Apple ][+ Core

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

RykoPrins
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 8:54 am

Re: Apple ][+ Core

Postby RykoPrins » Tue Oct 20, 2015 9:05 am

Thank you very much for adding the language card! Although it really needs 2 drives and an 80 column card Apple Pascal runs!

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 628
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Apple ][+ Core

Postby vebxenon » Wed Oct 21, 2015 12:36 am

Great update :)
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

917k
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 7:03 am

Re: Apple ][+ Core

Postby 917k » Fri Oct 23, 2015 4:30 am

Excellent, thank you!

breiztiger
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:54 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Apple ][+ Core

Postby breiztiger » Sun Jan 03, 2016 6:16 pm

a new version with Mockingboard model A (two AY-3-8913 chips for six audio channels) in slot 4

can somebody send some nib to test this card ? i have test with Mockingboard (19xx)(Sweet Micro Systems) Disk 1 and 2 very good for a apple ii ;-)

wsoltys
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2014 9:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Apple ][+ Core

Postby wsoltys » Tue Jan 05, 2016 9:04 pm

Just download the desired .dsk and use dsk2nib?
https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-boar ... ls/dsk2nib

breiztiger
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:54 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Apple ][+ Core

Postby breiztiger » Wed Jan 06, 2016 7:05 am

Thanks i Know How to convert dsk to nib :roll:

But i search for disk or nib That utilize this card like gammes or demos :coffe:

wsoltys
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2014 9:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Apple ][+ Core

Postby wsoltys » Wed Jan 06, 2016 6:20 pm

Unfortunately only a few games support it: http://atariage.com/forums/topic/228710 ... d-support/
I found a nice demo but it was iie only :/

You might have luck here:
http://www.pouet.net/prodlist.php?platform[]=Apple+II&page=1
http://www.apl2bits.net/tag/demoscene/

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 628
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Apple ][+ Core

Postby vebxenon » Fri Feb 05, 2016 9:46 am

Just a question, I was testing Arkanoid for Apple II, great port specially if you play using mouse. Will be mouse support added to this great core? :-)

Regads,

Salva
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

wsoltys
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2014 9:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Apple ][+ Core

Postby wsoltys » Fri Feb 05, 2016 3:57 pm

Sure, I'll have a look at it. But can't promise when due to lack of time.

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 628
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Apple ][+ Core

Postby vebxenon » Mon Feb 08, 2016 12:18 am

wsoltys wrote:Sure, I'll have a look at it. But can't promise when due to lack of time.


Don't worry :cheers: Take your time :D
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

User avatar
farvardin
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 367
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Apple ][+ Core

Postby farvardin » Wed Jul 06, 2016 8:11 pm

There are several mockingboard musics / demos in dsk format there, which you can convert to nib. Unfortunately, it sounds rather distorted / unacurate: http://www.ctrl-pomme-reset.fr/french-touch/
Do you experience the same?

wsoltys
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2014 9:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Apple ][+ Core

Postby wsoltys » Fri Jul 08, 2016 3:08 pm

From what I can see all demos listed on the page are for the Apple IIe and compatible with the IIgs and IIc. The core only supports the II+. I dunno if this is the issue you see or if its due to the mocking board implementation. Unfortunately I'm a little out of business and would need to relearn the little I knew and I don't have the time for it yet.

User avatar
farvardin
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 367
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Apple ][+ Core

Postby farvardin » Fri Jul 08, 2016 8:49 pm

ah sorry, you're right, I don't know much about Apple series of computers, I didn't notice they were different machines. It's probably related.

rittwage
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2014 6:26 pm

Re: Apple ][+ Core

Postby rittwage » Sat Sep 17, 2016 8:59 pm

It should be almost no work to support IIe. Most had an extra 64k card that works pretty much like a larger language card, and 80-column video. The later IIe had a 65c02, but I don't think most things require that?

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1226
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: Apple ][+ Core

Postby Newsdee » Sun Sep 18, 2016 1:25 am

I think it needs language ROM for the IIe. The 65c02 and a couple of extra ROMs are for the Enhanced //e.
(I've recently pimped up my real IIe into a //e just for fun - games are probably still compatible with the IIe)

rittwage
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2014 6:26 pm

Re: Apple ][+ Core

Postby rittwage » Wed Sep 28, 2016 12:44 am

It would also be super-nice if the core supported the scandoubler-disable switch in mist.ini, or had 15khz mode at all. :)

User avatar
Xtro
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 11:47 am
Location: Spain

Re: Apple ][+ Core

Postby Xtro » Sun Nov 11, 2018 11:31 am

I am trying that core on a 15khz display and it doesn't work. Would be great this core updated to support mist.ini scandoubler disable.

User avatar
DrOG
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 459
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: Apple ][+ Core

Postby DrOG » Sun Nov 11, 2018 12:41 pm

Xtro wrote:I am trying that core on a 15khz display and it doesn't work. Would be great this core updated to support mist.ini scandoubler disable.

Did you try this release?:
https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-bina ... appleii%2B

This has corrected sync signals and capable of component (YUV) output as well, although I don't remember if it has a scandoubler disabled option or not... Does the long pressing of the middle button on the front panel help?

User avatar
Xtro
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 11:47 am
Location: Spain

Re: Apple ][+ Core

Postby Xtro » Sun Nov 11, 2018 3:30 pm

No, I am using the latest core but only 31khz supported.
My MiST buttons only works the leftmost one

slingshot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 349
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Apple ][+ Core

Postby slingshot » Sun Dec 09, 2018 8:08 pm

Experimented a bit with this core, and added 15kHz support (attached). YPbPr also available in both 15kHz and 30kHz modes.

Anyone knows what hardware extension Prince of Persia requires? 80-column card, or something more?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 454
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Apple ][+ Core

Postby DanyPPC » Sun Dec 09, 2018 8:10 pm

I think PoP is for Apple 2 GS

slingshot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 349
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Apple ][+ Core

Postby slingshot » Sun Dec 09, 2018 8:16 pm

DanyPPC wrote:I think PoP is for Apple 2 GS

It says it requires a C or E model with 128k RAM.
Just I don't know what makes a + model to C.

DanyPPC
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 454
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Apple ][+ Core

Postby DanyPPC » Sun Dec 09, 2018 8:31 pm

I can not even use the joystick in games, so I can never play any games.

User avatar
DrOG
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 459
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: Apple ][+ Core

Postby DrOG » Mon Dec 10, 2018 5:31 am

slingshot wrote:Anyone knows what hardware extension Prince of Persia requires? 80-column card, or something more?

WOW! It would be really nice to play the game on the original system on which it was developed... :cheers:

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1226
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: Apple ][+ Core

Postby Newsdee » Mon Dec 10, 2018 5:58 am

The Apple IIe was an extension of the 2+ that came with 128KB of RAM, 80 columns, and extemded character set (with international support with some country-specific ROMs).

I believe most games just need the extra memory which is already availavle in the core.


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: pablumatic and 4 guests