MiST core and firmware changelog

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1224
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby Newsdee » Sat Jun 24, 2017 12:16 am

jcarvalho wrote:sorry for asking, but why messing with keys and auto-fire when things like demos: nocooper 1984, atari ste 20th anniversary demo and games like turricanII dont work?
basic things like a proper fpga implementation are left behind

That's because the FPGA cores and the firmware are different projects with different contributors, and need different skills, knowledge, and motivation to work on them.

User avatar
farvardin
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 367
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby farvardin » Fri Aug 25, 2017 9:29 pm

sorry @jcarvalho, but you often complain about how the MiST is not correctly finished and such. It's an open source development made with the passion of some few (unpaid) developpers. We must be very grateful about what was already made. I'd be tempted to say if Turrican II is not working correctly on the Atari ST core, then use the Amiga one, I've just played it until after the 1st boss, and it was gorgeous and perfect! Yeah, on some aspects, some emulators are "better", but on other the MiST is better, that's it. You have almost real original hardware with MiST, but there is maybe 2% which is not perfect (maybe also because of undocumented features) and that prevents some demos to run.

slingshot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 343
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby slingshot » Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:09 pm

Hi!
I've sent a PR for the firmware to skip the limit on the number of max. OSD options.
https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-firmware/pull/14
Any chance for a new release with it? It would open some possibilities in some cores (e.g. in the new Amstrad core from Sorgelig). The gap between the OSD options in MiST and MiSTer could be narrowed then.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3148
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby Sorgelig » Wed Aug 08, 2018 1:07 pm

firmware_180808
===============
- Support more than 7 OSD options (by slingshot).
- Support '?' in requested file extensions.

User avatar
RealLarry
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: San Junipero

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby RealLarry » Wed Aug 08, 2018 2:02 pm

:o What a great news!
You're title is saying Fuji Shaped Bastard. That's right. You're admirable! :cheers:
On the other side of the screen, it all looks so easy.

Sorgelig
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 3148
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby Sorgelig » Fri Aug 10, 2018 4:37 am

firmware_180810
===============
- Support 2 mounted images at the same time.

User avatar
krupkaj
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 286
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Olomouc/Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby krupkaj » Fri Aug 10, 2018 8:56 pm

great, thanks for a new version

christianlucio
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2016 5:03 pm

C64 core problems with latest firmware

Postby christianlucio » Sat Aug 11, 2018 6:37 pm

Hi,
with the latest firmware I have the problem that you can not list anymore the disk content in the c64 core (load"$",8 and then "list")
Anyone can confirm that mistake ?

NML32
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 545
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: C64 core problems with latest firmware

Postby NML32 » Sat Aug 11, 2018 6:58 pm

christianlucio wrote:Hi,
with the latest firmware I have the problem that you can not list anymore the disk content in the c64 core (load"$",8 and then "list")
Anyone can confirm that mistake ?

I’m able to list disk contents.
Works for me I tried firmware ATH180808 & ATH180810.

User avatar
DrOG
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 453
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby DrOG » Sun Aug 12, 2018 10:04 am

Disk listing works flawless with latest FW.

christianlucio
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2016 5:03 pm

o.k. again with newer C64 core

Postby christianlucio » Sun Aug 12, 2018 1:58 pm

I now tried a newer C64 core and here everything is o.k. again !

mrr19121970
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 3:40 pm

Re: o.k. again with newer C64 core

Postby mrr19121970 » Sat Aug 18, 2018 7:24 pm

christianlucio wrote:I now tried a newer C64 core and here everything is o.k. again !

can you provide the link ?

christianlucio
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2016 5:03 pm

Re: o.k. again with newer C64 core

Postby christianlucio » Sun Aug 19, 2018 8:15 am

mrr19121970 wrote:
christianlucio wrote:I now tried a newer C64 core and here everything is o.k. again !

can you provide the link ?

The one out of this subforum:
viewtopic.php?f=115&t=33985&start=25

squid4
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:12 pm

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby squid4 » Sun Aug 26, 2018 7:47 pm

Same problem here with current Mist site C64 core and firmware_180810.upg - i.e. D64 images don't load. Also noticed a few menu issues with older cores with this firmware.

Backup to firmware_170412.upg for me as it doesn't have these problems.

slingshot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 343
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby slingshot » Sun Aug 26, 2018 10:59 pm

As the source code of that C64 core version is not available, I cannot check what's the problem. The change of the UIO_[GET|SET]_SDSTAT command should not cause problems with well-written cores. ZX Spectrum still can load disks (without any change in the core), other C64 versions, too.
Also, what core has menu issue? Show me an example, and I'll fix it.
Last edited by slingshot on Sun Aug 26, 2018 11:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

slingshot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 343
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby slingshot » Sun Aug 26, 2018 11:00 pm

---

squid4
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:12 pm

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby squid4 » Mon Aug 27, 2018 6:31 pm

The older spectrum core had messed up menus with this new firmware. I've updated it with sorg's latest version and it looks OK.

verm71
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 12:01 pm

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby verm71 » Mon Sep 03, 2018 3:54 pm

One little issue that I've always kept an eye on (not sure if there's a bug log anywhere) is if I swap floppies, the disk free and/or label isn't updated properly when doing a directory listing.

Say I have a nearly full disk labelled "HELLO" and a fresh disk labelled "YOYO", inserting the first D64 (labelled HELLO), load"$",8, then LIST shows the expected results. If I swap the D64 to YOYO without resetting, and then also load"$",8, then LIST, the disk shows up as label HELLO, but with YOYO content.

I think I recall this having to do with write protect sensor not triggering the disk change to the DOS.

brunosilva
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:58 pm

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby brunosilva » Sat Sep 29, 2018 12:25 am

Hi

it's not possible to have _folders, botroom folder, "marquee" on the file names? so we can organize better the cores and needed files?

Thanks

slingshot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 343
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby slingshot » Sat Oct 13, 2018 10:19 am

firmware_181013
===============
- Support extra buttons on USB gamepads/joysticks

Need for new fpgagen beta.

User avatar
jotego
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 139
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 10:02 am
Location: Valencia (Spain)
Contact:

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby jotego » Tue Nov 13, 2018 12:38 pm

Feature Request

I think it would be good to add zip support to the firmware. We normally have the ROMs stored in zip format so it is more convenient to copy data over that way.

Another reason, is that once we start having support for more arcade platforms -particularly NeoGeo- the ZIP format is a neat way of putting all files together. The firmware could transmit all files to FPGA in alphabetical order. For my Ghosts'n Goblins core I chose to make a single binary file out of all the original ROM files using a bash script, but that is very inconvenient to final users and it puts off people from trying the core.

slingshot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 343
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby slingshot » Tue Nov 13, 2018 2:16 pm

That would be a good idea to consider, just last time I worked on the firmware to add more than 1 mountable drive support, there wasn't any RAM available for 2 more drive buffers, only for 1. Don't know if an unzipper would fit.
Btw, almost all cores has concatenated ROM files, and seems it doesn't prevent them to be used.

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1215
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby MasterOfGizmo » Tue Nov 13, 2018 8:54 pm

Ram may indèed be an issue.

But one thing that might be easy to add is a way to load multiple roms automatically if they match a pattern like corename0.bin, corename1.bin ...
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

User avatar
jotego
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 139
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 10:02 am
Location: Valencia (Spain)
Contact:

Re: MiST core and firmware changelog

Postby jotego » Wed Nov 14, 2018 12:01 pm

MasterOfGizmo wrote:Ram may indèed be an issue.

But one thing that might be easy to add is a way to load multiple roms automatically if they match a pattern like corename0.bin, corename1.bin ...


There are many arcade dumps that follow a pattern. Maybe that is a good option too.


Return to “MiST”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DrOG and 5 guests