https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

thecrazyboy
Atarian
Atarian

about ludde nes port and simulation

Postby thecrazyboy » Fri Dec 11, 2015 3:48 am

Hello everyone and mist-developers,
does anyone successfuly simuluate the ludde nes in modelsim or other simulator?
I have tried and failed ,because many signals are unkown (x state) during simuation cause cpu stop at some instruction.
and I do some modification by initialize signals in initial statement or during reset , but I can‘t fix it all because i am a newbie.

I am sure ludde has used simulator to debug his code, because I find lots of system function $write invoked and commented in the source code,
but I just can't figure out how can he debug the code with so mang unkown state signal.

so question 1: how can ludde nes be ported to mist-board ? do you use simulator?

another FPGA NES is https://github.com/brianbennett/fpga_nes,
this is very easy to port, and very easy to simulate with very little modification.
what is the reason mist-board don't use it?
i also made a version which will use SRAM to place program rom, that is very good for FPGA chip with limited block ram
i also made a windows application will read and display the VGA rgb data generated by simulation, with this application I can debug code without hardware. i want to know if you interested it?
vga640x480.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God

Re: about ludde nes port and simulation

Postby Newsdee » Thu Dec 17, 2015 5:56 pm

You can always port it to the MiST as well. If it's easier to develop for because of the simulator then maybe more developers will take a closer look.

The current NES core is pretty good but needs some work on the mapper side of things, especially save RAM. No idea how accurate it is in timing vs. real hardware, but using it feels closer to the real thing than emulators.