Amstrad CPC 6128/664 (NEW)

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1058
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Amstrad CPC 6128/664 (NEW)

Postby slingshot » Sat Dec 01, 2018 9:54 am

SchneiderCPC664 wrote:This is a little bit picky, but the Amstrad startup screen is to fast displayed compared to the original CPC and the older core. Is it possible to change this?

What does the original CPC do if it's booting slower?

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 730
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Amstrad CPC 6128/664 (NEW)

Postby DanyPPC » Sat Dec 01, 2018 10:07 am

SchneiderCPC664 wrote:This is a little bit picky, but the Amstrad startup screen is to fast displayed compared to the original CPC and the older core. Is it possible to change this?


I haven't noticed this. I own 4 x CPC models at home.

SchneiderCPC664
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 7:54 am
Location: Germany

Re: Amstrad CPC 6128/664 (NEW)

Postby SchneiderCPC664 » Sat Dec 01, 2018 10:17 am

DanyPPC wrote:
SchneiderCPC664 wrote:This is a little bit picky, but the Amstrad startup screen is to fast displayed compared to the original CPC and the older core. Is it possible to change this?


I haven't noticed this. I own 4 x CPC models at home.


Here is the original speed:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ra8zkfAsthE

On my MIST the startup screen will ultra fast displayed.

breiztiger
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 151
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:54 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Amstrad CPC 6128/664 (NEW)

Postby breiztiger » Sat Dec 01, 2018 10:40 am

hi

i think it's the first time you load the core

when you type "call 0" <enter> it's the same speed ?

SchneiderCPC664
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 7:54 am
Location: Germany

Re: Amstrad CPC 6128/664 (NEW)

Postby SchneiderCPC664 » Sat Dec 01, 2018 2:06 pm

A soft reset with Call 0 has the right speed. A hard reset with STR+ALT+DELETE not.

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 730
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Amstrad CPC 6128/664 (NEW)

Postby DanyPPC » Sat Dec 01, 2018 3:13 pm

What kind of shortcut combination is it ?
SchneiderCPC664 wrote:A soft reset with Call 0 has the right speed. A hard reset with STR+ALT+DELETE not.


I used always only CTRL + SHIFT + ESC

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1058
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Amstrad CPC 6128/664 (NEW)

Postby slingshot » Sat Dec 01, 2018 5:29 pm

SchneiderCPC664 wrote:A soft reset with Call 0 has the right speed. A hard reset with STR+ALT+DELETE not.


Since a hard reset stops generating sync signals, seems the monitor cannot lock into them until the whole display is generated already. Use 15kHz TV, and you'll see the slow boot.

christianlucio
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2016 5:03 pm

Xyphoes Fantasy

Postby christianlucio » Sun Dec 02, 2018 12:26 pm

Recently I tried Xyphoes Fantasy on this great core. But the x-mem crack of this crashes after putting in disk 2.
Anyone else has encountered this and perhaps knows how it can be solved ? Might be still some imperfection of the core ?

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 730
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Amstrad CPC 6128/664 (NEW)

Postby DanyPPC » Sun Dec 02, 2018 1:16 pm

Here works properly, even on old cores.

christianlucio
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2016 5:03 pm

Re: Amstrad CPC 6128/664 (NEW)

Postby christianlucio » Sun Dec 02, 2018 5:12 pm

Yes, on old cores it works but not with the new one out of this thread. Same für Prohibition 128k: works on the old cores but not with this one.
Tried it severeal times; it is always the same.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1058
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Amstrad CPC 6128/664 (NEW)

Postby slingshot » Tue Dec 04, 2018 7:44 pm

christianlucio wrote:Yes, on old cores it works but not with the new one out of this thread. Same für Prohibition 128k: works on the old cores but not with this one.
Tried it severeal times; it is always the same.


Seems it's a CPU bug. But already fixed, the T80 in the Genesis core is OK for example.

ManuFerHi
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:20 am

Re: Amstrad CPC 6128/664 (NEW)

Postby ManuFerHi » Fri Feb 08, 2019 9:36 am

I´m modify this core for listen tape loads, and add an option in OSD for enable or disable tape sound. I add the core file and the modified amstrad.sv
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 730
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Amstrad CPC 6128/664 (NEW)

Postby DanyPPC » Fri Feb 08, 2019 10:37 am

Thanks Manu, I have to test.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1058
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Amstrad CPC 6128/664 (NEW)

Postby slingshot » Fri Feb 08, 2019 11:24 am

ManuFerHi wrote:I´m modify this core for listen tape loads, and add an option in OSD for enable or disable tape sound. I add the core file and the modified amstrad.sv

What have to be modified there? UART_RX was connected to tape_in, UART_TX to motor control already.

ManuFerHi
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:20 am

Re: Amstrad CPC 6128/664 (NEW)

Postby ManuFerHi » Fri Feb 08, 2019 12:59 pm

I´m added this, i´m connect tape_play to output sound.
"O3,Tape sound,ON,OFF;",

if (status[3]) begin
tape_play2 <= 1'b0;
end
else tape_play2 <= tape_play;


sigma_delta_dac #(7) dac_l
(
.CLK(clk_sys & ce_16),
.RESET(reset),
.DACin(audio_l - audio_l[7:2] + {tape_rec, 5'd0} + {tape_play2, 5'd0}),
.DACout(AUDIO_L)
);

sigma_delta_dac #(7) dac_r
(
.CLK(clk_sys & ce_16),
.RESET(reset),
.DACin(audio_r - audio_r[7:2] + {tape_rec, 5'd0}+ {tape_play2, 5'd0}),
.DACout(AUDIO_R)
);

wire tape_play2;

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1058
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Amstrad CPC 6128/664 (NEW)

Postby slingshot » Fri Feb 08, 2019 1:02 pm

Ah, I see. Btw, what's the reason to start a tape save if there's no sound? :)
Upd.: ok, it's the tape input, I understand now.
Last edited by slingshot on Fri Feb 08, 2019 1:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ManuFerHi
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:20 am

Re: Amstrad CPC 6128/664 (NEW)

Postby ManuFerHi » Fri Feb 08, 2019 1:05 pm

I have done the same process in cores as MSX or ZX8X, the only difference is that now it is heard by the audio output, before they were silent charges. And I add the option to deactivate it in OSD in case you do not want to hear the noise.

ManuFerHi
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:20 am

Re: Amstrad CPC 6128/664 (NEW)

Postby ManuFerHi » Fri Feb 08, 2019 1:09 pm

In MSX, you also have to change the listening pin, OCM has the cmt_In connected to audio_r, you have to disconnect it and connect to the RX pin.

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 730
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Amstrad CPC 6128/664 (NEW)

Postby DanyPPC » Sat Feb 09, 2019 8:55 am

Yesterday I have tested my working CPC Target Renegade cassette on MISTICA. Everything seemed ok but at the end the game hasn't started.
I imagine not all loaders are supported, or I wrong ?

Lroby74
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 136
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 8:35 pm

Re: Amstrad CPC 6128/664 (NEW)

Postby Lroby74 » Thu Feb 14, 2019 4:51 pm

ManuFerHi wrote:I´m added this, i´m connect tape_play to output sound.
"O3,Tape sound,ON,OFF;",

if (status[3]) begin
tape_play2 <= 1'b0;
end
else tape_play2 <= tape_play;


sigma_delta_dac #(7) dac_l
(
.CLK(clk_sys & ce_16),
.RESET(reset),
.DACin(audio_l - audio_l[7:2] + {tape_rec, 5'd0} + {tape_play2, 5'd0}),
.DACout(AUDIO_L)
);

sigma_delta_dac #(7) dac_r
(
.CLK(clk_sys & ce_16),
.RESET(reset),
.DACin(audio_r - audio_r[7:2] + {tape_rec, 5'd0}+ {tape_play2, 5'd0}),
.DACout(AUDIO_R)
);

wire tape_play2;


Would possible to add something like these instructions into C64 core for Play TAP files?
From SD or EAR input

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1058
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Amstrad CPC 6128/664 (NEW)

Postby slingshot » Thu Feb 14, 2019 5:42 pm

It's possible to add ear input, but I don't have the audio in circuit built for my MiST, so cannot test it. Also the C64 has a button sense input, I don't know if it's mandatory for loaders.

Lroby74
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 136
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 8:35 pm

Re: Amstrad CPC 6128/664 (NEW)

Postby Lroby74 » Thu Feb 14, 2019 11:04 pm

slingshot wrote:It's possible to add ear input, but I don't have the audio in circuit built for my MiST, so cannot test it. Also the C64 has a button sense input, I don't know if it's mandatory for loaders.


In ZX Uno's C64 core, TAP loading is working in this way: when you type LOAD + Enter command, C64 goes on autoplay like if Play button on Datasette were already pressed and does autostop on ending of game loading.
In this way no need to add start and stop TAP functions into OSD (like options presents into 1541 Ultimate II+)
I think this could be same on Mist (at least for loading .TAP files from SD) and from EAR input and .TAP files from SD for Mistica.
Just a question, would be possible for someone to add .TAP support from SD (for Mist & Mistica) and later another one (with Mistica) could add EAR input too? Second thing would be an added prize but at least .TAP from SD would be nice for all users (and i think that Mister users could have same option too)

User avatar
Higgy
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 152
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: Amstrad CPC 6128/664 (NEW)

Postby Higgy » Sat Feb 16, 2019 9:29 pm

Slightly off topic, but really proud of this. A new teaser trailer for Pinball Dreams on the Amstrad CPC has been released:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_DetN_pol6g&feature=youtu.be

It runs well on MiST, but you really need to play on a CRT.

Here is a link to some playable demos:

http://www.indieretronews.com/2017/04/pinball-dreams-cpc-fantastic-amiga.html#more

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 730
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Amstrad CPC 6128/664 (NEW)

Postby DanyPPC » Sun Feb 17, 2019 4:12 pm

Amazing !!! :)

seastalker
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 271
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 3:44 pm

Re: Amstrad CPC 6128/664 (NEW)

Postby seastalker » Fri Feb 22, 2019 9:46 am

I love pinball so that got my attention. I am trying out this core now. Are there two development builds right now?

I see "Amstrad_20181226.rbf" where you put amstrad.rom on a card by sorgelig AND I found "amstradTape_190124_r005.8.16.7c34.rbf" where you add AMSDOS.e07, BASIC1-1.e00, and OS6128.eZZ to the card

I don't know what things like "r005" mean in .rbf naming. Does that mean something like release candidate or revision or maybe one build is a fork of the other?

Either way, thank you for making it possible to try out computers I did not have!


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests