Amiga/PCE etc cores and OSSC.

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Kujako
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 7:14 am

Amiga/PCE etc cores and OSSC.

Postby Kujako » Mon Aug 06, 2018 2:48 pm

The wiki for upscalers is a bit out of date, anyone have any experience, positive or otherwise, with the MiST running through the OSSC to a PC monitor? Looking for a better solution than what I have now (though it's working well enough).

User avatar
Higgy
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: Amiga/PCE etc cores and OSSC.

Postby Higgy » Tue Aug 07, 2018 7:42 pm

Not OSSC but great stuff is happening with the cheap (<€20) GBS-8200/8220 upscaler.

There is custom firmware which fixes loads of issues with the original Chinese firmware. You have to do a bit of soldering but the parts are cheap.

https://github.com/ramapcsx2/gbs-contro ... e-Hardware

Kujako
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 7:14 am

Re: Amiga/PCE etc cores and OSSC.

Postby Kujako » Tue Aug 07, 2018 8:11 pm

Higgy wrote:Not OSSC but great stuff is happening with the cheap (<€20) GBS-8200/8220 upscaler.

There is custom firmware which fixes loads of issues with the original Chinese firmware. You have to do a bit of soldering but the parts are cheap.

https://github.com/ramapcsx2/gbs-contro ... e-Hardware


Interesting, but the lack of DVI/HDMI output is a deal breaker on the Gonbes boards.

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1202
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: Amiga/PCE etc cores and OSSC.

Postby Newsdee » Thu Aug 09, 2018 1:34 am

There is a newer version of those GBS boards that output HDMI. I have not yet tried them myself, though.

javidoom
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 3:16 pm

Re: Amiga/PCE etc cores and OSSC.

Postby javidoom » Thu Aug 09, 2018 7:28 am

I'm using Mist through an OSSC and it works like a charm on my Asus 26" monitor.

Only the Amiga core, sometimes... I need to reboot the mist 3 or 4 times until OSSC recognizes the signal and its shown on the monitor... don't know exactly why...

But the image is awesome, from Scart to HDMI. :)

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2906
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Amiga/PCE etc cores and OSSC.

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Aug 09, 2018 7:51 am

1) OSSC is not a scaler actually. It's scan doubler/tripler. It cannot even scale to non-2x non-3x resolutions. It has no frame buffer and won't be able to be a real scaler.
2) OSSC ridiculously expensive. It's more expensive than DE10-nano! So, it's absolutely waste of money.
3) What OSSC does is either already included in the cores (scan doubler) or can be included basically for free.

OSSC doesn't solve the main problem of retro video: convert the frame rate and screen resolution to standard one acceptable by any DVI/HDMI TV/Monitor.

Kujako
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 7:14 am

Re: Amiga/PCE etc cores and OSSC.

Postby Kujako » Thu Aug 09, 2018 2:25 pm

javidoom wrote:But the image is awesome, from Scart to HDMI. :)

What are you using for the VGA to SCART (from MiST to OSSC)?
Sorgelig wrote:OSSC is not a scaler actually. It's scan doubler/tripler.

Understood, and it works on scan lines rather than frames like the Framemeister. Still debating which is preferable for me overall... if the Framemeister had VGA input I think that would be the end of the it, don't really want to deal with VGA to SCART to Framemeister to HDMI. Too many wires and power supplies.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2906
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Amiga/PCE etc cores and OSSC.

Postby Sorgelig » Thu Aug 09, 2018 4:59 pm

VGA output which is not really VGA - this is the main problem of MiST. You will bury int into mess of wires from scalers and converters and still will have video issues.

javidoom
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 3:16 pm

Re: Amiga/PCE etc cores and OSSC.

Postby javidoom » Thu Aug 09, 2018 5:10 pm

Kujako wrote:
javidoom wrote:But the image is awesome, from Scart to HDMI. :)

What are you using for the VGA to SCART (from MiST to OSSC)?


Yep :)

Kujako
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 7:14 am

Re: Amiga/PCE etc cores and OSSC.

Postby Kujako » Thu Aug 09, 2018 5:55 pm

javidoom wrote:
Kujako wrote:
javidoom wrote:But the image is awesome, from Scart to HDMI. :)

What are you using for the VGA to SCART (from MiST to OSSC)?


Yep :)

But what specific VGA to SCART option are you using? Home made cable, Arcadeforge, etc?

Sorgelig wrote:VGA output which is not really VGA - this is the main problem of MiST. You will bury int into mess of wires from scalers and converters and still will have video issues.

Yeah... and I may opt to just ignore the issue, since overall it does seem to work with my current PC monitor (2560x1440). I can live without hooking it to my TV.

javidoom
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 3:16 pm

Re: Amiga/PCE etc cores and OSSC.

Postby javidoom » Thu Aug 09, 2018 5:59 pm

The one inthe wiki.

Homemade.

Vga to scart, with audio.

Kujako
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 7:14 am

Re: Amiga/PCE etc cores and OSSC.

Postby Kujako » Thu Aug 09, 2018 8:27 pm

javidoom wrote:The one inthe wiki.

Homemade.

Vga to scart, with audio.


Thanks. I've considered going that route, but it turns out I'm really lazy...

User avatar
DrOG
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 436
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: Amiga/PCE etc cores and OSSC.

Postby DrOG » Sat Aug 11, 2018 4:25 am

Hi! A bit OFF, as it is not related to OSSC, but if you want HDMI output with sound and already has a minimig VGA to SCART cable, I recommend this solution:

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Kebidu- ... 4c4dQZMwUK

It's a cheap SCART to HDMI converter, and I think is has a decent quality compared to the price. I tested it only briefly, but I'm satisfied with it's performance so far.
It handles standard PAL and NTSC inputs (720x576@50Hz and 640x480@60Hz), so most (all?) cores which have interlaced mode (15kHz=scandoubler disabled) work.
It has a stereo analog (3,5" jack) and coaxial digital audio output, and does HDMI passthrough also.
With a cheap passive RCA to SCART adaptor it handles composite video as well, but in this case picture quality is weaker of course.

You can choose using the push buttons from the outputs below (a small OSD shows the input standard and the parameters of the video output):
800x600@60Hz
1024x768@60Hz
1280x1024@60Hz
1280x720@50Hz
1280x720@60Hz
1920x1080@50Hz
1920x1080@60Hz

It does frame rate conversion, but has no aspect ratio setting option.

It's better alternative in aspect of performance, compatibility and quality compared to Gonbes in my opinion (I own a GBS-8220 as well).


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests