NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Darfpga
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2017 10:07 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Darfpga » Wed Dec 27, 2017 11:00 am

Lunch time approaching!

Burger Time VHDL arcade game source code for DE10_lite available here :

https://sourceforge.net/projects/darfpga/files/Software%20VHDL/burger_time

Feel free to port to MiST/MiSTer.

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 390
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby NML32 » Wed Dec 27, 2017 11:04 am

:cheers: thanks, I really like Burger Time. :D

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 211
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: Germany

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Gehstock » Wed Dec 27, 2017 12:56 pm

Thank you verry Much
:D
Sound+RGB not testet need Feedback
https://github.com/Gehstock/Mist_FPGA/t ... ter/Arcade

DanyPPC
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 115
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby DanyPPC » Wed Dec 27, 2017 1:47 pm

Perfect !
Thanks to all :cheers:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
DrOG
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 271
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby DrOG » Wed Dec 27, 2017 3:46 pm

Gehstock wrote:Thank you verry Much
:D
Sound+RGB not testet need Feedback
https://github.com/Gehstock/Mist_FPGA/t ... ter/Arcade

Can test tomorrow early in the morning...

hyperterminal
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 1:43 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby hyperterminal » Wed Dec 27, 2017 6:51 pm

Thank you for the Burger Time core. Graphics and sound work as expected and the image is perfectly aligned at 15 kHz.

User avatar
DrOG
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 271
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby DrOG » Thu Dec 28, 2017 6:17 am

hyperterminal wrote:Thank you for the Burger Time core. Graphics and sound work as expected and the image is perfectly aligned at 15 kHz.

I can confirm, very nice work!!! :cheers:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 211
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: Germany

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Gehstock » Thu Dec 28, 2017 9:42 am

OK thanks for feedback

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1392
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Sorgelig » Fri Dec 29, 2017 7:27 pm

Darfpga wrote:Burnin' rubber FPGA arcade game for DE10_lite available here :
https://sourceforge.net/projects/darfpga/files/Software%20VHDL/burnin_rubber/

As usual feel free to port to MiST/MiSTer.

It seems 2-player mode is broken. After first try on player-1, it switches to player-2 and never switch back to player-1 till the end of game.

Darfpga
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2017 10:07 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Darfpga » Sat Dec 30, 2017 8:50 pm

Sorgelig wrote:
Darfpga wrote:Burnin' rubber FPGA arcade game for DE10_lite available here :
https://sourceforge.net/projects/darfpga/files/Software%20VHDL/burnin_rubber/

As usual feel free to port to MiST/MiSTer.

It seems 2-player mode is broken. After first try on player-1, it switches to player-2 and never switch back to player-1 till the end of game.


Can you describe more: what is wrong ? The display in cocktail mode ? The control button or the number of the player who control the game?

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1392
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Dec 31, 2017 7:50 am

Darfpga wrote:Can you describe more: what is wrong ? The display in cocktail mode ? The control button or the number of the player who control the game?

I've changed to non-cocktail mode, 5 lives. So, both players have same screen rotation.
- start the game in 2 player mode
- game played for P1 and switch to P2 upon life lost
- game played for player P2 but remained on P2 upon life lost.
- remains on P2 till all life used where each life used twice.

I see in new core you start to use such constructions:

Code: Select all

   if rising_edge(clock_12) and clock_6 = '1' then
   ...
   end if;

Which is not correct since clock_6 goes to sensitivity list and can act as a clock while it shouldn't. The correct construction should be

Code: Select all

   if rising_edge(clock_12) then
      if clock_6 = '1' then
      ...
      end if;
   end if;


May be this affects the core work?

Darfpga
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2017 10:07 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Darfpga » Sun Dec 31, 2017 2:41 pm

Sorgelig wrote:- start the game in 2 player mode
- game played for P1 and switch to P2 upon life lost
- game played for player P2 but remained on P2 upon life lost.
- remains on P2 till all life used where each life used twice.


I've just tested this config : no problem here, toggle player1/player2 is ok after each life lost for each 5 lives.

Sorgelig wrote:I see in new core you start to use such constructions:

Code: Select all

   if rising_edge(clock_12) and clock_6 = '1' then
   ...
   end if;

Which is not correct since clock_6 goes to sensitivity list and can act as a clock while it shouldn't. The correct construction should be

Code: Select all

   if rising_edge(clock_12) then
      if clock_6 = '1' then
      ...
      end if;
   end if;


May be this affects the core work?


Thanks for the feedback, I agree the construction isn't good and at least ambiguous and maybe handled differently by different compilers. I must correct this and avoid it in future. I've checked with RTL viewer that clock_6 signal always ends on ENA pin of DFF registers and clock_12 on CLK pin of DFF. Fortunatly compilation complains about clock_6 not being in sensitivity list and clock_6 is never promoted to a clock signal.

Anyway you are absolutely right, thanks again.

Nevertheless I cannot reproduce the problem here so I cannot find a solution. I hope that you are not misleaded by the fact there is no 1UP/2UP blinking and sometime no PLAYERx GET READY screen after the first one. It is the same on Mame, only scores counter increase make the difference between player1 and player2.

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1392
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Dec 31, 2017 3:26 pm

Darfpga wrote:I hope that you are not misleaded by the fact there is no 1UP/2UP blinking and sometime no PLAYERx GET READY screen after the first one. It is the same on Mame, only scores counter increase make the difference between player1 and player2.

ah, you are right. I didn't notice it switches between players seamlessly.

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 211
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: Germany

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Gehstock » Wed Jan 03, 2018 9:41 am

New Core

War of the Bugs




But Same Problem with Fonts like all Galaxian HW Cores

Download on my Github


Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1392
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Jan 03, 2018 12:52 pm

looks like centipede

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 211
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: Germany

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Gehstock » Wed Jan 03, 2018 1:02 pm

Yeah, Mist have not yet a Centipede Core

User avatar
DrOG
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 271
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby DrOG » Wed Jan 03, 2018 1:20 pm

Gehstock wrote:New Core

War of the Bugs


But Same Problem with Fonts like all Galaxian HW Cores
Download on my Github


Nice! Will test tomorrow morning!

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1392
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Jan 03, 2018 1:37 pm

Gehstock wrote:Yeah, Mist have not yet a Centipede Core

MiSTer too :)
What's the problem with Font?

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 211
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: Germany

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Gehstock » Wed Jan 03, 2018 1:54 pm

viewtopic.php?f=115&t=31112&start=325#p334834

the First picture is VGA Output , Font lacks of the first Pixel Line. RGB is ok(second Picture)

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1392
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Jan 03, 2018 2:04 pm

Gehstock wrote:http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=115&t=31112&start=325#p334834

the First picture is VGA Output , Font lacks of the first Pixel Line. RGB is ok(second Picture)

scandoubler eats first pixel. If it's hard to adjust scandoubler, then you can deactivate hblank in the core one pixel earlier.

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 211
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: Germany

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Gehstock » Wed Jan 03, 2018 2:06 pm

Ok Thanks will Check

Sorgelig
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1392
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Jan 03, 2018 2:10 pm

Or, add intermediate registers for RGB data assigned by pixel clock. And it will shift the whole picture one pixel to the right.
You need to do this before scandoubler.

somethig like:

Code: Select all

reg [..] Rd,Gd,Bd
always @(posedge pixclk) begin
   {Rd,Gd,Bd} <= {R,G,B};
end

Rd,Gd,Bd -> send to scandoubler.


Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 211
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: Germany

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Gehstock » Wed Jan 03, 2018 2:20 pm

Thank you

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 211
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: Germany

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby Gehstock » Wed Jan 03, 2018 10:54 pm

Sligthly better Fonts on Galaxian HW Cores and Gameboy Update

User avatar
DrOG
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 271
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Postby DrOG » Thu Jan 04, 2018 5:54 am

Hi!

Tested the War of Bugs and Azurian core briefly, still odd-looking, but better over VGA (see attachments).
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests