Apple Macintosh aka Plus Too

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

sammargh
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 8:39 pm

Re: Apple Macintosh aka Plus Too

Postby sammargh » Tue Nov 24, 2015 6:13 am

Honestly HFVExplorer is probably the easiest to use. If you need to actually convert disk copy to diskdup I believe Basilisk II should be stable enough to complete this for you. I used my TiBook running OS9 to convert the images as it has full USB support and a card reader so it's quite easy to do.

I was able to get the system installed but took quite a bit of random patterns to figure out the secret. I had to make sure 1MB was used, first boot off the System 6.0.8 disk, attach the hd image, make sure no access was happening via the red led and reset the core. Follow the regular installation and select complete system for Macintosh Plus via the custom installer. Once done shut down via the special menu, verify the red led was not blinking and shut the MiST off. After that turned the MiST back on still at 1MB and restarted until I saw the floppy with a ? icon. Attached the hard drive image and now it's booting fine from the HD in both 1MB and 4MB mode.

It seems like the core can sometimes be unstable upon startup as a lot of times I will get lines going diagonally across the screen but never the ? icon and seems more prone to happen in 4MB mode. So long as I wait for the ? icon before attaching the HD with a successful install I am no longer having corruption/boot up issues.

I blame gremlins.

mahen
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 251
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 3:11 pm
Location: France

Re: Apple Macintosh aka Plus Too

Postby mahen » Wed Dec 02, 2015 5:51 pm

In case anyone is interested, I managed to find some of the Mac Plus games that made such a big impression on me when I was a kid :

- Radical Castle : http://macscene.net/home/features/news- ... cal-castle ; crazy half point & click half text adventure
- Captain Magneto : http://www.gryphel.com/c/sw/arcade/capnmagn/index.html
- Airborne (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7G7R9lV9eVY ; didn't find the disk image)
(- Scarab or Ra ; Bug...)

Some more disk images : http://www.emaculation.com/doku.php/system_6_hell including the first two specified above
Amiga user non-stop since 1993 ;-)
Win 1997-2001 / MorphOS 2002-2005 / Linux since 2005

mahen
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 251
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 3:11 pm
Location: France

Re: Apple Macintosh aka Plus Too

Postby mahen » Wed Dec 02, 2015 6:22 pm

Oh no, for some reason, I cannot mount the floppy disks found here : http://www.emaculation.com/doku.php/sys ... cal_castle ; any idea ?
Amiga user non-stop since 1993 ;-)
Win 1997-2001 / MorphOS 2002-2005 / Linux since 2005

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1334
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Apple Macintosh aka Plus Too

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Wed Dec 02, 2015 7:28 pm

These images are neither 800k nor 400k floppy disk images but something bigger a real mac could never read. Emulators can only read these because they bypass the floppy routines inside the OS completely. The MIST is real hardware and bypasses nothing. It needs images of exactly the same size real floppys were.
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

mahen
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 251
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 3:11 pm
Location: France

Re: Apple Macintosh aka Plus Too

Postby mahen » Thu Dec 03, 2015 9:22 pm

Oops, I'll transfer them via a Mac Emulator then :) Thanks :)

Oh btw, could you add scanlines in the future ? :)
Amiga user non-stop since 1993 ;-)
Win 1997-2001 / MorphOS 2002-2005 / Linux since 2005

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1545
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: Apple Macintosh aka Plus Too

Postby Newsdee » Fri Dec 04, 2015 1:12 am

FYI you can create disks and transfer files using a program called HFVExplorer on Windows. It works but because the MiST has the disks read-only, it will fail to mount newly created images. To avoid that you can either open the disk once in an emulator (so desktop files are added to it) or copy and empty an existing working disk in the HFV program.

What I'm finding a bit difficult is transferring the higher-density floppies (1.44 MB) because I have to extract all files in an emulator then recompress at 800 kb archives I can put in disks. I'll get around to it once I find a compatible Stuffit version...

Oh and this isnt a complaint. :) the above is exactly what I had to do to get files into (or out from) my old Mac SE. So I'd say the MiST core is working exactly as the real thing :lol:

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 930
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Apple Macintosh aka Plus Too

Postby vebxenon » Wed Feb 01, 2017 9:27 am

Hello. Is there any HD image with games-apps like some user here did for the Atari ST core? I've found very few games in 800KB format...

Regards,

Salva

PS: Arkanoid doesn't work because it requires to unlock the disk :P
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

Lroby74
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 8:35 pm

Re: Apple Macintosh aka Plus Too

Postby Lroby74 » Sun Apr 21, 2019 1:07 pm

Any updates for Mist version of Mac Plus? Just saw that on 9 March 2019 has been released an update of Mister version.

Wondering if possible to port to Mist, actual version is very old and have some issues.. :cry:

Thank you

my03
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2020 8:42 pm

Re: Apple Macintosh aka Plus Too

Postby my03 » Thu Feb 27, 2020 8:48 pm

Hi,

Are there any plans for further development of the plus too?

It triggers so many nostalgic feelins in the best of ways :) But i nowadays (after a few mist core updates) does not seem to be able to mount the hd images any longer (have tried to download ready made, empty one, creating new ones in other mac emulation software, following the plus too guide on the wiki, etc. It doesn't matter what i try, it just cant mount anything. What could i be doing wrong?

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1574
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Apple Macintosh aka Plus Too

Postby slingshot » Fri Feb 28, 2020 7:47 pm

There shouldn't be any non-backwards compatible changes. The QL core equally old, and still works.

my03
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2020 8:42 pm

Re: Apple Macintosh aka Plus Too

Postby my03 » Fri Feb 28, 2020 8:33 pm

slingshot,

yeah, it seems weird, i agree. But i know for a fact that it worked in the past (but i can't remember which core version of mist...) but now it doesn't.

I re-downloaded the 20MB image this evening again and retried it without success. Made sure to only do normal speed and 1MB of ram, but with the same result (it does not show up). If i try the HD utility (test, format, etc) it just hangs "waiting for command" :(

Idk what to do or try (?!)

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1574
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Apple Macintosh aka Plus Too

Postby slingshot » Fri Feb 28, 2020 10:12 pm

my03 wrote:slingshot,

yeah, it seems weird, i agree. But i know for a fact that it worked in the past (but i can't remember which core version of mist...) but now it doesn't.

I re-downloaded the 20MB image this evening again and retried it without success. Made sure to only do normal speed and 1MB of ram, but with the same result (it does not show up). If i try the HD utility (test, format, etc) it just hangs "waiting for command" :(

Idk what to do or try (?!)


If you can share that image, I can take a look (you can send a link to it privately if you want). I never managed to use that core, because I always hit a brick wall installing Mac OS :)

goran
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 4:17 pm

Re: Apple Macintosh aka Plus Too

Postby goran » Fri Feb 28, 2020 11:21 pm

I just tried with my PlusToo on the latest firmware and images that I use still work.

my03
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2020 8:42 pm

Re: Apple Macintosh aka Plus Too

Postby my03 » Sun Mar 01, 2020 2:22 pm

PMed you slingshot :)

my03
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2020 8:42 pm

Re: Apple Macintosh aka Plus Too

Postby my03 » Sun Mar 01, 2020 8:11 pm

goran,

could it be something with the actual revision of Mist that is used? I most probably have an older revision of this unit (i bought it some 4-6 years ago).

I sent a link to the HD-image that i use to slingshot (which is in all essence just a renamed version of the 20MB image from the GitHub page). "Best" scenario would be that it does not work for some reason, at least then i know that there is something fishy going on ;)

I run the latest Mist firmware and the last PlusToo core.

(also very sad to see that the development has stopped on Mist where it continues on the MISTer)

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1574
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Apple Macintosh aka Plus Too

Postby slingshot » Mon Mar 02, 2020 2:56 pm

my03 wrote:(also very sad to see that the development has stopped on Mist where it continues on the MISTer)

Anyone can pick up the development, the repo is not going anywhere. Btw, what development did you see there, I've only seen adding support for a second HD image.
The image you pointed is an empty image, first MacOS should be installed on it I guess (but I never managed to do it, even finding a correct MacOS release is a challenge).

my03
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2020 8:42 pm

Re: Apple Macintosh aka Plus Too

Postby my03 » Tue Mar 03, 2020 8:14 am

I just noticed later activity on that other version so i got curious.

regarding the HD-image, it was (afaik) supposed to have some scsi driver added to it already. It says:

"A matching harddisk image file can be found here. This is a 20MB harddisk image with correct partitioning information and a basic SCSI driver installed. The data partition itself is empty and unformatted. After booting the Mac will thus ask whether the disk is to be initialized. Saying yes and giving the disk a name will result im a usable file system."

But i would suppose that (after mounting) at least this image would become visible on the mac desktop, but it is not.

I tried to open it in vMac and that worked ok actually (i then installed 7.01 on it and tried it again in Plus Too, but it wont mount still). I asked on the FB Mist group and there seem to be a couple of others on there with the same issue so something seems to be broken :(

my03
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2020 8:42 pm

Re: Apple Macintosh aka Plus Too

Postby my03 » Thu Mar 05, 2020 12:50 pm

Update,

i DID manage to get the HD image recognized now, but i had to resort to and flash a firmware from 2015 (released day before the final Plus Too core). Not only that, but it had to (as also stated in the P.T wiki) be set to normal speed and 1MB ram.

Good to know for future reference


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests