MiST 1.3+ and NullModem (Amiga Multiplayer)

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

kortina
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 11:14 am

MiST 1.3+ and NullModem (Amiga Multiplayer)

Postby kortina » Mon Aug 07, 2017 12:54 am

Hi Guys,

I am trying to play some multiplayer 'Gravity Force2/GravityPower'

I have the Amiga Core running fine on the MiST. A1200, HDD etc.
I have WinUAE running fine on a Windows PC with a COM port.

I am seeking some advise on how to connect the two together to simulate what would have been a NullModem cable.

The doco from Gravity Power says that the cable needs pins 2,3 and 7. Pins 2 and 3 seem to be crossed over at each end.

Can I just get a serial cable for a PC, cut the end off and attach to the MiST ?
(Note the 1.3+ has the built in MIDI, but it does seem to have some extra pins behind the buttons on the front).

Kind Regards.

ericgus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 342
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: MiST 1.3+ and NullModem (Amiga Multiplayer)

Postby ericgus » Mon Aug 07, 2017 7:33 am

I think you would need to use a MAX232 because the voltages coming out of the Mist would be TTL level and wouldnt work well (possibly fry) when connected to standard serial connector.. I am not sure what the situation is with the 1.3+ as far as the pins/connections needed, with the older MiSTs you could just disconnect the midi port board and you were good to go (though I have only ever seen people directly wire the MiST tx/rx lines to the GPIO pins on a raspberry Pi {as the Pi too is TTL}..) I am sure others who are more experienced will have better suggestions..

kortina
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 11:14 am

Re: MiST 1.3+ and NullModem (Amiga Multiplayer)

Postby kortina » Fri Aug 11, 2017 11:30 am

I ordered a Max232 from ebay as they are only a few dollars.

I have attached a picture of the 1.3+
IMG_20170811_211147.jpg


You can see that the expansion header(SV2) is missing and the Midi connector is part of the main board (no longer separate)


Picture of 1.3 board with the SV2 header.
https://www.heise.de/ct/zcontent/15/21-hocmsmeta/1443406259927131/contentimages/vza.mist_board.2_bg_IG.jpg

Any suggestions on how I might be able to get a Serial link!?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

ericgus
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 342
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: MiST 1.3+ and NullModem (Amiga Multiplayer)

Postby ericgus » Sat Aug 12, 2017 7:19 am

kortina wrote:I ordered a Max232 from ebay as they are only a few dollars.

I have attached a picture of the 1.3+
IMG_20170811_211147.jpg

You can see that the expansion header(SV2) is missing and the Midi connector is part of the main board (no longer separate)


Picture of 1.3 board with the SV2 header.
https://www.heise.de/ct/zcontent/15/21-hocmsmeta/1443406259927131/contentimages/vza.mist_board.2_bg_IG.jpg

Any suggestions on how I might be able to get a Serial link!?


Unfortunately not with the 1.3 revision

Perhaps there is some kind of MIDI to SERIAL cable you can get.. IDK I never worked with MIDI..

eeun
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 2:49 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: MiST 1.3+ and NullModem (Amiga Multiplayer)

Postby eeun » Tue Aug 15, 2017 5:15 pm

Kortina, check out last post in this thread:
viewtopic.php?t=31407
User DialTone seems to have converted midi back to serial with external adapter + FTDI, just needing extra power since midi is opto-isolated.


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest