Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

slingshot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 267
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby slingshot » Sun Oct 14, 2018 7:39 pm

MasterOfGizmo wrote:It's not a cup bug. The tas instruction forcefully does two uninterruptible subsequent bus cycles to make sure it's an atomic operation. Some versions of the vdp did not cope with that. E.g. the Amiga also didn't cope with it and you shouldn't use the tas instruction there.

Yes, I phrased it wrongly. Probably the VDP breaks it on the real thing, just I curious is it possible to trigger this problem without modifying the CPU?

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby DanyPPC » Sun Oct 14, 2018 8:27 pm

slingshot wrote:
DanyPPC wrote:Tested a lot of games in alphabetical order, if it can help you, the following ones have graphic and sprites problems:

- Golden Axe II


Golden Axe II? I almost played to the end, didn't notice any problems.
Tried some others, too, and besides a window plane problem in Rolling Thunder II, I didn't see problems (Lemmings 2 still OK, so must be another bug). I couldn't find Chaos Engine ROM.


You are right, i have to enable 3 button pad mode.
So other games could work too.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2896
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Oct 14, 2018 8:30 pm

slingshot wrote:
MasterOfGizmo wrote:It's not a cup bug. The tas instruction forcefully does two uninterruptible subsequent bus cycles to make sure it's an atomic operation. Some versions of the vdp did not cope with that. E.g. the Amiga also didn't cope with it and you shouldn't use the tas instruction there.

Yes, I phrased it wrongly. Probably the VDP breaks it on the real thing, just I curious is it possible to trigger this problem without modifying the CPU?

it would be possible if TG68K would provide real signals. The bug is around AS signal which is not deactivated between read and write transactions of TAS. The TAS is kind of interlocked* functions in WinAPI which is not divided in the bus like MOVE which has 2 separate transactions with AS deactivated between.
TG68K doesn't provide a real AS, but state instead which acts the same for all read+write instructions and preliminary divided into two transaction in top_level module.

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby DanyPPC » Sun Oct 14, 2018 8:31 pm

Graphics problems:

- Super Skidmarks
- Toki
- Virtua Racing
- Wolfchild

Don't work:

- Test Drive II the duel
- Turrican
- Winter Olympic Games

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2896
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Oct 14, 2018 8:35 pm

DanyPPC wrote:Tested a lot of games in alphabetical order, if it can help you, the following ones have graphic and sprites problems:

- Aladdin
- Blades of Vengeance
- Chaos Engine
- Cliffhanger
- Golden Axe II
- Hook
- Lotus Turbo Challenge
- Power Drive
- Rolling Thunder 2
- Shinobi III
- Story of Thor (doesn't work)

The following have audio problems:

- Batman
- Battle Squadron
- various...

Continue with test. But now most games work.

I've tried all these games on MiSTer's latest release. I've only noticed slight shaking background in Chaos Engine when it's scrolling. Also some strange bottom blue field in Rolling Thunder 2 which fills by strange graphics sometimes - probably it's supposed to be a info panel?
Other games have no visible graphics or music glitches. May be you need to mention what glitches you see if they are not obvious.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2896
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Oct 14, 2018 8:59 pm

ok, Virtua Racing and Turrican don't even start on MiSTer.

And it's pity that Turrican doesn't start...

squid4
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:12 pm

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby squid4 » Sun Oct 14, 2018 9:03 pm

Main character animation in Aladdin is broken (i.e. animation is static when moving) with latest beta core (fpgagen-beta_20181013.rbf) and firmware.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2896
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Oct 14, 2018 9:09 pm

squid4 wrote:Main character animation in Aladdin is broken (i.e. animation is static when moving) with latest beta core (fpgagen-beta_20181013.rbf) and firmware.

u need to use 3 buttons mode.

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby DanyPPC » Sun Oct 14, 2018 9:14 pm

Here are my corrections:

- Aladdin (OK - 3Button pad mode active)
- Blades of Vengeance (OK - 3Button pad mode active)
- Chaos Engine
- Cliffhanger (sprites don't move)
- Golden Axe II (OK - 3Button pad mode active)
- Hook (background missing)
- Lotus Turbo Challenge (black game screen with green lines)
- Power Drive (Graphics corruption on intro screens)
- Rolling Thunder 2 (ok, only bottom lines problem)
- Shinobi III (only a background with green leaf)
- Story of Thor (doesn't work)

User avatar
Higgy
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby Higgy » Sun Oct 14, 2018 9:17 pm

Sorgelig wrote:ok, Virtua Racing and Turrican don't even start on MiSTer.

And it's pity that Turrican doesn't start...


I am sure Virtua Racing is like some SNES games (Mario Kart, Pilotwings), it has a special chip inside the cart to perform 3D calculations.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2896
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Oct 14, 2018 9:33 pm

Higgy wrote:I am sure Virtua Racing is like some SNES games (Mario Kart, Pilotwings), it has a special chip inside the cart to perform 3D calculations.

yeah! just found the info about it. It uses custom rendering chip. So won't be fixed and must be excluded from list.

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby DanyPPC » Mon Oct 15, 2018 6:23 am

Virtua Racing is not so important because it has a low framerate respect 32X version.

slingshot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 267
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby slingshot » Mon Oct 15, 2018 7:19 am

DanyPPC wrote:Here are my corrections:

Thanks for the update, it's good to specify what's the problem, because it's hard to guess if it is a control, sound or graphics problem when it is not obvious at the first glance. Some games you mentioned without background seems to work now in the latest git version.

User avatar
Sheldon
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 10:41 pm

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby Sheldon » Mon Oct 15, 2018 8:13 am

Hello,
With Core fpgagen-beta_20181013.rbf:
-Sonic 1 Ring sound is perfect as original in firt level.
- Thunderforce 3 : Sound seem's to be ok (not exactly the same as original) and very low volume
- Thunderforce 4 : intro music & video not synchronize, Sound KO, some part of music missing in game
- El Viento : Fisrt stage music and video ok

Very very close to the end :) very very good job

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby DanyPPC » Mon Oct 15, 2018 3:41 pm

slingshot wrote:Some games you mentioned without background seems to work now in the latest git version.


Good news !
Thanks to your efforts, this core is becoming better every day.

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby DanyPPC » Mon Oct 15, 2018 3:41 pm

Double post, excuse me.

seastalker
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 195
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 3:44 pm

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby seastalker » Mon Oct 15, 2018 4:13 pm

slingshot, I promise you I have no complaints about quality- quite the opposite. I am excited at how fast this core is progressing and I'm just trying to keep up. :) The work is fantastic and I always like to check the temperature of the experts with great comparison knowledge of the cores vs original systems. If the general consensus say a core is near perfect I find it a triumph. I only mean to celebrate each milestone and am thankful for all development.

danialbi
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2018 5:46 pm

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby danialbi » Mon Oct 15, 2018 4:20 pm

This is probably not the right place for beginner's questions...anyway
Started latest Sega Megadrive core, want to try an easy one: Frogger.md
Game starts...
I have USB joystick (working fine with Atari st core with defaut mapping), but I don't know how to start game - I have never used a Megadrive...
I copied mist.ini to root as suggested...question: does this mist.ini affect other cores also?
What does 3-button only setting via F12?
What is the default mapping? I cannot find this info in readme

Thanks

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1204
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Mon Oct 15, 2018 5:32 pm

By default using the 3 button controller is a good way to start. In that case your controller should have at least four buttons. Three of them will be genesis buttons a, b and c. And one will be the start button which you seem to be looking for.

Speaking of 3 vs. 6 buttons: imho 3 buttons should be the default state since nearly all games cope with the 3 button controller but not with the 6 button one.
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2896
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby Sorgelig » Mon Oct 15, 2018 6:03 pm

6 buttons mode is usually only for fighting games.
Default should be 3 buttons.

slingshot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 267
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby slingshot » Mon Oct 15, 2018 7:31 pm

MasterOfGizmo wrote:Speaking of 3 vs. 6 buttons: imho 3 buttons should be the default state since nearly all games cope with the 3 button controller but not with the 6 button one.

I have no objection changing the default to 3 buttons. I don't even have a gamepad, so using the keyboard emulation, which is for 3+1 buttons.

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby DanyPPC » Mon Oct 15, 2018 7:39 pm

Simply select 3Button mode and save the config.

danialbi
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2018 5:46 pm

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby danialbi » Mon Oct 15, 2018 7:57 pm

Tnx for all the replies!
Do I need the mist.ini at all?
I have a 8 button pc style usb joypad but none of them seems to start the game; which button is the start by default?
Will try to edit mist.ini to use keyboard, what is the mapping of 3+1? Since mist.ini is in the root, Will then all cores use keyboard?

Edit: I mean, how can I have different mappings for different Cores?

Edit2: Some more details on joypad: Retrolink N64/GC VID=0079 PID=0006
Actually it is a 12 button; joystick1 test in OSD is ok all 12 buttons are recognized
Still I cannot START
What's wrong?

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby DanyPPC » Mon Oct 15, 2018 8:54 pm

You have to setting your joypad in Mist.ini
Example:

[genesis]
joystick_remap=0079,0006,1,2,4,8,200,40,20,10,100,400,0,0,40,80
;scandoubler_disable=1


the first values are relative to you controller,
1, 2, 4, 8 are for directional pad
10, 20, 40, 80, 100, 200, 400, and so on... are respectively Button 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 etc... of your gamepad.
They needs to be configured as this guide:

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-boar ... ickMapping

danialbi
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2018 5:46 pm

Re: Genesis / Megadrive core ported to MiST

Postby danialbi » Mon Oct 15, 2018 9:12 pm

Something weird:
With same settings I have tried fpgagen-beta_20170518.rbf
Well, I can start the game (frogger) with button10! and the joystick directional work
??? what changed?


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests