I really need some help with CosmosEx

News, questions and bugs reports about CosmosEx by Jookie. Now we have a Raspberry Pi in our machines!

Moderators: Jookie, Moderator Team

STNooB
Atari User
Atari User

I really need some help with CosmosEx

Postby STNooB » Mon Feb 01, 2016 11:14 am

I bought one nearly a year ago (near the end of March), and I've never really got going with it - what with me being a complete noob to the ST, and work / health.

I've read lots, but either it's because I don't have any background for an ST, or I'm just dumb, but I just can't seem to get my head around getting stuff to work. I''ve lost count the amount of times I've had to take it to bits, so I can reflash the internal microSD card and/or connect up to HDMI to update.

I have a CosmosEx with a Pi, and the latest firmware update. (2016-01-17)
An Atari STE (TOS STE v2.06) with 4MB, and a Zydec external floppy drive.
Copy of HDDRIVER 9.08. (Still in a zip file, I can't figure out how to get into on to a floppy, since I can't access my external floppy drive.)
A 16GB USB stick
A 32GB SD card.

I've already cut the case up etc, so I can use the cosmosex internally. (I did that back when I plugged it all in and it seemed to work, not realising there's a lot more to do to get Floppy / HDD emulation)

I'd really like to be able to access emulated FDD from USB and have an emulated HDD from SD, but also be able to access the external FDD as normal. I know the external floppy drive works fine, because when I remove the cosmosex and put the internal floppy back in, both drives work normally. (Seem to remember on the older version I never had that problem, but it's been at least 6 months since I've played around with all of this.

I've already cut off part of the plug at the back from the cosmosex so the Floppy drive can be plugged in at the same time.