MSX core

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

GoingDown
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2019 7:20 am

Re: MSX core

Postby GoingDown » Sat Apr 06, 2019 4:10 am

I tested this with Lenovo Thinkpad laptop (using XEV, not by any game) and indeed, it seems that if left+up ḱeys are pressed, space key does nothing...
If up+right is pressed, then space works.

So at leas on my laptop this is KR issue.

Glaurung
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2019 6:22 am

Re: MSX core

Postby Glaurung » Sat Apr 06, 2019 5:24 am

GoingDown wrote:I tested this with Lenovo Thinkpad laptop (using XEV, not by any game) and indeed, it seems that if left+up ḱeys are pressed, space key does nothing...
If up+right is pressed, then space works.

So at leas on my laptop this is KR issue.



ok, so it's seems that is a bug.
The strange thing is that happens with another fpga (Zx-UNO)
In fact is annoying because, this 3 keys combination is very used when you play with keyboard (jumping,shooting,etc etc)

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4919
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MSX core

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Apr 06, 2019 8:29 am

Glaurung wrote:The strange thing is that happens with another fpga (Zx-UNO)

It just shows the issue is in core code. Original core is the same.
I'm not familiar with MSX. May be even original HW has the same issue. Some retro computers had keyboards with some limitation. That's why joysticks at that time were popular.
I remember when i've got my first PC, i've forgot what is joystick since keyboard was perfect.

this is original developer of MSX core:
http://gnogni.altervista.org/
You can try to find with him what is the root cause of this issue.

Glaurung
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2019 6:22 am

Re: MSX core

Postby Glaurung » Sat Apr 06, 2019 1:55 pm

Sorgelig wrote:
Glaurung wrote:The strange thing is that happens with another fpga (Zx-UNO)

It just shows the issue is in core code. Original core is the same.
I'm not familiar with MSX. May be even original HW has the same issue. Some retro computers had keyboards with some limitation. That's why joysticks at that time were popular.
I remember when i've got my first PC, i've forgot what is joystick since keyboard was perfect.

this is original developer of MSX core:
http://gnogni.altervista.org/
You can try to find with him what is the root cause of this issue.



I have the original machine, it hasn't this issue.
I will send him an e-mail.
I hope this bug will be easy to fix.

KdL
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2019 3:49 pm

Re: MSX core

Postby KdL » Sat Apr 06, 2019 4:01 pm

Glaurung wrote:
Sorgelig wrote:
Glaurung wrote:The strange thing is that happens with another fpga (Zx-UNO)

It just shows the issue is in core code. Original core is the same.
I'm not familiar with MSX. May be even original HW has the same issue. Some retro computers had keyboards with some limitation. That's why joysticks at that time were popular.
I remember when i've got my first PC, i've forgot what is joystick since keyboard was perfect.

this is original developer of MSX core:
http://gnogni.altervista.org/
You can try to find with him what is the root cause of this issue.



I have the original machine, it hasn't this issue.
I will send him an e-mail.
I hope this bug will be easy to fix.



Hi everyone. This is a problem that only concerns membrane keyboards. Generally a gaming keyboard works properly.
To work around this problem, use "WIN key" instead of "SPACE BAR" as an alternative key to fire.

Glaurung
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2019 6:22 am

Re: MSX core

Postby Glaurung » Sat Apr 06, 2019 5:18 pm

His ansswer:

This bug was already solved using up+left+winlogo as alternative combination.



PS. it is a issue that affects all the membrane keyboards, generally a gaming keyboard works properly.

Best regards,
KdL


:coffe:

:shrug:

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4919
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MSX core

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Apr 06, 2019 5:51 pm

Interesting issue.
How about ao486 core - is this issue present with the same keyboard?
I'm using Logitech K400r keyboard and it seems it's not a problem to press left+up and then space. In ao486 and MSX(command prompt) i see reaction on space key while holding left+up

Glaurung
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2019 6:22 am

Re: MSX core

Postby Glaurung » Sun Apr 07, 2019 3:57 am

Weird but true, is just a strange keyboard issue.
Not related to MSX core.
must buy a better keyboard

https://steamcommunity.com/app/332200/d ... 743/?ctp=2

KdL
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2019 3:49 pm

Re: MSX core

Postby KdL » Sun Apr 07, 2019 4:44 am


z00pster
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2019 10:23 pm

Re: MSX core

Postby z00pster » Tue Apr 09, 2019 8:31 pm

A lot of people are using the fantastic SofaRun program to load DSK and ROM files within the MSX core.

https://www.msx.org/forum/msx-talk/soft ... sed?page=0

To display long file names it's necessary to store files in a zip archive and then have SofaRun extract the file and run the file. I wonder if there is a way to speed up the zip extraction process on the core? Even with CPU speed Turbo mode enabled zip extraction seems slower than a normal MSX 2 using a Megaflashrom SD interface.

An alternative would be to enable direct rom or DSK file loading from the OSD either via the main or secondary SD slot.

Appreciate this is a feature request so perhaps should be logged on GitHub.

z00pster
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2019 10:23 pm

Re: MSX core

Postby z00pster » Wed Apr 10, 2019 7:46 am

z00pster wrote:To display long file names it's necessary to store files in a zip archive and then have SofaRun extract the file and run the file. I wonder if there is a way to speed up the zip extraction process on the core? Even with CPU speed Turbo mode enabled zip extraction seems slower than a normal MSX 2 using a Megaflashrom SD interface.


Quick update I tested using the secondary SD interface on the IO board and file system performance - including zip extraction - is much faster and more inline with a real MSX 2 (especially with turbo mode enabled).

Glaurung
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2019 6:22 am

Re: MSX core

Postby Glaurung » Wed Apr 10, 2019 9:00 am

Sofarun is a fantastic filemanager that works very good with MSX roms.
Just select the game , enter, and you are playing.Doesnt need to type any load command.

It's not necessary the second SD, you can create a vhd in the manin SD, and works nice.
The only game I cannot run is a MSX2+ game called blade.

This MSX core works awesome on mister.

z00pster
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2019 10:23 pm

Re: MSX core

Postby z00pster » Wed Apr 10, 2019 9:59 am

Glaurung wrote:Sofarun is a fantastic filemanager that works very good with MSX roms.
Just select the game , enter, and you are playing.Doesnt need to type any load command.

It's not necessary the second SD, you can create a vhd in the manin SD, and works nice.
The only game I cannot run is a MSX2+ game called blade.

This MSX core works awesome on mister.


I knew about the VHD option but the file access and extraction performance on the VHD didn't appear to be as good as using the second SD. It may just be the SD card difference. Will do some more testing.

The MSX core is awesome and it's making me even consider selling my real MSX 2!

Glaurung
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2019 6:22 am

Re: MSX core

Postby Glaurung » Wed Apr 10, 2019 10:15 am

z00pster wrote:
Glaurung wrote:The MSX core is awesome and it's making me even consider selling my real MSX 2!


Yes works awesmoe.
I can't notice any difference with my original msx machine when I play my favorite game.
With raspberry I notice too much input lag, or screen issues.
Some dsk, doesn't run (or I don't know how to run it) but every rom works perfect, like the original. :mrgreen:

Glaurung
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2019 6:22 am

Re: MSX core

Postby Glaurung » Tue Apr 23, 2019 5:48 pm

Update msx bios:

3.41 (mister) to 3.71

There a ra a lot of new updates with new features and new games support 3.71 from SKL (OCM), I have downloades the OCM files, but is not in.bin format
I dont know how to genereate the bin file from the ".pld " and .plof" files from this files.

Someone knows how to update ?
How it works with mister? just replace the bin file?

Its an interesting update, you can choose the keyboard layout (a lot of new languages),and improved new games support.

Thanks.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4919
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MSX core

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Apr 23, 2019 6:23 pm

Glaurung wrote:3.41 (mister) to 3.71

not correct.
MiSTer's version of 3.62 in terms of VDP. There were some other minor unrelated changes between 3.4x and 3.62, so they weren't ported.
Keyboard layouts most likely won't work as MiSTer handles the keyboard on Linux side and expects US international layout.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4919
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MSX core

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Apr 23, 2019 6:28 pm

Glaurung wrote:I dont know how to genereate the bin file from the ".pld " and .plof" files from this files.

you can't.
You need to port the changes in source files then generate (compile) new rbf file

barbaro00
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 10:34 am

Re: MSX core

Postby barbaro00 » Fri Sep 06, 2019 9:43 am

Hello,

I love this core!!!

¿Is it possible to load cas files from maxduiono or from a tape?
I would be awesome...

Thank you.

hyperterminal
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 130
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 1:43 pm

Re: MSX core

Postby hyperterminal » Wed Sep 11, 2019 5:48 pm

I have a problem with the latest MSX core. My VHD image doesn't autoboot any more. I think that both the filename and the path of the image are correct. When the core is loaded, without another image chosen, I get it to load just by selecting reset from the OSD. Plus the image did work with previous releases. It doesn't matter if I turn the new option to reset the MSX on mount to on or off. Maybe the bug has something to do with this commit? https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/MSX_MiS ... f8bd3a732f

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4919
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MSX core

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Sep 11, 2019 7:36 pm

I've tested on VHD image i'm using - it boots ok..

User avatar
Xtro
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 11:47 am
Location: Spain

Re: MSX core

Postby Xtro » Wed Sep 11, 2019 7:53 pm

Noticed that in Invasion of the Zombie Monsters game the drum channel during intro does not sound, in mist version of msx core sound is OK. Maybe a problem with channel volume? Other games like Goonies 'R' good Enough also exhibit weird sound. This problem was present in older versions of the core, but mist core works ok.

vanfanel
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 118
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 10:19 pm
Location: Salamanca, España

Re: MSX core

Postby vanfanel » Wed Sep 11, 2019 7:58 pm

I can confirm the missing drums during the intro of "Invasion of the Zombie Monsters". The game is available for free here:

http://www.relevovideogames.com/wp-content/files/RLV904MSX.zip

Also, "The Goonies" by Kralizek (NOT the Konami game) sounds very weird...
Both games only seem to have audio problems on the MiSTer, so it may be a port-related problem.

Glaurung
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2019 6:22 am

Re: MSX core

Postby Glaurung » Thu Sep 12, 2019 6:29 am

hyperterminal wrote:I have a problem with the latest MSX core. My VHD image doesn't autoboot any more. I think that both the filename and the path of the image are correct. When the core is loaded, without another image chosen, I get it to load just by selecting reset from the OSD. Plus the image did work with previous releases. It doesn't matter if I turn the new option to reset the MSX on mount to on or off. Maybe the bug has something to do with this commit? https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/MSX_MiS ... f8bd3a732f


The VHD works good on the MSX.
Maybe the SD card has been corrupted,or the VHD .
I allways have a backup of my VHD MSX unit.

Create another VHD and copy all the files for the old VHD to the new VHD .
Yo can do this in 2 minutes.

I allways use SOFARUN for run games.It works good, and is easy and fast GUI.

https://www.louthrax.net/mgr/


The ROM games about 99% wotks well. BUT A LOT of tape games and dsk FILES doesnt RUN at all.
Sometimes the same game doesnt run in dsk or tape, and run in ROM file.Strange.
I dont know if its mister fault or the OCM MSX FPGA that mister is based, that doesnt run this tape games.

Playing Golvellius2 in MSX2+ right know, GREAT GAME and exactly the same gameplay as original cartadige.

:cheers:

hyperterminal
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 130
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 1:43 pm

Re: MSX core

Postby hyperterminal » Thu Sep 12, 2019 6:16 pm

Sorgelig wrote:I've tested on VHD image i'm using - it boots ok..

I found the problem why my VHD image "MSX/boot.vhd" was no longer auto booting after upgrading to the latest core. I had to rename it to msx.vhd and move it to the root folder of the SDHC card. Looks like subfolders are no longer supported for auto boot.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4919
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MSX core

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Sep 12, 2019 6:43 pm

hyperterminal wrote:
Sorgelig wrote:I've tested on VHD image i'm using - it boots ok..

I found the problem why my VHD image "MSX/boot.vhd" was no longer auto booting after upgrading to the latest core. I had to rename it to msx.vhd and move it to the root folder of the SDHC card. Looks like subfolders are no longer supported for auto boot.

I've just tried MSX/boot.vhd - it's automatically mounted.


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: alex1, kolla and 3 guests