NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1086
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Jul 03, 2017 2:49 am

@Gehstock:
i would like to port your Arcade cores to MiSTer. Is there a place where i can download the source code?

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Gehstock » Mon Jul 03, 2017 9:40 am

Not only my Cores for MIST/MISTer : https://github.com/Gehstock

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1086
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:53 am

thanks!

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Gehstock » Tue Jul 04, 2017 12:00 am

Can you please check https://github.com/Gehstock/Sources/tre ... axian_Mist this have a Bug with Sprites(firing Backwards etc..) but this are 4 Game Machines Galaxian,Mooncresta,Mr. Doo´s Nightmare and Black Hole. Cores mostly done(Mist Functions)
Not only my Cores for MIST/MISTer : https://github.com/Gehstock

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1086
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Sorgelig » Tue Jul 04, 2017 9:09 am

Do you have link to original source of this core? Just want to check if something lost due to MiST limitations.

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Gehstock » Tue Jul 04, 2017 10:58 am

Not the original Code is a Port for a DEV Board
https://github.com/Gehstock/Sources/blo ... master.zip

Edit this seems to be Original http://git.zerfleddert.de/cgi-bin/gitwe ... :/galaxian
Not only my Cores for MIST/MISTer : https://github.com/Gehstock

Nodoyuna
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2017 6:19 am

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Nodoyuna » Wed Jul 05, 2017 7:05 am

Hi
I've just started trying the arcade cores, starting with the ones that can be used on a CRT TV:

- Packman RGB Test #1 works great for me, only the screen does not fit, but it's normal because the game has vertical orientation
- Packman RGB Test #2 does not work, it does not show any image, only a black screen
- Galaga works fine too, the screen is not rotated but the controls can be
- Phoenix: this one works but there are graphical glitches. I'm using the version in the repository, maybe it's an old one?

I'll try the rest with VGA output, but I think they all should work ok

I'd like to ask a couple questions:

1) Are there plans to give 15KHz support for the rest arcade cores?
2) Can the screen rotations be added as an option in the OSD? I don't really mind to play whitout rotations, but if it can be added as an option, it should be good, I think
3) Can the arcade cores be done in "MAME way"? I mean, instead of make one core for every single game, it's possible to make a core for a PCB and then load the roms of the game? This could be "open a door" for make a core for a system PCB and add all the variants of the games for that PCB (something similar to the way MAME does)

I'm pretty new in the MiST world, but the things I've tried are great, so thanks for the cores and keep up with the good work :D

Thanks in advance for answer my questions

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Gehstock » Wed Jul 05, 2017 10:48 am

1. Sometimes, for now working on Real Hardware
2. Possible but still not for me
3. yes, but the Most Arcade Machines using different Hardware and this Hardware will be Implemented in FPGA. Mame is a Emulator.
Not only my Cores for MIST/MISTer : https://github.com/Gehstock

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Gehstock » Wed Jul 12, 2017 1:51 am

I have video on my Sony PVM. Looks good.


Ok Thanks for the >feedback, reboot the port completely new in RGB mode and add Scandoubler later from the MIST side, but do not have much time at the time. Updates will follow much more slowly in the future. These Arcade cores are very complex because I remove the framework (Pace) at the same time
Not only my Cores for MIST/MISTer : https://github.com/Gehstock

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Gehstock » Wed Jul 12, 2017 1:53 am

- Phoenix: this one works but there are graphical glitches. I'm using the version in the repository, maybe it's an old one?


Phoenix have Final Status, i will check the Repo
Not only my Cores for MIST/MISTer : https://github.com/Gehstock

Nodoyuna
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2017 6:19 am

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Nodoyuna » Wed Jul 12, 2017 10:28 am

Gehstock wrote:
- Phoenix: this one works but there are graphical glitches. I'm using the version in the repository, maybe it's an old one?


Phoenix have Final Status, i will check the Repo


Thanks!

Only one question, regarding arcade cores, do you know what should be the limit on arcades for MiST?

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Gehstock » Thu Aug 24, 2017 1:57 pm

The primary limiting Factor is the Ram/Rom Size
Not only my Cores for MIST/MISTer : https://github.com/Gehstock

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Gehstock » Thu Aug 24, 2017 2:33 pm

A simple RiverRaid Clone(https://habrahabr.ru/post/313092/)

-Controls Keyboard
-VGA Only
-no Joystick (left,right Controls needs a fix)
-added simple Shooting Sound Effect

after 5 times to Update the old Repo and 5 times open a new Repo (Windows Client seems a little Buggy)
https://github.com/Gehstock/RiverRaid-Clone-Mist
Not only my Cores for MIST/MISTer : https://github.com/Gehstock

User avatar
DrOG
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 238
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby DrOG » Fri Aug 25, 2017 4:22 am

Nice progress, already well-playable version!
Video lost compatibility with my LE40B650, despite my BenQ still identifies it as 1280x1024@60Hz.
I had to take photos with my camera, sorry for the motion blur!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Darfpga
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2017 10:07 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Darfpga » Wed Oct 18, 2017 7:43 pm

Defender FPGA arcade game source code available here :

https://sourceforge.net/projects/darfpga/files/Software%20VHDL/defender/

Feel free to port to MiST / MiSTer.

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Gehstock » Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:44 pm

Thank You
Not only my Cores for MIST/MISTer : https://github.com/Gehstock

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby NML32 » Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:49 pm

Thank you. :cheers:

User avatar
DrOG
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 238
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby DrOG » Thu Oct 19, 2017 4:29 am

Thanks!!!

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Gehstock » Sat Oct 21, 2017 12:15 am

@ DAR I would like to give you a DE10 Nano + SDRAM Board, which should help us all to bring all your ARCADE Cores to the MISTER Project. I lack the Time and the Skills and the Project could still need someone good. Contact me for the Details via PM
Not only my Cores for MIST/MISTer : https://github.com/Gehstock

Darfpga
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2017 10:07 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Darfpga » Sat Oct 21, 2017 7:53 pm

Gehstock wrote:@ DAR I would like to give you a DE10 Nano + SDRAM Board, which should help us all to bring all your ARCADE Cores to the MISTER Project. I lack the Time and the Skills and the Project could still need someone good. Contact me for the Details via PM

Thank you for the nice offer. Let me have a more precise look to MiSTer architecture before deciding to develop directly for that target. Because I have not much time to spend on that hobby it will takes me some time. I intend to choose an already existing MiSTer core and look at it for some detail. Maybe can you tell me which core will be the right choice. Remember that I use VHDL. I already have some questions : during development is it possible to program the core without reloading HPS side (without writing the rbf to the SD card)?

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1086
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Sorgelig » Sat Oct 21, 2017 8:33 pm

Darfpga wrote:Thank you for the nice offer. Let me have a more precise look to MiSTer architecture before deciding to develop directly for that target. Because I have not much time to spend on that hobby it will takes me some time. I intend to choose an already existing MiSTer core and look at it for some detail. Maybe can you tell me which core will be the right choice. Remember that I use VHDL. I already have some questions : during development is it possible to program the core without reloading HPS side (without writing the rbf to the SD card)?

Core can be uploaded either from OSD menu, or through USB blaster. Is it what you've asked?
HPS side is reloading by itself when you upload the SOF file through USB blaster, so you don't need to worry about it.
By original Altera design, FPGA should be loaded only once at boot stage and never change till power off. So, the hybrid system is not tuned for FPGA reloading while working and i found that if i upload SOF through USB blaster, there is a great chance the HPS side will hang if it's not rebooted ASAP. So, there is a watchdog on HPS side which automatically reboots the HPS if USB loading is detected. It can be disabled by modifying the MiSTer code, but the linux side may become unstable (may be ok for debug purpose).

If core is loaded through OSD menu then only MiSTer binary is reloaded to make sure nothing left from previous core.

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1086
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Oct 22, 2017 3:00 pm


Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1086
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Oct 22, 2017 7:49 pm

Darfpga,
can you make R-Type/R-TypeII arcade core?

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Gehstock » Mon Oct 23, 2017 3:28 pm




is this VGA only? Have no Picture over HDMI.
Not only my Cores for MIST/MISTer : https://github.com/Gehstock

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 350
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby NML32 » Mon Oct 23, 2017 3:45 pm

Gehstock wrote:



is this VGA only? Have no Picture over HDMI.

It's displaying video through HDMI for me.
I’m not sure if it matters but my display is NTSC


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests