MiSTer: MiST on Terasic DE10-nano board.

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1077
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MiSTer: MiST on Terasic DE10-nano board.

Postby Sorgelig » Fri Sep 22, 2017 1:42 pm

With new MiSTer/Menu update, Menu displays the current time if it's trustful. So, if you don't use RTC board but have internet connection on MiSTer and want ao486 and Minimig to display correct time, wait for time to appear in the Menu core header and only then start ao486/Minimig - in this case you will get correct time in these cores.

toromand
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2017 9:36 am

Re: MiSTer: MiST on Terasic DE10-nano board.

Postby toromand » Sat Sep 23, 2017 7:01 pm

I just made a replacement top acrylic plate for my board with a holder for 12v 40mm fan.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: MiSTer: MiST on Terasic DE10-nano board.

Postby NML32 » Sat Sep 23, 2017 10:54 pm

Does anyone else's video look distorted on the fpgaGen core?
Using: FpgaGen_20170712

toromand
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2017 9:36 am

Re: MiSTer: MiST on Terasic DE10-nano board.

Postby toromand » Sun Sep 24, 2017 8:01 am

NML32 wrote:Does anyone else's video look distorted on the fpgaGen core?
Using: FpgaGen_20170712

You must be more specific... (or even better provide images) so we can understand what you mean.
This core is far from perfect, if I recall well. Try some titles known to work.

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: MiSTer: MiST on Terasic DE10-nano board.

Postby NML32 » Sun Sep 24, 2017 12:00 pm

toromand wrote:
NML32 wrote:Does anyone else's video look distorted on the fpgaGen core?
Using: FpgaGen_20170712

You must be more specific... (or even better provide images) so we can understand what you mean.
This core is far from perfect, if I recall well. Try some titles known to work.

My camera isn't picking up the issues I see on the screen.
It's hard to explain, the image looks a bit rough around the edges almost like some pixels are missing. I don't remember the image looking so bad the last time I used the core.

User avatar
matt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 311
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 5:11 pm
Location: Cornwall, UK
Contact:

Re: MiSTer: MiST on Terasic DE10-nano board.

Postby matt » Sun Sep 24, 2017 2:23 pm

You mean the image is noisy?
Atari 1040STE 4MB, TOS 2.06 patched, C-LAB Notator SL 3.21, Cubeat 2, EIZO FlexScan L565 17", Supera Color HD video converter

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: MiSTer: MiST on Terasic DE10-nano board.

Postby NML32 » Wed Oct 04, 2017 10:01 pm

matt wrote:You mean the image is noisy?

Hopefully, this shows what I'm trying to explain.
IMG_0654.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
nightshadowpt
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed May 10, 2017 5:04 am

Re: MiSTer: MiST on Terasic DE10-nano board.

Postby nightshadowpt » Thu Oct 05, 2017 4:08 am

This looks like an interlacing problem (?) Weird...

NegSol
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 143
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 9:22 pm

Re: MiSTer: MiST on Terasic DE10-nano board.

Postby NegSol » Thu Oct 05, 2017 12:36 pm

NML32 wrote:
matt wrote:You mean the image is noisy?

Hopefully, this shows what I'm trying to explain.
IMG_0654.JPG


Yes, looks like an interlace issue on your scaler back-end? Maybe you are up-scaling it to 1080p? MiSTer outputs 720p natively.

I uploaded a video showing no issues with hdmi output on the mentioned core. Also vga output is good.

https://youtu.be/241b4RFqlDU

--

On a side note if someone should update the menu core - is there a way to get vga output with this core that is more aligned with vga standard? I get vga output for all cores but this one on my main monitor. I know that the menu core supports vga, but it apparently uses a non compliant refresh rate.

8)

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: MiSTer: MiST on Terasic DE10-nano board.

Postby NML32 » Thu Oct 05, 2017 2:24 pm

NegSol wrote:
NML32 wrote:
matt wrote:You mean the image is noisy?

Hopefully, this shows what I'm trying to explain.
IMG_0654.JPG


Yes, looks like an interlace issue on your scaler back-end? Maybe you are up-scaling it to 1080p? MiSTer outputs 720p natively.

I uploaded a video showing no issues with hdmi output on the mentioned core. Also vga output is good.

https://youtu.be/241b4RFqlDU


Strange, I’m not using any scalers and my MiSTer is connected to the same tv unless I’m using VGA.
It’s possible my MiSTer is going bad except all the other cores look fine.

Could it be my tv is NTSC?

NegSol
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 143
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 9:22 pm

Re: MiSTer: MiST on Terasic DE10-nano board.

Postby NegSol » Thu Oct 05, 2017 3:23 pm

It will not be your MiSTer if all other cores look fine. Maybe try it on a different Monitor with HDMI in and compare.

I encountered heat related HDMI scaler issues in the MiSTer once running ao486. But those looked more like "snow" / bright white pixels appearing randomly. Those issues disappear with a cool fan attached.

Anyway - try another TV :)

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1077
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MiSTer: MiST on Terasic DE10-nano board.

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Oct 05, 2017 7:02 pm

NML32 wrote:Strange, I’m not using any scalers and my MiSTer is connected to the same tv unless I’m using VGA.
It’s possible my MiSTer is going bad except all the other cores look fine.

Could it be my tv is NTSC?

you didn't mention which video output you use: HDMI or VGA?

ao486 is not supposed to be viewed through VGA as timings there are non-standard.

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: MiSTer: MiST on Terasic DE10-nano board.

Postby NML32 » Thu Oct 05, 2017 7:12 pm

Sorgelig wrote:
NML32 wrote:Strange, I’m not using any scalers and my MiSTer is connected to the same tv unless I’m using VGA.
It’s possible my MiSTer is going bad except all the other cores look fine.

Could it be my tv is NTSC?

you didn't mention which video output you use: HDMI or VGA?

ao486 is not supposed to be viewed through VGA as timings there are non-standard.

I’m using HDMI and the core is FPGAGen
I was explaining my MiSTer is always connected to the same TV using HDMI unless I’m using VGA then I connect MiSTer to my computer monitor

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1077
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MiSTer: MiST on Terasic DE10-nano board.

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Oct 05, 2017 7:41 pm

NML32 wrote:I’m using HDMI and the core is FPGAGen
I was explaining my MiSTer is always connected to the same TV using HDMI unless I’m using VGA then I connect MiSTer to my computer monitor

sorry for mess, my head is full of other topics :)
probably because of core metastability.. i will recompile it again later.

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: MiSTer: MiST on Terasic DE10-nano board.

Postby NML32 » Thu Oct 05, 2017 8:00 pm

Sorgelig wrote:
NML32 wrote:I’m using HDMI and the core is FPGAGen
I was explaining my MiSTer is always connected to the same TV using HDMI unless I’m using VGA then I connect MiSTer to my computer monitor

sorry for mess, my head is full of other topics :)
probably because of core metastability.. i will recompile it again later.

No problem and thanks. :cheers:

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: MiSTer: MiST on Terasic DE10-nano board.

Postby NML32 » Thu Oct 05, 2017 10:06 pm

NML32 wrote:
Sorgelig wrote:
NML32 wrote:I’m using HDMI and the core is FPGAGen
I was explaining my MiSTer is always connected to the same TV using HDMI unless I’m using VGA then I connect MiSTer to my computer monitor

sorry for mess, my head is full of other topics :)
probably because of core metastability.. i will recompile it again later.

No problem and thanks. :cheers:

Update: I think I discovered my problem.
If I have forced_scandoubler=1 set my HDMI output for fpgagen core is messed up. Shouldn't that setting only affect VGA output?

[MiSTer]
key_menu_as_rgui=0 ; set to 1 to make the MENU key map to RGUI in Minimig (e.g. for Right Amiga)
forced_scandoubler=1 ; set to 1 to run scandoubler on VGA output always (depends on core).
ypbpr=0 ; set to 1 for YPbPr on VGA output.
composite_sync=0 ; set to 1 for composite sync on HSync signal of VGA output.
vga_scaler=0 ; set to 1 to connect VGA to scaler output.
audio_48k=1 ; set to 1 for 48khz/16bit HDMI audio (96khz/16bit otherwise)

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1077
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MiSTer: MiST on Terasic DE10-nano board.

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Oct 05, 2017 10:47 pm

Ah, now i remember :)
FPGAGen has weird resolution where even lines have other length than odd lines. So, scandoubler cannot process it and produces such weird interlace-like effect.

Too many cores i worked on - cannot remember each "feature" ;)

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: MiSTer: MiST on Terasic DE10-nano board.

Postby NML32 » Sun Oct 08, 2017 6:16 pm

I bought one of these inline switches so I don't have to keep pulling the plug out of the back of my MiSTer.
Works great.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0731 ... UTF8&psc=1

on_off_switch.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1077
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MiSTer: MiST on Terasic DE10-nano board.

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Oct 08, 2017 7:20 pm

NML32 wrote:I bought one of these inline switches so I don't have to keep pulling the plug out of the back of my MiSTer.
Works great.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0731 ... UTF8&psc=1

on_off_switch.jpg

Not the best solution because power adapter still will be powered.
It's better to buy an AC outlet splitter with power switch on each outlet.

coughlanio
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2017 6:15 pm

Re: MiSTer: MiST on Terasic DE10-nano board.

Postby coughlanio » Mon Oct 09, 2017 10:57 pm

Is there an IRC channel or Discord server for MiSTer or MiSTer development? If not I'd be happy to set one up.

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1077
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MiSTer: MiST on Terasic DE10-nano board.

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Oct 09, 2017 11:08 pm

coughlanio wrote:Is there an IRC channel or Discord server for MiSTer or MiSTer development? If not I'd be happy to set one up.

I don't know what is Discord server. There is no IRC channel about MiSTer. At least there is no official one.
Actually you can discuss about MiSTer anywhere you want - you don't need to ask for permission. But if you want to ask me about MiSTer, then there only few places where you can do this: This forum, my github repository and facebook group.
I don't have time to sit on IRC or other online places and chat.

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: MiSTer: MiST on Terasic DE10-nano board.

Postby NML32 » Tue Oct 10, 2017 11:30 pm

@Sorgelig, thanks for the new cores you've added to the MiSTer library. :cheers:

fredjmh
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2016 9:58 am

Re: MiSTer: MiST on Terasic DE10-nano board.

Postby fredjmh » Wed Oct 11, 2017 8:09 pm

I just wanted to congratulate you for the amazing work you have been doing the past months.
I am particularly puzzled by the amount of cores you have ported since last week.
It is really a great work and at that speed, MiSTer will bypass very quickly what MiST was capable of (which was already great!)

I just tried the A2600 core.
Works fine. Just a small remark that the left and right keyboard keys are reversed. I dont have a joypad so I cannot say if the issue is also there.

I just started to learn on Verilog on the DE10 nano board starting from your great framework.
2 weeks ago, I assembled my SDRAM board.
It was my first experiment with SMD soldering but it went fine. I only had a small issue with the hight of the 3 header pins but it was quickly fixed.

For info, I ordered the PCB at https://aisler.net. For European people, it is also an good PCD manufacturing service. It took about 1.5 week to get it.

I dont have the IO board yet but I assume that an Arduino SD CARD module could be connected to the header pins of the DE10 directly for the second SD card reader.
Is the info/pinout available somewhere?

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1077
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MiSTer: MiST on Terasic DE10-nano board.

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Oct 11, 2017 8:24 pm

fredjmh wrote:Just a small remark that the left and right keyboard keys are reversed.

i've just checked and didn't notice it. Actually you need to define keys in joystick button settings first. Probably you've messed the keys while definition.

fredjmh wrote:I dont have the IO board yet but I assume that an Arduino SD CARD module could be connected to the header pins of the DE10 directly for the second SD card reader.
Is the info/pinout available somewhere?

Info is in I/O Board schematics PDF file. Usually arduino uses SPI-only pins while MiSTer requires all pins connected. Actually all cores currently using secondary SD card use it in SPI mode - so basically you can connect just SPI pins. May be in the future some cores will use full SD interface where SPI mode won't fit.
Actually you don't need a whole Arduino SD shield, but bare SD connector.

fredjmh
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2016 9:58 am

Re: MiSTer: MiST on Terasic DE10-nano board.

Postby fredjmh » Wed Oct 11, 2017 9:49 pm

I just saw the readme after I had posted the message
Indeed, it must be my default joystick configurationI then...
I did not realized that joystick configuration was shared across the various cores?
I guess that when it is available in the top level menu then it is specific for the core but when it is one level deeper (where another core can be loaded) then it is the shared one.

I will try this weekend to connect the SD PCB I had for my Arduino (it is not a shield). Thanks.


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest