Steinberg SMP II Operation with Falcon CAF

Somewhere to chat about MIDI music creation, sequencers and related hardware

Moderators: Mug UK, lotek_style, Moderator Team

JoeAtari
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 8:20 pm
Location: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
Contact:

Steinberg SMP II Operation with Falcon CAF

Postby JoeAtari » Sat Feb 10, 2018 4:25 pm

I was fortunate to finally find an SMP II for my Falcon/CAF. Unfortunately it is not showing up under the devices yet. I am suspicious that it may be the centronics/printer cable, so I'll keep trying different cables, but I'm just checking to see if I am missing something.

I have SMP2_19.DRV in the MROS folder.
When I start CAF, the SMP II reboots and displays "SMP 24 2.0 1 92" Beeps three times, displays 00.00.00.00 in the SMPTE display.

I start a new midi track, and the output selections are ATARI MROS SAMPLER DSP

The four midi outs for SMP 24 are gray and cannot be selected.

Is there anything besides the SMP2_.DRV that needs to be enabled? I read the SMP 24 manual, but I don't have access to an SMP II Manual.

Thanks!
JoeAtari
FalconProductions - Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
http://www.falconproductions.us
http://www.facebook.com/AtariSTBook

JoeAtari
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 8:20 pm
Location: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
Contact:

Re: Steinberg SMP II Operation with Falcon CAF

Postby JoeAtari » Sat Feb 10, 2018 5:37 pm

It seems that the four "SMP 24" MIDI outputs came to life after toggling the synchronization settings in CAF. Now to see if an "A-B" switch will work so that I can have my printer and the SMP II attached all of the time without switching cables.

Now I have six MIDI outs if I still use my Midiman Mini Macman on the Lanport (I don't think I'll need it anymore!). I only have two synths hooked up now, but you know how these things tend to grow :D
JoeAtari
FalconProductions - Chino Valley, Arizona, USA
http://www.falconproductions.us
http://www.facebook.com/AtariSTBook

dbsys
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 309
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 6:11 am
Location: Germany

Re: Steinberg SMP II Operation with Falcon CAF

Postby dbsys » Sat Feb 10, 2018 5:45 pm

The driver you are using does not seem to be the latest version.

I am using the one I posted here:
viewtopic.php?f=15&t=32809&start=75#p338654

User avatar
Saturnin51
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 143
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 7:59 pm
Location: THIAIS - FRANCE

Re: Steinberg SMP II Operation with Falcon CAF

Postby Saturnin51 » Tue Feb 13, 2018 8:28 pm

The firmware for the SMP24 must be 1.6. I don't know firmware 2.0 ! The manual (here http://atarimusic.exxoshost.co.uk/index ... Itemid=361) speak about the 1.6 only. The firmware is updated by replacing the eprom of the SMP24.

My CAF driver is SMP24.DRV size 9075.

A switch SMP24-Printer seems to be not operative. I try a mecanic one, the printer runs OK but not the SMP24.
Falcon 030-14 Mo - FDI Steinberg -Soundpool Analog 8 - SMP24 - Cubase Audio Falcon 2.06 dongle - SC55 - SG64 - Yamaha CBX-T3

User avatar
Foxie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 204
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 7:12 pm

Re: Steinberg SMP II Operation with Falcon CAF

Postby Foxie » Tue Feb 13, 2018 11:19 pm

JoeAtari, it would be interesting to know if you have any luck with setting up a printer switch box. Use a mechanical one of course! I can't understand why Saturnin51's switch box didn't work. In theory, if you switch all 10 lines it will be exactly the same as replugging the cable. But it's possible some switchboxes might be cheap and only switch the strobe+busy lines - in which case it definitely won't work with the SMP24/II.

You do have to watch out with cable length on the printer port. You want to keep it as short as you possibly can, below 3 metres. If you go over that, exactly what happens depends on the cable characteristics speed of the machine and luck. All sorts of weird results could occur!

Do you use the SMPTE I/O feature of the SMPII? Or the two MIDI inputs? I'm working on cloning the Friend Chip MM1 8-output MIDI interface device for the Atari, which should work in Cubase and CAF. I was thinking of adding support for the SMPII protocol also to gain access to the two MIDI inputs, but it looks tricky. Latest progress is visible in this thread http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.ph ... &start=100

Do you get the "black screen" problem if you connect your Macintosh interface to the Falcon before Cubase has started? I heard about that in the documentation, but not owning a Falcon I've never been able to test it. I suppose the Macintosh interface would also function on the MegaSTE and TT.

What's weird is that it seems nobody wrote drivers for those rackmount 8 I/O Macintosh MIDI expanders that were popular in the late 90s? I can't see any reason why it wouldn't work on the Falcon/TT/MegaSTE. But then again the performance of those devices aren't very good when outputting dense MIDI events.

ranix
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 8:01 pm

Re: Steinberg SMP II Operation with Falcon CAF

Postby ranix » Wed Feb 14, 2018 7:38 am

I read your post very carefully, and by the way you worded certain things I think you may need to rename SMP2_.DRV to SMP24.DRV

This file should be in the MROS folder

It sounds to me like Saturnin51 might be onto something too, though. And Foxie is certainly more knowledgeable than I am in this area.

edit: oh, you got it working! Awesome!

User avatar
Saturnin51
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 143
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 7:59 pm
Location: THIAIS - FRANCE

Re: Steinberg SMP II Operation with Falcon CAF

Postby Saturnin51 » Wed Feb 14, 2018 9:11 am

About the switch I checked the internal connection. It seems all the pins are wired. I use cable less than 3m and I invert the cable between the SMP24 and the printer, unsuccessfully.
SPM24 must be running before launching Cubase. Two devices MIDI IN are plugged and three expander on MIDI OUT. And more the Atari MIDI are usable for another device. Needed if you want edit the patches of your expander.
Falcon 030-14 Mo - FDI Steinberg -Soundpool Analog 8 - SMP24 - Cubase Audio Falcon 2.06 dongle - SC55 - SG64 - Yamaha CBX-T3


Return to “MIDI Software and Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests