Web browsing with CosmosEx?

News, questions and bugs reports about CosmosEx by Jookie. Now we have a Raspberry Pi in our machines!

Moderators: Jookie, Moderator Team

Tillek
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 4:51 pm

Re: Web browsing with CosmosEx?

Postby Tillek » Mon Aug 14, 2017 12:48 am

So copying it into Auto seemed to work better?

I'm trying to get it working since I think I'm going to keep the CosmosEx permanently (more or less) connected to my TT... (I tried hooking it up to the MegaSTE to back up the BBS and.... I almost thought I trashed the real physical HD)...

But it seems to work great on the TT030 through ACSI (even if I hook up the BBS' hard drive tower to it for backing up on the SCSI chain).... If I can get it working I can use the Daynaport elsewhere (the BBS machine has an EtherNec)

My issue right now is that I can ping from the Pi... but not from the TT030. It identifies the driver when the ping program starts, and the CE_STING reports that it found the CosmosEx ok... but the ping reports 100% packet loss (and nothing else works).

(I'm using regular TOS for all this... never really got MiNT working... that's my next project).

Any ideas?

User avatar
leech
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 912
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 3:26 pm

Re: Web browsing with CosmosEx?

Postby leech » Mon Aug 14, 2017 11:27 pm

MiggyMog wrote:That would be cool, I had the same idea, but you actually have the skill to make it happen! (in fullscreen ;-))


So I'm thinking Squid. Caching web proxy. Could probably even write some extensions to it to make websites Atari friendly, then You'd have everything redirected to the browser on the ST. Pretty sure that wouldn't be too difficult (stripping out all the crap might be harder, but not impossible)

I may have a play around and see if that'll work.
Atari 8Bits: 800xl, 600xl, XEGS, 800, 130xe, 130xe (fully upgraded (soon!))
Atari STs: 1040STf (broken shifter), 1040STe, Mega STe, TT030, Falcon (CT60e, SuperVidel)

User avatar
Bikerbob
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am
Location: Oakville, ON, Canada
Contact:

Re: Web browsing with CosmosEx?

Postby Bikerbob » Sat Dec 23, 2017 9:42 pm

I am still trying to get this to work.

I am using a Mega STE 4mb machine.

I have Cab 2.7 and Cab 1.5 - There was an overlay in 1.5 that seems to work with the Fake STing -- so I can get working with both using that .ovl.

I crash often and many things are screwy, but I think that is what it is.. not much to do about it. I can google, trying to figure out how to get gmail to do basic html display.. I know it can.. just need to configure it before the browser crashes.

My big issue or what I would like to do is get Atariirc working. I can get telnet, irc.tos, cab, etc.. all to access the net.. maybe not work perfect, but I cannot get Atariirc to work. Any help would be much appreciated.

James

arf
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu May 17, 2012 9:56 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Web browsing with CosmosEx?

Postby arf » Mon Dec 25, 2017 1:32 pm

joska wrote:The only realistic solution is to render the webpage as a bitmap on a proxy server of some sort, and then display this bitmap on the Atari. With the CosmosEx and it's ACSI/SCSI interface this would be fast enough for animations and even basic video.


A proxy like wrp could help.


Social Media

     

Return to “CosmosEx”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest