Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

Mmm
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2015 5:22 am

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby Mmm » Mon Dec 10, 2018 4:25 pm

Hi,
i figured out what i was doing wrong. I was not downloading the rbf files properly.
now everything is working again properly.
Noob mistake :D

BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 391
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby BBond007 » Thu Dec 13, 2018 3:46 am

Hi

I think I'm having problems with the Minimig_20181208.rbf (from Minimig_20180519.rbf)

It seems like the 'UART connection' option might be broken.

At first I thought I somehow broke my MIDI stuff I have been working on, however It seems that 'PPP' and 'Console' have also been effected.

'Console' behaves like its connected to the wrong UART (ttys0 vs ttyS1) because I'm seeing messages like "OSD is NOW visible/invisible' and other debug information such as video resolution.

Is anyone else having this issue?

Thanks.

duhproject
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 6:57 pm

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby duhproject » Thu Dec 13, 2018 3:55 am

BBond007 wrote:Hi

Is anyone else having this issue?

Thanks.


I can verify I am having the same results -- doesn't work and getting the debug messages. Using latest core.

User avatar
Paradroyd
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 293
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 10:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby Paradroyd » Thu Dec 13, 2018 11:33 pm

BBond007 wrote:Hi

I think I'm having problems with the Minimig_20181208.rbf (from Minimig_20180519.rbf)

It seems like the 'UART connection' option might be broken.

At first I thought I somehow broke my MIDI stuff I have been working on, however It seems that 'PPP' and 'Console' have also been effected.

'Console' behaves like its connected to the wrong UART (ttys0 vs ttyS1) because I'm seeing messages like "OSD is NOW visible/invisible' and other debug information such as video resolution.

Is anyone else having this issue?

Thanks.


I am also seeing this in Minimig_20181208. It was working as expected in Minimig_20180519.
- Paradroyd
@paradroyd on Twitter, @paradroyd@mastodon.sdf.org on Mastodon

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5245
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby Sorgelig » Fri Dec 14, 2018 2:20 pm

i will check it.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5245
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Dec 15, 2018 9:07 am

Dynablaster should be ok with new release.
UART should be fine as well now.

User avatar
remowilliams
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 245
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 1:49 am

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby remowilliams » Sat Dec 15, 2018 4:42 pm

I'm seeing random video corruption/noise in Minimig_20181215 that I'm not seeing in Minimig_20181208.

Image

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5245
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Dec 15, 2018 8:02 pm

download new release, it should be free from this problem.

BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 391
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby BBond007 » Sat Dec 15, 2018 8:40 pm

Sorgelig wrote:download new release, it should be free from this problem.


Thanks.

The video glitches introduced in 20181215 is fixed in 20181216 and Console/PPP/MIDI work again :)

I guess the quality of my new DE10-nano is better than the one I bought last year.

The glitching was much worse on the older one..

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5245
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Dec 15, 2018 8:46 pm

BBond007 wrote:I guess the quality of my new DE10-nano is better than the one I bought last year.
The glitching was much worse on the old one..

This is not relating to board release time. I had first DE10-nano (unfortunately died) which was better than second one. It's just parameters fluctuations from board to board and it's impossible to tell which one is better without tests.
The fan improves this much better than differences between boards.

User avatar
yarko
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri May 12, 2017 7:19 am

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby yarko » Sat Dec 15, 2018 8:58 pm

Dynablaster & Minimig_20181216 @ VGA output
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
remowilliams
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 245
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 1:49 am

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby remowilliams » Sat Dec 15, 2018 9:10 pm

Sorgelig wrote:download new release, it should be free from this problem.


Thank you, it appears to be resolved in Minimig_20181216.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5245
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Dec 15, 2018 9:45 pm

yarko wrote:Dynablaster & Minimig_20181216 @ VGA output

I've checked on VGA output and have no such problem. Sometimes screen is shaking vertically, but mostly it's fine.
This game uses non-standard parameters for video, so take it as is or forget.
There are many bomberman versions on other cores, so no big loss.

User avatar
yarko
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri May 12, 2017 7:19 am

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby yarko » Sat Dec 15, 2018 10:17 pm

This game uses non-standard parameters for video, so take it as is or forget.
There are many bomberman versions on other cores, so no big loss.

I only reported. I can still use the old core (Minimig_20180519) for this game.

User avatar
Peg4a
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2018 4:17 pm

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby Peg4a » Sun Dec 16, 2018 6:41 pm

Hi,
First off all, thank you very much for your hard work Alexey ! I am a fan of the MISTer :)
With the new cores I have trouble with Highgfx driver (1024x768) in prefs screen : white lines and disturb image. No problem in other mode. It was working before the last two cores.
Thanks !


Peg4A

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5245
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Dec 16, 2018 6:57 pm

Peg4a wrote:With the new cores I have trouble with Highgfx driver (1024x768) in prefs screen : white lines and disturb image. No problem in other mode. It was working before the last two cores.

I've tried 1024x768 and didn't see any problems.

Make sure you use heatsink with fan. This core has metastability issue and it's hard to make it work on especially hot FPGA.

BlockABoots
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 138
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 3:20 pm

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby BlockABoots » Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:38 pm

Have Batman - The Movie.adf file and when i load the disk is shows the loading title screen but then displays, 'Software Error - Press Left Mouse Button to Continue' and then just resets. Is this a configuration issue with the core or a dodge disk file??

BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 391
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby BBond007 » Mon Dec 17, 2018 4:13 am

BlockABoots wrote:Have Batman - The Movie.adf file and when i load the disk is shows the loading title screen but then displays, 'Software Error - Press Left Mouse Button to Continue' and then just resets. Is this a configuration issue with the core or a dodge disk file??


Both the single and two disk versions of this game work for me.

This is just a hunch, but maybe you are trying to run it with Kickstart ROM 3.1?

I think it would say "Guru Meditation" vs "Software Error" if you were running Kickstart 1.3 ROM which is more appropriate for this game.

Why not just use the whdload version of this game? The loading time are really long otherwise.

BlockABoots
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 138
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 3:20 pm

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby BlockABoots » Mon Dec 17, 2018 6:36 pm

BBond007 wrote:
BlockABoots wrote:Have Batman - The Movie.adf file and when i load the disk is shows the loading title screen but then displays, 'Software Error - Press Left Mouse Button to Continue' and then just resets. Is this a configuration issue with the core or a dodge disk file??


Both the single and two disk versions of this game work for me.

This is just a hunch, but maybe you are trying to run it with Kickstart ROM 3.1?

I think it would say "Guru Meditation" vs "Software Error" if you were running Kickstart 1.3 ROM which is more appropriate for this game.

Why not just use the whdload version of this game? The loading time are really long otherwise.


Yes i am indeed use Kickstart Rom 3.1 is the 1.3 version regarded to be the better option to use?

I was going to ask about the loading times and if there was a way to speed them up. In order to use whdload version of games do i need to install an OS, as id rather not have to use a mouse to select drives and games???

BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 391
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby BBond007 » Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:42 pm

BlockABoots wrote:Yes i am indeed use Kickstart Rom 3.1 is the 1.3 version regarded to be the better option to use?


When running ADFs, Ideally you want to configure your Minimig core to match the specs of the Amiga model the software was designed to run on. Some of the cracked games fix certain incompatibilities but not as well as whdload which typically can be run with all settings (including Turbo) maxed out.

ADFs that are not "AGA" - KS/Workbench 1.3 with 68000/TURBO OFF/1MB CHIP/0MB FAST/OCS/PAL. Some older games might even need 1.2 ROM or 512K Chip. This config resembles an A1000/A500.

ADF games with "AGA" in the title - KS/Workbench 3.1 with 68020/TURBO OFF/2MB CHIP/0MB FAST/AGA/PAL. This config resembles an A1200.

BlockABoots wrote:I was going to ask about the loading times and if there was a way to speed them up. In order to use whdload version of games do i need to install an OS, as id rather not have to use a mouse to select drives and games???


You could use TinyLauncher or similar application. It can be made to launch automatically by adding it to the end of s:startup-sequence. Or you might be able to simply drop it in 'wbstartup' drawer.

http://ohmygibs.free.fr/ohmygibs/TinyLauncher.html


Hope that helps...

BlockABoots
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 138
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 3:20 pm

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby BlockABoots » Tue Dec 18, 2018 10:28 pm

I take it tinylauncher cant be used with the Mitser though?

BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 391
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby BBond007 » Wed Dec 19, 2018 12:03 am

BlockABoots wrote:I take it tinylauncher cant be used with the Mitser though?


Why would you think that? TinlyLauncher works fine with MiSTer.

Also the latest changes to the MiSTer menu adds "Floppy disk turbo : on / off".

I don't know if the feature works yet, but the menu option is there at least.

I know the original Minimig 1.1 has that option for a long time...

User avatar
comatron
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 2:56 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby comatron » Wed Dec 19, 2018 1:00 pm

hi :) first of all: the core is delicious! thanx for all the work. what would make it perfect for me would be action-replay-mk3 support. i searched this topic for this and HRTmon with no luck. with that support we could do all the tinkering with the mister instead of emulation/real hardware. savestate would be possible that way, too (even if a bit complicated and slow, but yeah)

i got the real hardware and i even would be willing to learn HRTmon, which i never used. read a bit about it but HRTmon seems not to work here. got the latest minimig core, latest mister, kick 1.3 and all the stuff needed to run it.

anyone else interested in getting a good freezer/monitor to work? this would be my biggest xmas-present :cheers:

thanx and greetings from germany

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5245
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Dec 19, 2018 1:18 pm

If i remember correct HRTMon doesn't like fastmem. So, fastmem=0 should make HRTMon happy.

User avatar
comatron
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 2:56 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Postby comatron » Wed Dec 19, 2018 3:32 pm

Sorgelig wrote:If i remember correct HRTMon doesn't like fastmem. So, fastmem=0 should make HRTMon happy.


thanks for that tip!

checked that but wont work here. i have a KS 1.3 ROM - 512 chip - 68000 CPU - no floppy speed-up - tried OCS and ECS 500

when i press f11 to freeze i get instant power LED blinking resulting in a guru mediation. even on the kickstart screen.

any help on this would be a killer. as i can´t compile a core from sources, maybe someone can do a custom core with actionreplayMK3 instead of HRTmon. i can provide the rom. as i am no develeloper i have no clue if its a big pile of work. i thought that it might be just to switch the ROM file when compiling.

Anmerkung 2018-12-19 162950.jpg


cheerz
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests