FPGA64 - C64

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

Lroby74
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 161
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 8:35 pm

Re: FPGA64 - C64

Postby Lroby74 » Sun Mar 17, 2019 9:50 pm

With lastest core, my friend has a strange problem, on starting C64 Basic show something about 6kb free ram and programs crashes... with previous core (last without kernal change option in OSD) is all ok.
He had tried with many MicroSD (brand and dimensions), many adapters and doesn't know how to do again..
Some ideas please?

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1331
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: FPGA64 - C64

Postby slingshot » Sun Mar 17, 2019 10:27 pm

Lroby74 wrote:With lastest core, my friend has a strange problem, on starting C64 Basic show something about 6kb free ram and programs crashes... with previous core (last without kernal change option in OSD) is all ok.
He had tried with many MicroSD (brand and dimensions), many adapters and doesn't know how to do again..
Some ideas please?


In both NTSC and PAL modes?
He can try to build a core from the git sources, maybe just some strange synthesis issue.

Lroby74
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 161
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 8:35 pm

Re: FPGA64 - C64

Postby Lroby74 » Sun Mar 17, 2019 11:01 pm

slingshot wrote:In both NTSC and PAL modes?
He can try to build a core from the git sources, maybe just some strange synthesis issue.


Yes in both, he tried same core builded about 1 hours ago from sources and do same,
this is reason because i am asking here some help

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1331
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: FPGA64 - C64

Postby slingshot » Sun Mar 17, 2019 11:30 pm

Lroby74 wrote:
slingshot wrote:In both NTSC and PAL modes?
He can try to build a core from the git sources, maybe just some strange synthesis issue.


Yes in both, he tried same core builded about 1 hours ago from sources and do same,
this is reason because i am asking here some help

If he can compile, then try to replace:
https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-boar ... t.vhd#L849

SDRAM_CLK <= not clk_ram;
to
SDRAM_CLK <= clk_ram;

e.g. remove the 'not' clause.

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 780
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: FPGA64 - C64

Postby DanyPPC » Mon Mar 18, 2019 9:03 am

I own also a Mistica but no problem with latest C64 core.

ManuFerHi
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:20 am

Re: FPGA64 - C64

Postby ManuFerHi » Mon Mar 18, 2019 10:39 am

it is true that it fails in some units, with the change that says slingshot I have tried and it is solved.

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 780
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: FPGA64 - C64

Postby DanyPPC » Mon Mar 18, 2019 2:43 pm

Confirm the problem on another Mistica recently purchased and arrived today.
Used old C64 core all is ok, but new core needs fix.

Thank you very much if someone can compile the latest core with Slingshot suggested fix.
I'm only a standard user.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1331
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: FPGA64 - C64

Postby slingshot » Mon Mar 18, 2019 3:52 pm

DanyPPC wrote:I'm only a standard user.

Upgrade yourself :)

ManuFerHi
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:20 am

Re: FPGA64 - C64

Postby ManuFerHi » Mon Mar 18, 2019 5:23 pm

Here it is compiled with SDRAM_CLK <= clk_ram; , tested and works well.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Lroby74
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 161
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 8:35 pm

Re: FPGA64 - C64

Postby Lroby74 » Mon Mar 18, 2019 5:34 pm

slingshot wrote:
Lroby74 wrote:
slingshot wrote:In both NTSC and PAL modes?
He can try to build a core from the git sources, maybe just some strange synthesis issue.


Yes in both, he tried same core builded about 1 hours ago from sources and do same,
this is reason because i am asking here some help

If he can compile, then try to replace:
https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-boar ... t.vhd#L849

SDRAM_CLK <= not clk_ram;
to
SDRAM_CLK <= clk_ram;

e.g. remove the 'not' clause.


Thank you very much for helped my friend to solve his issue, and thank you Manuel for compiled It

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 780
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: FPGA64 - C64

Postby DanyPPC » Mon Mar 18, 2019 5:44 pm

Thanks ManuFerHi, you are our saver !
Thanks Slingshot for the fix !

:cheers:

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1331
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: FPGA64 - C64

Postby slingshot » Tue Mar 19, 2019 9:34 am

Here's an updated version with changed SDRAM clocking:
https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-bina ... 190319.rbf
And also 1351 mouse support. But as I see, this mouse had a very limited resolution, so movement is either slower than usual (I've chosen this), or very jerky. Not the best for Operation Wolf.

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 780
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: FPGA64 - C64

Postby DanyPPC » Tue Mar 19, 2019 9:59 am

Thanks Slingshot, I had to test new mouse option.

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 780
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: FPGA64 - C64

Postby DanyPPC » Tue Mar 19, 2019 1:49 pm

Tested the new core with mouse support, all is ok. Played Arkanoid and Arkanoid II

In the meanwhile I tested various cores on the latest MISTICA. All work properly except for Minimig. I think the new sd-ram has problems with this core like C64 one.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1331
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: FPGA64 - C64

Postby slingshot » Tue Mar 19, 2019 3:07 pm

DanyPPC wrote:Tested the new core with mouse support, all is ok. Played Arkanoid and Arkanoid II

In the meanwhile I tested various cores on the latest MISTICA. All work properly except for Minimig. I think the new sd-ram has problems with this core like C64 one.

Minimig wasn't modified for a while. But it's possible that the latest patches in Rok's repo (dev branch) are a cure for this.

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 780
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: FPGA64 - C64

Postby DanyPPC » Tue Mar 19, 2019 3:20 pm

I sent pm to ManuFerHi and he told me that the problem could be the power supply used.
So I have to do some more tests and report him and here if I find a solution.

Yesterday I tested the new MISTICA unit with the cables of my old MISTICA and I noticed no problems. But today I tested the unit with a standard USB power supply (no brand) so the problem could be this.

I bought the new unit for my brother so I have to wait him for the tests.

Thanks for your attention and support.

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 780
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: FPGA64 - C64

Postby DanyPPC » Tue Mar 19, 2019 7:44 pm

Ok, from further tests at my brother's home Minimig Core works well on new MISTICA, The problem was the power supply.

I noticed indeed another strange issue both on MIST/MISTICA: if I start the defauit workbench 3.1 hardfile configuration and then I try to switch to others (1, 2) configurations regarding simple A500 Kick 1.3 or A600 Kick 2.0 then I cannot access to the menu (f12) or middle button of the fpga.

:shrug:

Maybe a problem with latest firmware upgrade ?

Lroby74
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 161
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 8:35 pm

Re: FPGA64 - C64

Postby Lroby74 » Tue Mar 19, 2019 8:16 pm

DanyPPC wrote:if I start the defauit workbench 3.1 hardfile configuration and then I try to switch to others (1, 2) configurations regarding simple A500 Kick 1.3 or A600 Kick 2.0 then I cannot access to the menu (f12) or middle button of the fpga.

:shrug:

Maybe a problem with latest firmware upgrade ?


Nope, you can't access OSD menú until when Mist / Mistica finished to load other saved configuration, just wait few seconds and you can open OSD again..

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 780
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: FPGA64 - C64

Postby DanyPPC » Tue Mar 19, 2019 8:33 pm

I waited one minute :shrug:

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 780
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: FPGA64 - C64

Postby DanyPPC » Tue Mar 19, 2019 8:53 pm

Tested on a new SD card with only Amiga Core. The problem persist: is not possible to access the menu after switching from a configuration to another one.

For example from a kick 1.3 ECS to an A1200 24 MB ram and hardfile img.

Can someone test on its Mist ?
Thanks

User avatar
retrofun
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 3:12 pm

Re: FPGA64 - C64

Postby retrofun » Tue Mar 19, 2019 10:25 pm

Works fine for me on my MiST with fw 20190303 and minimig core 20180525 (the dev beta release 1.2.3).

Switching from A500/OCS/1.3/0.5MB Chipmem/0.5MB Fastmen to A1200/AGA/3.1/2MB Chipmem/24MB Fastmem and back. Sometimes after switching config the AMiGA doesn't start/hangs/gurus. Reloading the Kickstart file fixes this.

Also tried my A1200 config with a hardfile image. Works for me.

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 780
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: FPGA64 - C64

Postby DanyPPC » Wed Mar 20, 2019 10:45 am

Nothing to do :(

Tryied to remake configuration, do not use an hardfile but simple A500 / A600 / A1200 configurations.
When I try to switch between these ones I cannot access to menù anymore, with F12 or Middle Button.

Latest 1.2.3 beta minimig aga core and firmware 190303.

Tested even with previous minimig core, but I remember that the exchange between configurations worked.

I think a firmware issue :shrug:


DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 780
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: FPGA64 - C64

Postby DanyPPC » Wed Mar 20, 2019 12:44 pm

Many thanks Slingshot, now all work as due. :cheers:

User avatar
retrofun
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 3:12 pm

Re: FPGA64 - C64

Postby retrofun » Wed Mar 20, 2019 10:37 pm

Doh - forgot that I had flashed a self compiled firmware on my MiST... Sorry. :(

Tried again. Can confirm that it doesn't work with firmware file 190303 from the github repo, can confirm it works when recompiled.


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests