Data corruption with CosmosEx SD card (Falcon/SCSI)

News, questions and bugs reports about CosmosEx by Jookie. Now we have a Raspberry Pi in our machines!

Moderators: Jookie, Moderator Team

User avatar
Estrayk
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 199
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 2:52 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Data corruption with CosmosEx SD card (Falcon/SCSI)

Postby Estrayk » Sun Apr 23, 2017 1:46 am

Daniel, had you check The new version from HDDRIVER?


http://hddriver.seimet.de/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=172
・Falcon ct60e・Atari MegaSTE ・Atari STe ・MIST ・

User avatar
rian_ata
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 10:00 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Data corruption with CosmosEx SD card (Falcon/SCSI)

Postby rian_ata » Sun Apr 23, 2017 10:58 am

Estrayk wrote:Daniel, had you check The new version from HDDRIVER?


http://hddriver.seimet.de/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=172


It is indeed worth trying, cause I have a lot of success with the new version! As stated in the thread: "I do not know what Uwe changed, but my CT60e with this HDDriver version is suddenly able to load all kinds of demos that didn't work before. Also the issue with the CosmosEx SCSI seems to be solved (I think I read that in the changes also), no more copy time-outs with large files. I am happy!

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 820
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: Data corruption with CosmosEx SD card (Falcon/SCSI)

Postby dhedberg » Sun Apr 23, 2017 11:59 am

Estrayk wrote:Daniel, had you check The new version from HDDRIVER?
http://hddriver.seimet.de/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=172

I will have a look at it as soon as possible and get back with the results. I run 10.02 now, but as I understand, Uwe introduced dynamic timeouts on writes in 10.03 which sounds like it could maybe solve the CosmosEx problems with data corruptions.
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo MORE.

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 820
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: Data corruption with CosmosEx SD card (Falcon/SCSI)

Postby dhedberg » Fri Jun 09, 2017 9:21 pm

Alright, sorry for this very late reply. I installed HDDriver 10.03 and updated the CosmosEx.
Unfortunately nothing much changed.

Regarding the problems copying big files:
Tried to copy a 12MB file from the IDE to the SD using TOS copy. Copy operation failed with an error dialog.

Regarding the problems with unpacking files on a shared network drive:
Tried to decompress some LZH files that I put on the shared network drive. Some of the files fails to unpack when decompressing using LHarc 3.10 junior (TOS program). Fails at the same place every time. However, when using LZHShell 3.10 (GEM program) it works. The very same LZH was also successfully decompressed using WinRAR on Windows on the shared drive. So, the way LHarc 3.10 junior (LHARCENG.TTP) writes/reads data triggers a bug in CosmosEx I guess. I've had the same problem with ZIP files, using ZIPJR.TTP (TOS program) would cause errors when decompressing, while using STZIP (GEM program) would work just fine. If you want I can send you the LZH files that triggers this bug Jookie. The very same LZH file works to decompress on both the SD card and the IDE drive, so I guess this bug is specific to the shared network drive.
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo MORE.

alienkidmj12
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 6:45 pm

Re: Data corruption with CosmosEx SD card (Falcon/SCSI)

Postby alienkidmj12 » Tue Oct 09, 2018 6:53 pm

i also have corruption, i will try latest hddriver, did anyone solve this ?

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 820
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: Data corruption with CosmosEx SD card (Falcon/SCSI)

Postby dhedberg » Tue Oct 09, 2018 7:21 pm

No, the bug is still there, and it seems to be in the firmware, so nothing much we can do about it. I know Jookie worked hard on it but wasn't able to solve it.
There's actually 2 bugs, the first one hits SD-cards and USB memory sticks and prevents copying of larger files. This one is a firmware bug. The other bug is related to file reads (and possibly writes) from/to a shared network device. Software that does not ensure that their read/write buffers are located on an even address will be hit by corrupted data during reads/writes. As an example, try unpacking a zip located on the shared drive using ST-Zip, or an lzh file with LHarc. While unpacking it will complain about corrupt archives. Sometimes you'll be lucky and all buffers happen to be aligned, sometimes not. I reported this second bug to Jookie and he got back to me, but as you probably know, he's not been active for quite a while so I don't think he ever looked into it.
Last edited by dhedberg on Wed Oct 10, 2018 7:50 am, edited 1 time in total.
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo MORE.

alienkidmj12
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 6:45 pm

Re: Data corruption with CosmosEx SD card (Falcon/SCSI)

Postby alienkidmj12 » Tue Oct 09, 2018 9:54 pm

yes, im hitting the second bug right now :) you can see my post on falcon fb channel :(

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 820
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: Data corruption with CosmosEx SD card (Falcon/SCSI)

Postby dhedberg » Wed Oct 10, 2018 8:42 am

Yes, it's a little bit of a mess. The CosmosEx is still useful on a Falcon030, but you have to watch out and know how to work around the bugs otherwise you must certainly will end up with corrupted data. Hopefully someday Jookie (or somebody else) will be able to fix the bugs.

I think you were hit by the first bug actually. The second bug should not occur while copying files with TOS as TOS seems to always WORD align its buffers (I have not verified this), at least I have not noticed any corruption when copying files from a network drive to the IDE Compact Flash disk. Did you perhaps copy a large file from the shared drive to a CosmosEx SD-card/USB memory stick?
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo MORE.

alienkidmj12
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 6:45 pm

Re: Data corruption with CosmosEx SD card (Falcon/SCSI)

Postby alienkidmj12 » Wed Oct 10, 2018 8:45 pm

i basically copied the nightly build of mint from my nas drive through cosmos to my internal ide cf card, it corrupted it.

the file is 4.59mb

i ended up with crc errors when trying to unpack it.

dave

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 820
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: Data corruption with CosmosEx SD card (Falcon/SCSI)

Postby dhedberg » Wed Oct 10, 2018 9:01 pm

Ouch. Doesn't sound good. I usually backup files from my Atari to the PC using the network connection and shared drive capabilities of the CosmosEx, but I may have to check and make sure that the files are OK. I did quite some extensive testing about 1-2 years ago but didn't have any problems copying files between the Falcon IDE CF card and the shared drive back then.
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo MORE.

alienkidmj12
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 6:45 pm

Re: Data corruption with CosmosEx SD card (Falcon/SCSI)

Postby alienkidmj12 » Wed Oct 10, 2018 9:06 pm

i really am screwed over this lol, something i cant use much :( it had good intentions but until it works i dunno what ill do

User avatar
dhedberg
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 820
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: Data corruption with CosmosEx SD card (Falcon/SCSI)

Postby dhedberg » Wed Oct 10, 2018 10:05 pm

I completely agree that the situation is not good, especially not with a 100 more CosmosEx soon to be shipped. I can only assume that quite a few of those will be used with Falcons. I guess you can write Jookie and let him know that there are more people hitting these bugs. I got the impression that I was the only one communicating with him about these bugs 1-2 years ago. Probably because the SCSI version had just been released and perhaps I was the only one using it with a Falcon?
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo MORE.


Social Media

     

Return to “CosmosEx”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests