Strange screenshot behaviour

Bug reports and support area for Steem

Moderators: Mug UK, Steem Authors, Moderator Team

Forum rules
All bug reports must include:
Steem version
Host operating system version
TOS ROM version
Copy of steem.ini
Reference to or copy of disk image being used
Brief description of steps performed
Description of desired outcome
Description of actual outcome
User avatar
Marakatti
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1310
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Strange screenshot behaviour

Postby Marakatti » Wed Jan 18, 2017 6:31 pm

Steem version - 3.9.0
Host operating system version - Windows XP SP 3
TOS ROM version - 1.62 UK
Copy of steem.cfg - Didn't find one...
Reference to or copy of disk image being used - all
Brief description of steps performed - taking screenshots
Description of desired outcome - to take screenshost as usual
Description of actual outcome - screenshots gets a large non center aligned border in BMP format and vertical & horizontal mirroring in PNG format
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
-------------< Member of Atarimania >-----------
-< ST / STe / Falcon030 / TT030 archiver >-
-------------> www.atarimania.com <-------------

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1988
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Strange screenshot behaviour

Postby Steven Seagal » Thu Jan 19, 2017 8:31 am

Marakatti wrote:Copy of steem.cfg - Didn't find one...


It's steem.ini but AF management prefers to write steem.cfg. I can't change this text.

What could also help is a copy/paste of TRACE.txt.

I fixed some screenshot issues in v3.9.0 but apparently there remain some.
I confirm that there is a problem with bmp when display option 'Borders' is off in the D3D build. I will look at it.
With PNG or bmp with borders, it should work (works for me).

If you absolutely want to use bmp with no borders, it still works in the DirectDraw build. That's the origin of the problem, I had to rewrite the screenshot routine for the D3D build, but I don't code as bug-free as Steem authors. :)

I use FreeImage 3.16.0. Double size, non stretched.

Thx for the report.

User avatar
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2340
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: Strange screenshot behaviour

Postby spiny » Thu Jan 19, 2017 8:46 am

Steven Seagal wrote:
Marakatti wrote:Copy of steem.cfg - Didn't find one...


It's steem.ini but AF management prefers to write steem.cfg. I can't change this text.



fixed :)

User avatar
Marakatti
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1310
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Strange screenshot behaviour

Postby Marakatti » Thu Jan 19, 2017 6:13 pm

It's steem.ini but AF management prefers to write steem.cfg. I can't change this text.

What could also help is a copy/paste of TRACE.txt.

Ah i see, will send one when i get back home.

If you absolutely want to use bmp with no borders, it still works in the DirectDraw build

I absolutely need to. Can't use shots with borders on Atarimania DB and cropping thousands of screenshots manually would mean a way too long time between site updates. Steem SSE is a crucial part of my Atarimania ST workstation, can't do this without it :cheers:

Borderless BMP screenshots works ok on 3.8.1. I need to use BMP because for some reason Steem's PNG is always mirrored both horizontally and/or vertically on my computer. I'll check the DirectDraw build in the meantime, thanks :)
-------------< Member of Atarimania >-----------
-< ST / STe / Falcon030 / TT030 archiver >-
-------------> www.atarimania.com <-------------

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1988
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Strange screenshot behaviour

Postby Steven Seagal » Thu Jan 19, 2017 7:09 pm

Marakatti wrote:Borderless BMP screenshots works ok on 3.8.1.


Yes, in 3.8.1 it still used the DirectDraw routines of Steem authors.
I hadn't brought my "touch" yet :)

EDIT: This confusion will be fixed in new version.
I didn't know D3D changed the size of your surface when copying another surface on it.

I need to use BMP because for some reason Steem's PNG is always mirrored both horizontally and/or vertically on my computer. I'll check the DirectDraw build in the meantime, thanks :)


This doesn't happen with me, that's odd, maybe you could check if you use the same version of FreeImage?


Return to “Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron