Hut
(though it requires an extra piece of firmware, rt2870.bin, that simply goes into /lib/firmware)

My ASUS dongle looks exactly like yours, but it has ASUS logo and chip is realtek instead of ralink.

NML32
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 503
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: Wifi

Postby NML32 » Fri Jan 19, 2018 9:00 pm

My Wifi USB adapter arrived today and so far it's working great. :cheers: So far no connection delays.
300Mbps Realtek RTL8192CU Chipset 2T2R Mini WIFI USB Adapter/ Wireless Lan Card/ Wifi Dongle

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00GY ... UTF8&psc=1

51Q2ajahfmL._SL1000_.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2171
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Wifi

Postby Sorgelig » Fri Jan 26, 2018 8:13 am

It seems USB HUB gave me mentioned problems with WiFi. After change to another one WiFi dongle is much more stable. Keyboard doesn't freeze while WiFi initialization.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2171
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Wifi

Postby Sorgelig » Fri Jan 26, 2018 8:17 am

I want to mention that most WiFi 802.11ac dongles aren't supported (probably none).
So, don't try to pick 5Ghz WiFi - it won't work.
I've tried to add driver to one WiFi 5Ghz device. But it's Linux, you know.. If driver is not included in kernel, then attempt of adding it from outside most likely will fail. Almost every kernel version has its quirks and requires special tweak for external driver.
Anyway, after spending the whole day i gave up.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2171
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Wifi

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Jan 28, 2018 7:27 am

It seems i've just contradicted myself :)
I've succeeded to integrate the driver for D-Link 5Ghz dongle! This is a good thing for me since 2.4GHz in my area is too noisy and hard to use.
The first one if tried was TP-Link on mediatek MT7610u chip and all my attempts to make it work were failed. It also uses weird custom settings for authentication - such a rubbish.

D-Link DWA-171 (HWVer: A1) on RTL8812AU chip works well using standard wpa_supplicant. So, at least this WiFi-ac dongle will work in new Linux release. Probably other dongles on the same chip (and RTL8821AU) will work as well.

keito
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 5:46 am

Re: Wifi

Postby keito » Mon Feb 12, 2018 10:19 pm

locate the file linux/_wpa_supplicant.txt
open in text editor supporting Linux/Unix line endings (for example Notepad++)
replace put_your_SSID_here with your actual WiFi network name and put_your_password_here with your WiFi password.
rename _wpa_supplicant.txt to wpa_supplicant.txt
reboot the MiSTer


So trying to get wifi working but a little confused. The wiki refers to wpa_supplicant file with the extension .txt but on my card in the linux folder is wpa_supplicant.conf... I have edited the file as instructed and tried all variations with both the .conf file and a .txt together, one on their own and vice versa, still no joy, what is the correct way?

just one wpa_supplicant file? if so text or conf extension? or both? also I assume the "replace" parts are meant to retain the inverted commas and you put the SSID and KEY inside the quotes, i know this is basic but at this point i am just trying every variation :)

Perhaps my usb wifi dongle is the culprit, in which case I will try another one, but I would still like to know the correct procedure..

Here is what I am using:

MK Electronics® Mini Wifi Dongel Wireless USB 2.0 Adaptor Stick for Windows, Mac and Linux – Genuine ENIGAM2, Realtek RTL8192CU Chipset

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B01N11WTE7/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2171
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Wifi

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Feb 12, 2018 10:35 pm

Correct file is wpa_supplicant.conf
Quotes should be kept for SSD and pass of course. Otherwise they wouldn't be there.

RTL8192CU should work, but specific dongle may have something special preventing it work. As everything in Linux - even trivial things may require a lot of effort to make it work.
Linux is not really plug and play OS ;)
While WiFi is good feature, it may require some linux knowledge in case if it not work right away.

pcm720
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2018 1:24 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Wifi

Postby pcm720 » Sat Mar 10, 2018 6:46 pm

Has anyone tried TP-LINK TL-WN823N?

Quick googling shows that it's based on RTL8192CU/EU, but it would be nice to know that it works before I buy one.


TP-LINK TL-WN823N V2 (based on RTL8192EU) works fine!
I had to find and copy rtl8192eu_nic.bin to /lib/firmware/rtlwifi for the dongle to work.

Jaydg
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 7:42 am

Re: Wifi

Postby Jaydg » Tue May 01, 2018 7:49 pm

Hi,

Also working with "Xiaomi Mi Portable WiFi" which you can buy on Terasic homepage.

http://www.terasic.com.tw/cgi-bin/page/ ... 6&PartNo=8

Need mt7601u.bin in \lib\firmware

https://github.com/wkennington/linux-fi ... t7601u.bin


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests