Arcade cores

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

Darfpga
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2017 10:07 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Darfpga » Sun Nov 05, 2017 5:03 pm

toromand wrote:Thank you for the fix, it can be played much better now. But, while you are here :), there is some strange behavior also with the single ship fire. It seems to fire TWO bullets together,killing two enemies one behind other. Can you investigate?


Ok. I reproduce the problem. Will look.

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1061
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Nov 05, 2017 6:22 pm

Time Pilot has been ported. Thanks to Dar for the core!

toromand
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2017 9:36 am

Re: Arcade cores

Postby toromand » Sun Nov 05, 2017 7:21 pm

Sorgelig wrote:Time Pilot has been ported. Thanks to Dar for the core!

Great news! I am playing it for the last half hour. Very addictive :)
Big thanks to both of you!

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 346
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: Arcade cores

Postby NML32 » Sun Nov 05, 2017 7:24 pm

Sorgelig wrote:Time Pilot has been ported. Thanks to Dar for the core!

Thank you darfpga and Sorgelig. :cheers:

NegSol
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 142
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 9:22 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby NegSol » Sun Nov 05, 2017 8:07 pm

Yes - Thank you both for Time Pilot. I guess I found my new favorite arcade core :cheers:

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 170
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Gehstock » Sun Nov 05, 2017 8:38 pm

Sorgelig wrote:Post links to interesting arcades you want to see ported.

Follow only 2 simple rules:
1) FPGA source code should be available
2) No requests like "all these arcades". Only really interesting/remarkable arcades are accepted.



"Computer Space" should be in my first Archive was i have send. Have try to port but i never received a clear Picture this should be easy for you. It was the first Arcade ever.
Not only my Cores for MIST/MISTer : https://github.com/Gehstock

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1061
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Nov 06, 2017 2:37 am

Gehstock wrote:"Computer Space" should be in my first Archive was i have send. Have try to port but i never received a clear Picture this should be easy for you. It was the first Arcade ever.

World first arcade machine is worth to port :)
Is that version you already modified or original untouched?

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 346
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: Arcade cores

Postby NML32 » Mon Nov 06, 2017 7:04 pm

Sorgelig wrote:Post links to interesting arcades you want to see ported.

Follow only 2 simple rules:
1) FPGA source code should be available
2) No requests like "all these arcades". Only really interesting/remarkable arcades are accepted.


Could any of these be ported to MiSTer?
https://github.com/lisper?tab=repositories

- arcade-foodfight
- arcade-robotron
- arcade-centipede

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 170
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Gehstock » Mon Nov 06, 2017 8:29 pm

Should not be a Problem, had tryed to port for Mist but this have not enough BRAM
Not only my Cores for MIST/MISTer : https://github.com/Gehstock

Darfpga
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2017 10:07 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Darfpga » Mon Nov 06, 2017 8:40 pm

Darfpga wrote:
toromand wrote:Thank you for the fix, it can be played much better now. But, while you are here :), there is some strange behavior also with the single ship fire. It seems to fire TWO bullets together,killing two enemies one behind other. Can you investigate?


Ok. I reproduce the problem. Will look.


Fixed in rev 0.2 :

https://sourceforge.net/projects/darfpga/files/Software%20VHDL/galaga

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1061
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Nov 07, 2017 2:53 am

Computer Space has been released!

unfortunately the audio part uses samples instead of synthesis. May be Dar can help to finish this remarkable arcade?

Darfpga wrote:Fixed in rev 0.2 :

thanks!

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1061
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:27 am

Darfpga wrote:Fixed in rev 0.2 :

Not sure if it has been broken in my port, but if i press Start before Coin, then it won't allow to start the game anymore.

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 346
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: Arcade cores

Postby NML32 » Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:34 am

Sorgelig wrote:Computer Space has been released!

unfortunately the audio part uses samples instead of synthesis. May be Dar can help to finish this remarkable arcade?


I don't get any video only a blank screen, OSD works.

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1061
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Nov 07, 2017 4:29 am

Update Galaga has been released:
- fixes from v0.2 by Dar
- fix Start button.
- Start1/2 buttons also add coin.

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1061
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Nov 07, 2017 4:50 am

NML32 wrote:I don't get any video only a blank screen, OSD works.

Try new release. It should work.

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 990
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Newsdee » Tue Nov 07, 2017 5:22 am

Computer Space! Wow... I can't wait to get home to try it.

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 170
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Gehstock » Tue Nov 07, 2017 8:20 am

Darfpga wrote:
Darfpga wrote:
toromand wrote:Thank you for the fix, it can be played much better now. But, while you are here :), there is some strange behavior also with the single ship fire. It seems to fire TWO bullets together,killing two enemies one behind other. Can you investigate?


Ok. I reproduce the problem. Will look.


Fixed in rev 0.2 :

https://sourceforge.net/projects/darfpga/files/Software%20VHDL/galaga


Thank you, will update the Mist Version later.
Not only my Cores for MIST/MISTer : https://github.com/Gehstock

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1061
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Nov 07, 2017 12:16 pm

NML32 wrote:Could any of these be ported to MiSTer?
https://github.com/lisper?tab=repositories

- arcade-foodfight
- arcade-robotron
- arcade-centipede

i've tried his robotron sources. It's either unfinished or non-working. There is no project files for specific board. Only make files for simulation. All vhdl files are converted to verilog with unknown state (may be it's just POC). I've spent a lot of time to combine the set of separate files with pretty weird rom presentation. All in-vain. It doesn't work. I don't want to touch other his cores - probably they are in the same condition.

Another big problem with sources originally written in Xilinx environment is that fact Xilinx allows to compile pretty bad unreal constructions. And some devs actively use it. Multi-drivers, multi-clocks - all this is possible in Xilinx tools. And only crazy Xilinx developers know how it even possible to compile.
And when i try to port it to Altera - i have to deal with all these mad constructions. To fix it, i have to know how exactly it supposed to work which is not always obvious. This may take a lot of time..

P.S.: that's why i didn't port for example Mega65, although i've tried it hard...

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 346
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: Arcade cores

Postby NML32 » Tue Nov 07, 2017 12:38 pm

Thanks for trying, I guess it’s best to avoid Xilinx ports.

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1061
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Nov 07, 2017 12:52 pm

NML32 wrote:Thanks for trying, I guess it’s best to avoid Xilinx ports.

Don't take my words wrong. There are many cores originally written for Xilinx can be easily ported.

Darfpga
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2017 10:07 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Darfpga » Wed Nov 08, 2017 10:06 pm

Sorgelig wrote:Computer Space has been released!

unfortunately the audio part uses samples instead of synthesis. May be Dar can help to finish this remarkable arcade?


Is there sound schematics somewhere ?

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1061
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Nov 09, 2017 3:33 am

Darfpga wrote:
Sorgelig wrote:Computer Space has been released!

unfortunately the audio part uses samples instead of synthesis. May be Dar can help to finish this remarkable arcade?


Is there sound schematics somewhere ?

https://github.com/pong74ls/ComputerSpaceSchematics

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1061
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Nov 09, 2017 5:58 am

I've released new arcade - Pacman. I know there is one port already exist, but i've decided to port it anyway.
I'm a big fan of simplicity and when i found this version with only 4 files simulating the whole board, i couldn't resist :)
This Pacman has full source code unlike other port.

Slade
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2016 11:02 pm

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Slade » Thu Nov 09, 2017 11:33 am

Sorgelig wrote:I've released new arcade - Pacman. I know there is one port already exist, but i've decided to port it anyway.
I'm a big fan of simplicity and when i found this version with only 4 files simulating the whole board, i couldn't resist :)
This Pacman has full source code unlike other port.


Given that the Pacman hardware ran a huge list of other arcade games, is there a chance these could be ported as well ?

Source code for Pengo exists here: https://code.google.com/archive/p/pengo ... ult/source

A list of compatible games is here on Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Namco_Pac ... cade_games

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1061
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Arcade cores

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Nov 09, 2017 11:57 am

Slade wrote:Given that the Pacman hardware ran a huge list of other arcade games, is there a chance these could be ported as well ?

Source code for Pengo exists here: https://code.google.com/archive/p/pengo ... ult/source

A list of compatible games is here on Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Namco_Pac ... cade_games

Compatibility even in so-called same cabinets is pretty nominal. Usually it involves replacing some boards, not just ROMs. It means every arcade needs specific support.
I will look at given source codes and will see if there is something can be ported.


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron