CosmosEx / UltraSatan with Akai s950 ?

Somewhere to chat about MIDI music creation, sequencers and related hardware

Moderators: Mug UK, lotek_style, Moderator Team

innovine
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2017 2:42 pm

CosmosEx / UltraSatan with Akai s950 ?

Postby innovine » Wed Apr 19, 2017 2:46 pm

Hi!

I have an Akai s950 with an IB-105 ACSI interface in it. This should work with a Megafile disk, but I would like to use an SD-card disk emulator. Does anyone here have experience with using these with an s950, and can let me know what devices work and don't work? Preferably a CosmosEx or UltraSatan, or something else easy to acquire. Even if these are known to not work, that would be useful information to me.
Thanks :)

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1263
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: CosmosEx / UltraSatan with Akai s950 ?

Postby mikro » Wed Apr 19, 2017 11:14 pm

I'd say you should go with the US -- you certainly can't use CE's mapped disks (it requires an Atari OS) but raw access should work.

innovine
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2017 2:42 pm

Re: CosmosEx / UltraSatan with Akai s950 ?

Postby innovine » Thu Apr 20, 2017 9:12 am

Do you know if it actually works, though?

I know it SHOULD, but that is not the same thing...

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1263
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: CosmosEx / UltraSatan with Akai s950 ?

Postby mikro » Thu Apr 20, 2017 1:38 pm

If it works with Megafile, it will work with US & friends.

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 640
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: CosmosEx / UltraSatan with Akai s950 ?

Postby Faucon2001 » Thu Apr 20, 2017 2:23 pm

Keeping in mind that you won't be able to use SD cards bigger than 64 MB. It's a limitation of S950 OS.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 1984
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: CosmosEx / UltraSatan with Akai s950 ?

Postby charles » Sat Apr 22, 2017 11:29 pm

anyway I can help ?
I have akai s-900
would it have the IB-105 ACSI interface ...
id be willing to try my friends ultra satan in it ,,
but need some pointers to config and partition
atari is my lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! !,
Im printing unreadable characters ...!

User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 1984
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: CosmosEx / UltraSatan with Akai s950 ?

Postby charles » Sat Apr 22, 2017 11:32 pm

would you point me to where I could identify a ib-105 asci interface?
url http ?
atari is my lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! !,
Im printing unreadable characters ...!

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 640
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: CosmosEx / UltraSatan with Akai s950 ?

Postby Faucon2001 » Sat Apr 22, 2017 11:53 pm

Good luck, it worths almost more than the S950 itself.
I have gone with a scsi interface instead, much cheaper and still produced.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 640
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: CosmosEx / UltraSatan with Akai s950 ?

Postby Faucon2001 » Sun Apr 23, 2017 12:50 am

Artmix is producing an scsi interface and a memory expansion for the s950, much cheaper than what you can find on eBay. The guy is in Japan, but he answers in English and he's very nice.
I have read about people who have connected a Link2 acsi-scsi interface to the IB105 in order to use SCSI drives, and it works.
So no reason why the Ultrasatan won't work.
I have a S950 with scsi interface, I have a spear Link2 and an UltraSatan. I going to try it, though I don't know if the Link works for a reverse connection scsi->acsi-> UltraSatan.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

xno
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 03, 2017 8:38 am

Re: CosmosEx / UltraSatan with Akai s950 ?

Postby xno » Wed May 03, 2017 8:44 am

Hello i have ultra satan and akai S950 + IB 105, but i dont know how to make it works

I bought several kind of SD card 2/4GB , formated them but S950 dont see it ...

does anyone happen to use ultra satan with S950 ?

thx

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 640
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: CosmosEx / UltraSatan with Akai s950 ?

Postby Faucon2001 » Thu May 04, 2017 1:38 am

S950 can only manage hard disk up to 64 MB ( that's not an error, it's really Mega Bytes) and the disk must be formated directly on the S950, not on a PC, Mac or ST.
Now does an UltraSatan works with a S950 ? That's the topic of this thread, and though it should, nobody knows.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home

xno
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 03, 2017 8:38 am

Re: CosmosEx / UltraSatan with Akai s950 ?

Postby xno » Thu May 04, 2017 2:31 pm

hmm , gigafile from inventronik support S950.

it has been tested , there s even guidelines from inventronik

whats the difference between gigafile and ultrasatan if anyone knows ?

u can save up to 128 volume ( partition ?), i was under impression u could save more than 64mb. Theorically 128 x 64mb but u can use SD of 2 and 4 gb only

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 640
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: CosmosEx / UltraSatan with Akai s950 ?

Postby Faucon2001 » Thu May 04, 2017 11:35 pm

I have found some reading on S950 forums stating that the Ultrasatan is working with a S950 and IB 105.
Now regarding the size your interpretation is wrong.
S950 can only manage a maximum disk size of 64 MB, I am not inventing it it's written in Akai manual.
Remember that when the s950 was sold (89-91) it was a huge harddrive size. Gigabyte drives only appears 10 years later.
A volume is not a partition, it's just the saving unit for 1 memory dump. If you have a full expanded S950 I.e 2.25 MB, that's the maximum size of a volume. If you have less memory it will be less. You can have up to 128 volumes, each one of a different size for a total harddrive size of 64 MB.
The ultrasatan have 2 SD card, so you can save up to 2x64MB with this unit without changing the cards.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music http://www.philippeworld.net/
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/emaappsarch/home


Return to “MIDI Software and Hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest