I/O Board thread

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

User avatar
gagadagatika
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 12:14 pm
Location: Germany / Denmark

Re: I/O Board thread

Postby gagadagatika » Fri Sep 22, 2017 9:09 pm

Sorgelig wrote:Hi-end jumper for P5: http://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/dip-sip-switches/2799847/
;)


That’s some fancy jumper :D

Regarding RS-Online: I figured that I can't buy from RS-Online because I am a private person. I don't know if that is a Germany exclusive thing because of our VAT or if that is the general case. However, RS-Online informed me that they have another shop for not business related purchases here in Germany: https://www.eibtron.com/epages/eibtron.sf/secd658d4ae1a/?ObjectPath=/Shops/eibtron/Products/279-9847 .. but they are also more expensive. I ended up buying the vertical slider switches from there.

Sorgelig
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 899
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: I/O Board thread

Postby Sorgelig » Fri Sep 22, 2017 9:45 pm

gagadagatika wrote:That’s some fancy jumper :D

Regarding RS-Online: I figured that I can't buy from RS-Online because I am a private person. I don't know if that is a Germany exclusive thing because of our VAT or if that is the general case. However, RS-Online informed me that they have another shop for not business related purchases here in Germany: https://www.eibtron.com/epages/eibtron.sf/secd658d4ae1a/?ObjectPath=/Shops/eibtron/Products/279-9847 .. but they are also more expensive. I ended up buying the vertical slider switches from there.

It should be a country specific restriction. I'm also private person, but can freely buy in RS-Online Taiwan. Prices in RS-Online sometimes more expensive than on Mouser. But what i like in RS-Online - their shipment is free. So i can buy for example 5 battery holders only with free shipment. I believe it's also country specific. Probably EU and especially US have big choice of component shops.

Sorgelig
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 899
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: I/O Board thread

Postby Sorgelig » Fri Sep 22, 2017 10:03 pm

About switch:
It's produced by several companies under different part numbers but fully compatible.
for example this switch is the same: https://www.digikey.com/product-detail/ ... ND/1981434

Parameters to search the model:
style: DPDT ON-ON
2mm spacing in row
2.54(2.50)mm spacing between rows
~8.2mm between case holes.
Right angle.

Sorgelig
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 899
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: I/O Board thread

Postby Sorgelig » Fri Sep 22, 2017 10:09 pm

I've made pic from datasheet:
switch.png

so, any switch with the same footprint can be used.

Actually, requirements can be relaxed. Only spacing in row, between rows and right angle required. Even case legs aren't important due to 6 pins. Just make sure it physically fits.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
gagadagatika
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 12:14 pm
Location: Germany / Denmark

Re: I/O Board thread

Postby gagadagatika » Fri Sep 22, 2017 10:54 pm

Sorgelig wrote:About switch:
It's produced by several companies under different part numbers but fully compatible.
for example this switch is the same: https://www.digikey.com/product-detail/ ... ND/1981434

Parameters to search the model:
style: DPDT ON-ON
2mm spacing in row
2.54(2.50)mm spacing between rows
~8.2mm between case holes.
Right angle.


I had the same switch in the beginning, but Digikey has only 3 of them in stock right now. Hopefully, they stock that one up soon, but as you said, there are also multiple other switches with the same footprint. I will update the IO-Board wiki page tomorrow with a new component list and BOM for version 5.x and after that, I will sit down and do the same for the new RTC Board.... that stuff is pretty time-consuming :D

TorsteinP
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2017 5:34 pm
Location: Norway

Re: I/O Board thread

Postby TorsteinP » Fri Oct 20, 2017 7:42 am

I tried the fan that gagadagatika recommended. Sounds like a vacuum cleaner. Much better when running on 3.3V.

I've ordered Noiseblocker BlackSilent XM2: https://www.overclockers.co.uk/noiseblocker-blacksilent-fan-xm2-fan-40mm-3800rpm-fg-018-nb.html
Only 14 db noise and 3800 RPM. Doesn't move as much air as the other one, but I don't think it matters. The chip isn't that hot.

THaase
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2017 8:39 am
Location: Germany

Re: I/O Board thread

Postby THaase » Fri Oct 20, 2017 8:06 am

I've ordered Noiseblocker BlackSilent XM2: https://www.overclockers.co.uk/noiseblo ... 18-nb.html
Only 14 db noise and 3800 RPM. Doesn't move as much air as the other one, but I don't think it matters. The chip isn't that hot.


Datasheet says that this is a 12V type (voltage range:7,5-13,8).
Can you report if this one is reliable starting up with 5V please?

TorsteinP
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2017 5:34 pm
Location: Norway

Re: I/O Board thread

Postby TorsteinP » Fri Oct 20, 2017 8:37 am

THaase wrote:
I've ordered Noiseblocker BlackSilent XM2: https://www.overclockers.co.uk/noiseblo ... 18-nb.html
Only 14 db noise and 3800 RPM. Doesn't move as much air as the other one, but I don't think it matters. The chip isn't that hot.


Datasheet says that this is a 12V type (voltage range:7,5-13,8).
Can you report if this one is reliable starting up with 5V please?

Oops!
Didn't see that one. Well, I'll try it anyway :)

THaase
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2017 8:39 am
Location: Germany

Re: I/O Board thread

Postby THaase » Fri Oct 20, 2017 10:37 am

Maybe the BlackSilentPro PM-1 (also Noisblocker) is an alternative ..... this starts at 4.5V.
Disadvantage: More expensive (12€ insted of 5€ - I don't really care) and 20mm instead of 10mm.

Btw. I don't own a Mister at the moment (just assemble my shopping carts) - on the picture it looks like having some more space to the top of the SDRam Board from the IO Board if you assemble the SDRam Board vertical.

Can somebody please measure?
If the space is about 20mm this might be a good alternative (2800 rpm@12V -> ~1200 rpm@5V) and Noise @12V:13,9 dB ....
So it will be really silent at 5V.

TorsteinP
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2017 5:34 pm
Location: Norway

Re: I/O Board thread

Postby TorsteinP » Fri Oct 20, 2017 10:45 am

The main power input to DE1-nano is 12V. I'll check if there somewhere to connect fan there.

THaase
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2017 8:39 am
Location: Germany

Re: I/O Board thread

Postby THaase » Fri Oct 20, 2017 11:04 am

Right,
but the Power Supply on the IO Board is 5V - therefore I would like to run at 5V (don't like flying leads)

Sorgelig
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 899
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: I/O Board thread

Postby Sorgelig » Fri Oct 20, 2017 6:42 pm

Vertical SDRAM board is higher than 10mm fan.
Probably 20mm fan will be ok. May be couple mm higher than the board.
Anyway, it's up to personal preference as MiSTer has no official case(yet). Originally SDRAM is supposed to protrude outside the case for swapping.

THaase
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2017 8:39 am
Location: Germany

Re: I/O Board thread

Postby THaase » Sat Oct 21, 2017 9:16 am

Sorgelig wrote:Vertical SDRAM board is higher than 10mm fan.
Probably 20mm fan will be ok. May be couple mm higher than the board.


Thanks for the information - and sorry to bother you with all my stupid questions.
You are doing a great job!
And I'm very thankful for all the work you are doing and all the time you spend.

Sorgelig wrote:Anyway, it's up to personal preference as MiSTer has no official case(yet). Originally SDRAM is supposed to protrude outside the case for swapping.

Sorry to bother you again:
But why should I do so?
Either the core supports SDRam or not - why would I like to swap?

Sorgelig
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 899
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: I/O Board thread

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Oct 21, 2017 10:24 am

THaase wrote:But why should I do so?
Either the core supports SDRam or not - why would I like to swap?

To replace it with SRAM module or other type. That was original idea. Acrually, i don't think swapping the modules is a good idea, but who knows.


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest