[Update] Amstrad CPC Core now support "Commando"

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 370
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

[Update] Amstrad CPC Core now support "Commando"

Postby DanyPPC » Sat Jul 28, 2018 8:49 am

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-bina ... es/amstrad

I'd like to thank Freemac and Sorgelig for the new update r005.8.16.3 of this great Amstrad CPC Core.
Now Commando is playable without graphix scroll bug !

Tested with success many games in order the excellent demo Batman Forever.

Now the core is near perfect. Good job guys !
:cheers:

arty
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2017 10:49 am

Re: [Update] Amstrad CPC Core now support "Commando"

Postby arty » Sat Jul 28, 2018 4:26 pm

Good news!
Amstrad CPC is very underrated 8bit computer on Z80. From hardware side, CPC is superior to well known Speccy in UK.
Modern CPC demos are powerful enough to take this platform seriously( Amstrad CPC 6128 ).
Prehistorik II, Gryzor , Renegade, Trantor, Lemmings, Bubble Bobble, Savage, Megablasters and other popular games are quite better than ZX Spectrum versions.

There is SymbOS Z80 Multitasking Based Operating System for Amstrad CPC:
Image

Is multitasking realisable on an 8bit machine for "daily business"?



Changes in amstrad_180726_r005.8.16.3 core:
WAIT_n generator seems pass quick good plustest.dsk instruction timing test (except ED B1/B9 that is not implemented in T80)
+ PhX is quite nice using options WAIT_n:slow VGA:vram72Hz.
+ Logon's run - 2D meets the aging bits still passing with options : WAIT_n:slow VGA:scandb50Hz
Thanks Sorgelig to get me back on this project :)

+ Pinball Dreams OK

+ OSD options : VGA:vram72Hz|scanlines72Hz|scandb50Hz (scanlines does turn back into an option, as asked by DanyPPC)

+ commando

Well done Renaud Helias and Sorgelig!

Thanks DanyPPC for good news :cheers:

…………ıllıllı just a friend ıllıllı…………

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 615
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: [Update] Amstrad CPC Core now support "Commando"

Postby vebxenon » Sat Jul 28, 2018 6:44 pm

DanyPPC wrote:https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-binaries/tree/master/cores/amstrad

I'd like to thank Freemac and Sorgelig for the new update r005.8.16.3 of this great Amstrad CPC Core.
Now Commando is playable without graphix scroll bug !

Tested with success many games in order the excellent demo Batman Forever.

Now the core is near perfect. Good job guys !
:cheers:


Great news! :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: Thanks very much to Freemac and Sorgelig :D
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

User avatar
DrOG
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 435
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: [Update] Amstrad CPC Core now support "Commando"

Postby DrOG » Sun Jul 29, 2018 3:58 am

:cheers: Thanks to all the people who are involved in this project!!! :cheers:

RobeInie
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 11:11 pm

Re: [Update] Amstrad CPC Core now support "Commando"

Postby RobeInie » Sun Jul 29, 2018 9:18 pm

Thanks Renaud and Sorgelig !

Commando is one of my favourite games on CPC ,
Great update , and nice work

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2879
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: [Update] Amstrad CPC Core now support "Commando"

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Jul 29, 2018 9:30 pm

arty wrote:WAIT_n generator seems pass quick good plustest.dsk instruction timing test (except ED B1/B9 that is not implemented in T80)


i don't know what you are talking about, but i've fixed it some time ago already. ZEXALL test is fully passed.

arty
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2017 10:49 am

Re: [Update] Amstrad CPC Core now support "Commando"

Postby arty » Mon Jul 30, 2018 4:57 pm

Sorgelig wrote:
arty wrote:WAIT_n generator seems pass quick good plustest.dsk instruction timing test (except ED B1/B9 that is not implemented in T80)


i don't know what you are talking about, but i've fixed it some time ago already. ZEXALL test is fully passed.


Thanks for clarification. But this text from official info, that was copied by me for other users and core's chronology. Previous link at *.txt is broken now, but new one has part of same text:
https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-bina ... 8.16.4.txt
Image
Thanks for your support of MiST!
…………ıllıllı just a friend ıllıllı…………

arty
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2017 10:49 am

Re: [Update] Amstrad CPC Core now support "Commando"

Postby arty » Wed Aug 01, 2018 9:15 pm

New Amstrad CPC core is Amstrad r005.8.16.5
https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-binaries/tree/master/cores/amstrad
New in this version:
+Seascape*
*support of secret graphics mode (CPC MODE 1 with rasters, 320x200 with 13 colors)
Image
The sun is rising over CPC core :D
I would like to thank all developers who made it happen! :cheers:

P.S. Another great picture, CPC pixel art from Vanity for Revision2018 party
https://cpcrulez.fr/demostestSL_beb-smile-vanity.htm
Image
Just smile!
…………ıllıllı just a friend ıllıllı…………

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 370
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: [Update] Amstrad CPC Core now support "Commando"

Postby DanyPPC » Thu Aug 02, 2018 6:13 am

Good news !

Many thanks :cheers:

arty
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2017 10:49 am

Re: [Update] Amstrad CPC Core now support "Commando"

Postby arty » Fri Aug 03, 2018 2:39 pm

For those who have a glow of interest about Amstrad CPC platform:

Amstrad CPC Story | Nostalgia Nerd


Including interesting facts about rise of Amstrad at its best period and how CPC was born.

Sorgelig, could you kindly add your magical stuff of graphics post-processing to Amstrad CPC core on MiST as it was done by you for ZX Spectrum and C64 cores? I'm about HQ2x, CRT25% & CRT50% scanlines modes. Existing scandb50Hz is too naked truth for modern LCD monitors. IMHO, even scanlines option as addition to 50 Hz mode will be masking solution for cheap integrated upscalers in common LCDs :)

…………ıllıllı just a friend ıllıllı…………

RobeInie
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 11:11 pm

Re: [Update] Amstrad CPC Core now support "Commando"

Postby RobeInie » Fri Aug 03, 2018 10:42 pm

Hello !

Yesterday I tested and played Commando very well !! thanks again for this great core,

I have seen in cpcwiki that one thing to do at this core is the tape player , to play CDT files , any news about it? Would be nice that it could work as in the Spectrum core (normal speed, fast speed...), is that the idea ?

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2879
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: [Update] Amstrad CPC Core now support "Commando"

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Aug 04, 2018 2:10 am

arty wrote:Sorgelig, could you kindly add your magical stuff of graphics post-processing to Amstrad CPC core on MiST as it was done by you for ZX Spectrum and C64 cores? I'm about HQ2x, CRT25% & CRT50% scanlines modes.

viewtopic.php?f=115&t=34126

arty
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2017 10:49 am

Re: [Update] Amstrad CPC Core now support "Commando"

Postby arty » Sat Aug 04, 2018 9:04 pm

Sorgelig wrote:
arty wrote:Sorgelig, could you kindly add your magical stuff of graphics post-processing to Amstrad CPC core on MiST as it was done by you for ZX Spectrum and C64 cores? I'm about HQ2x, CRT25% & CRT50% scanlines modes.

http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=115&t=34126


Wow :o Even better than expected :D
…………ıllıllı just a friend ıllıllı…………


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: desUBIKado and 4 guests