MiSTer for Dummies

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3120
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MiSTer for Dummies

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Nov 23, 2017 2:44 am

You need to finish SD card preparation without error to move to next steps. SD card has to have special layout in order to work in MiSTer. Manual formatting might be not fully compatible.
Utility works well under Windows 10 64bit. May be you use some resident app like antivirus or other administration kind apps which could prevent to work with SD card.

walterspax
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2017 9:38 pm

Re: MiSTer for Dummies

Postby walterspax » Fri Nov 24, 2017 6:12 pm

sorry for stepping in here.

I have similar problems.
The SD card installation worked, but I got no picture without connecting the DE10-Nano via the USB OTG (micro) to my PC.
After connecting I got a picture on my monitor, unplugging the cable = no picture, replugging = picture.
Same with the Linux delivered with the DE10.

Tried to plug a keyboard, but no picture, keyboard seems working (numlock).
Do I need an active hub?

Any ideas?

Thanks
Stephan

JimDrew
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 758
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 5:23 pm

Re: MiSTer for Dummies

Postby JimDrew » Sat Nov 25, 2017 3:36 pm

Sounds like a grounding issue. Is the power supply plugged into the same power strip that the monitor is plugged into?
I am the flux ninja

bernouilli
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 101
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 5:02 pm
Location: Paris/France

Re: MiSTer for Dummies

Postby bernouilli » Sat Nov 25, 2017 7:40 pm

Why do you connect the board to your pc using the micro connector?

walterspax
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2017 9:38 pm

Re: MiSTer for Dummies

Postby walterspax » Mon Nov 27, 2017 8:52 am

thanks for answering.

@JimDrew: I only have one power socket in my room, no problems with other stuff so far. I'll try a power cord from anther room. But this can't be my solution. :-)

@bernouilli: Why not? The DE10 manual says, I can see the board as storage device when connected to a PC.

bernouilli
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 101
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 5:02 pm
Location: Paris/France

Re: MiSTer for Dummies

Postby bernouilli » Mon Nov 27, 2017 12:33 pm

walterspax wrote:thanks for answering.

@JimDrew: I only have one power socket in my room, no problems with other stuff so far. I'll try a power cord from anther room. But this can't be my solution. :-)

@bernouilli: Why not? The DE10 manual says, I can see the board as storage device when connected to a PC.

Yes, you're right, it can be connected, I was just wondering why did you get the idea to connect it toi the pc to see if it solves your problem.
Have you tried another hdmi cable ?
When I first tried my de10, I couldn't get a picture. I had to change the hdmi cable to have a picture, althought the hdmi cable was fine with other devices. I should find this cable and see if connecting the board to the pc solves the problem.

walterspax
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2017 9:38 pm

Re: MiSTer for Dummies

Postby walterspax » Mon Nov 27, 2017 1:01 pm

the connection to the PC was not a try to solve the problem, the picture was a side effect.

I tried two HDMI cables, different manufacturers, but both cheap China stuff.
These are working with my notebook and different Raspberrys.
In the meantime I ordered another one and wait for it.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3120
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MiSTer for Dummies

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Nov 27, 2017 1:17 pm

I've just tried to connect DE10-nano to PC through MicroUSB as a device just to check if DE10-nano is powered from MicroUSB. Nope. There is no power taken from MicroUSB. So, i have no clue how connection to PC may affect the HDMI output.

walterspax
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2017 9:38 pm

Re: MiSTer for Dummies

Postby walterspax » Mon Nov 27, 2017 1:48 pm

very mystic things are going on at my place.

Just tried this:
Connect the DE10 with HDMI cable and 5V wall plug -> no picture
plugged in the USB cable from PC to MicroUSB -> picture
unplugged the 5V wall plug -> still a picture (DE10 is still 'on', now only with HDMI and MicroUSB)

Tried it without first plugging the 5V wall plug -> nothing

walterspax
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2017 9:38 pm

Re: MiSTer for Dummies

Postby walterspax » Wed Nov 29, 2017 3:43 pm

problem solved.

fxcking cheap HDMI cables.
I bought a 'deleyCON' cable and now having instant picture without gambling with MicroUSB.

Thanks for the support.

bernouilli
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 101
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 5:02 pm
Location: Paris/France

Re: MiSTer for Dummies

Postby bernouilli » Wed Nov 29, 2017 6:02 pm

May be there are some cables with a wire missing or something like that?
It would be a good thing to figure this out.

JimDrew
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 758
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 5:23 pm

Re: MiSTer for Dummies

Postby JimDrew » Wed Nov 29, 2017 11:51 pm

Sounds like maybe the outer metal shield is not connected to the internal ground.
I am the flux ninja

error1
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2017 6:23 pm

Re: MiSTer for Dummies

Postby error1 » Fri Feb 09, 2018 4:15 pm

I shelved my first de10-nano for a while after lots of fruitless troubleshooting, I couldn't figure out what was wrong with it.

But seeing all the progress made the last couple months on making the HDMI output more compatible with various displays I gave it another go and still couldn't get it to work. It showed more signs of life though, and I saw the menu for a split second before I lost video again.

Finally, last week I broke down and ordered a spare de10-nano board. I am happy to report that the new one works flawlessly with my self-built memory board and everything. Currently playing around with ao486 after memtesting my ram board :)

I still wonder what is wrong with the old de10-nano though, it is still able to boot the included linux image and I get video from that one.. If I run the most recent MiSTer image and looking at the serial console output it looks like it loads the RBF fine and it responds to keypresses since i can see the OSD debug messages. I just don't get HDMI video. Maybe I should get started on building an IO board to see if VGA would work :D

How did your broken de10-nanos die Sorgelig? Have you been able to repair them?

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3120
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MiSTer for Dummies

Postby Sorgelig » Fri Feb 09, 2018 11:39 pm

My DE10-nano died beyond repair. Because of bad luck (and may be because i was sick) around 16V went to FPGA GPIOs - one connector was misaligned. So FPGA has died.
It was continue to die even after i removed the overvoltage. Probably it's possible to repair by re-balling the main chip - but cost of FPGA chip and re-balling procedure will be the same or even more than new DE10-nano.

Anyway, i've bought the new DE10-nano already.

About your HDMI problem - may be it will be fixed soon. I've managed to disable HDMI power save, so i will release updated cores later after finishing new API.

flenst111
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 11:23 am
Location: near Flensburg Germany
Contact:

Re: MiSTer for Dummies

Postby flenst111 » Tue Feb 20, 2018 1:35 pm

gagadagatika wrote:
kolla wrote:
gagadagatika wrote:

I like to use gparted for formatting partitions on linux, it gets the job done very easily and quickly.

The Advanced guide uses the sd installer script, which should be pretty straightforward. It won't format the fat partition, but you should be able to do that with gparted or any other linux formatting tool (e.g. mkfs)


I 'm a Linux User too. I cloned the Linux_Image_creator_MiSTer and used create_img.sh and found a new linux.img file in the directory. The sd installer script create_sd.sh is'nt available anymore . I think, so I have to know how I have to prepare the partitions on the sd-card and copy the images (dd ... ?). Sorry, but I don't find the tutorial therefore anywhere. Perhaps somebody can give me a tip how I could do it.
Thank you.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3120
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MiSTer for Dummies

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Feb 20, 2018 2:58 pm

New layout is pretty simple:
Part1: Start from 1MB till the end of SD card minus 1MB at the end. Type: exFAT
Part2: Starts from last 1MB of SD card with size of 1MB. Type: 0xA2

dd u-boot binary to Part2.

If you will create an universal script detecting SD card size, then share it - i will include it into new Linux distro.

alanswx
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 4:34 pm

Re: MiSTer for Dummies

Postby alanswx » Mon Feb 26, 2018 3:52 pm

Sorgelig wrote:If you will create an universal script detecting SD card size, then share it - i will include it into new Linux distro.


I modified your original create_sd.sh to use sfdisk to find the size of the flash card:
sfdisk -s

Then it creates the two partitions. I needed an extra 1MB at the end for some reason, otherwise it wouldn't format correctly. I un-rar'd the distribution, and used those files to populate the uboot and exfat section of the card. I am not sure which repo you want this in.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Gandor
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2010 7:47 pm
Location: Northern Kentucky

Re: MiSTer for Dummies

Postby Gandor » Thu Mar 01, 2018 4:17 pm

Is there anyway to test the FPGA to see if it is working correctly?

I followed the wiki guide (redid it several times) but all I get after selecting the NES core is a black screen.
No matter what key (including F12) I press nothing but a black screen.
The same applies to the Colecovision core.

My setup includes the 10-nano and just the memory expansion (I have the RTC and IO boards but didn't install them).
I'm able to run the memory test.
I also tried several HDMI cable but that didn't make any difference.

Any suggestions?

Thanks

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3120
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MiSTer for Dummies

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Mar 01, 2018 6:14 pm

Probably HDMI goes to sleep mode. It happens with some TVs, especially if HDMI switch/splitter is used. It will be fixed soon.

olin
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:57 pm

Re: MiSTer for Dummies

Postby olin » Fri Mar 02, 2018 9:31 pm

Gandor wrote:Is there anyway to test the FPGA to see if it is working correctly?
...

but all I get after selecting the NES core is a black screen.
...


If you see the menu on the screen and can also run the memtest then your FPGA is working correctly. What you can try is to use some older releases of the cores. Always ensure that the MiSTer_main (the part that runs on the Linux) has the same version as the rest of the ALL cores (which run on FPGA). That is: the release date of the Mister matches the release date of the cores - that way you'll ensure compatibility between cores and MiSTer.

What else you can try:
* connect the USB cable between DE10n and your PC and observe the log output in a serial terminal. When you press F12 there should be a text printed reading "Menu is now visible" etc.
* Plug in your IO Board (turn DE10n off before you do that) and when the NES core is 'running' press the OSD button on IO Board. Also observe the log output from the terminal.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3120
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MiSTer for Dummies

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Mar 03, 2018 7:31 am

Technically it's impossible to match MiSTer binary with all cores.
So, the release of MiSTer binary should be on the same date as core or NEWER.
Newer core versions may require newer MiSTer binary - usually i write the note about it.

awestyn
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 10:02 pm

Re: MiSTer for Dummies

Postby awestyn » Tue Mar 06, 2018 10:54 pm

Anyone have suggestions as to which are some good rotating LCD monitors to use with MiSTer?

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1221
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: MiSTer for Dummies

Postby Newsdee » Tue Mar 06, 2018 11:23 pm

I use a second hand Eizo 19". I had luck finding a couple of 4:3 panels at very good discount.

Gandor
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2010 7:47 pm
Location: Northern Kentucky

Re: MiSTer for Dummies

Postby Gandor » Thu Apr 26, 2018 8:09 pm

Finally had some time and tried the install again.
I found that with the installer software if you select Full Install it actually doesn't install the needed files :shrug: .

I formatted the SD first (no quick format) and after selecting Full Install, writing was done very fast and there were no files on my SD card.
Only after selecting update boot+files did it start writing something and noticed the files.
I wonder in the past if I had an incomplete setup and Full Install didn't fix it.
I copied the NES core and some games, booted the core and was able to play some games. [smilie=greencolorz4_pdt_12.gif]


Return to “MiSTer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests