Question about HDMI Capture Devices compatible with MiSTer

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 355
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Question about HDMI Capture Devices compatible with MiSTer

Postby NML32 » Sun Nov 05, 2017 7:57 pm

What are you guys using to capture HDMI video from the MiSTer?
I just bought a ClearClick HD Capture Box, and it doesn't seem to recognize video coming out of the MiSTer.

NegSol
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 150
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 9:22 pm

Re: Question about HDMI Capture Devices compatible with MiSTer

Postby NegSol » Sun Nov 05, 2017 8:02 pm

I use a AVerMedia Game Capture HD II - Maybe try switch the audio parameter in the MiSTer.ini - sometimes this helps 8)

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 355
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: Question about HDMI Capture Devices compatible with MiSTer

Postby NML32 » Sun Nov 05, 2017 8:24 pm

NegSol wrote:I use a AVerMedia Game Capture HD II - Maybe try switch the audio parameter in the MiSTer.ini - sometimes this helps 8)

Thanks for the suggestion.
I tried both audio settings but still not working.

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 355
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: Question about HDMI Capture Devices compatible with MiSTer

Postby NML32 » Sun Nov 05, 2017 10:23 pm

NegSol wrote:I use a AVerMedia Game Capture HD II - Maybe try switch the audio parameter in the MiSTer.ini - sometimes this helps 8)

About the AVerMedia Game Capture HD II, does it do passthrough of the video even if the unit is off?
Can it record directly to a USB thumb drive?

It looks like a very nice recorder.

coughlanio
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2017 6:15 pm

Re: Question about HDMI Capture Devices compatible with MiSTer

Postby coughlanio » Sun Nov 05, 2017 11:17 pm

I have an Elgato HD60S and it appears to work fine.

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1034
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: Question about HDMI Capture Devices compatible with MiSTer

Postby Newsdee » Sun Nov 05, 2017 11:45 pm

I have an XCapture-1 and it works great over HDMI 720p. It can also capture VGA or RGB. It is expensive (from the makers of the XRGB) but handles a lot of retro consoles.

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1190
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Question about HDMI Capture Devices compatible with MiSTer

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Nov 06, 2017 2:24 am

Avermedia U3 - works fine.

NegSol
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 150
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 9:22 pm

Re: Question about HDMI Capture Devices compatible with MiSTer

Postby NegSol » Mon Nov 06, 2017 7:00 am

NML32 wrote:
NegSol wrote:I use a AVerMedia Game Capture HD II - Maybe try switch the audio parameter in the MiSTer.ini - sometimes this helps 8)

About the AVerMedia Game Capture HD II, does it do passthrough of the video even if the unit is off?
Can it record directly to a USB thumb drive?

It looks like a very nice recorder.


Yes. Passthrough works when unit is on standby. Thumbdrive recording works. However, the unit is dated (slow) and the network interface is useless (only used for youtube upload). It does work with MiSTer though :-)

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1034
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: Question about HDMI Capture Devices compatible with MiSTer

Postby Newsdee » Mon Nov 06, 2017 7:19 am

Sorgelig wrote:Avermedia U3 - works fine.

I had one and it crashed all the time. I suspect it's due to my PC's chipset for USB3 though. Maybe I can try again after updating drivers as its been a couple of years.

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 355
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: Question about HDMI Capture Devices compatible with MiSTer

Postby NML32 » Mon Nov 06, 2017 9:26 am

Thanks for all the suggestions they all seem like nice capture devices. I’ve decided to go with the AVerMedia Game Capture HD II. The main reason for my decision was no PC required.

Thanks for all the information.


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest