Page 1 of 1

Trouble configuring HD-sd

Posted: Wed Apr 15, 2015 8:01 pm
by Dela
Jookie wrote:
Dela wrote:I'm having trouble getting my sd set up as harddrive , I use ICD AdSCSI on a floppy disk , so i keep my floppy disk cable connected to the old floppy drive in order to load the program. But now the CE is only connected with scsi cable and ikbd injector and powered via micro-usb. When I scan for hardrives nothing is found.


Hello,

opening a separate thread for solving this CosmosEx issue might be a good idea ;)
I'm not sure what ICD AdSCSI software does, but maybe you should try ICD Pro or HDDRIVER instead (or is the software on the floppy just ICD Pro?).

Jookie



ok so I reformatted my floppy disk and copied the files of ICD pro again , now I get after the scan 2 possible drives to format :

ID 0,0 jookie CosmosEx 0
ID 1,0 jookie CosmosEx 1

which one do I select to continue?

Re: Trouble configuring HD-sd

Posted: Wed Apr 15, 2015 9:26 pm
by Dela
Got past the partition part , sd card partitioned autoboot setup etc..

Stuck on how to get the usb working to transfer images to sd, and i'm not able to go to my configuration disk o: when sd card is entered?

:shrug:

thx for helping

Re: Trouble configuring HD-sd

Posted: Thu Apr 16, 2015 8:10 am
by Jookie
Dela wrote:ok so I reformatted my floppy disk and copied the files of ICD pro again , now I get after the scan 2 possible drives to format :

ID 0,0 jookie CosmosEx 0
ID 1,0 jookie CosmosEx 1

which one do I select to continue?


This depends on which one you selected as SD card... If your setup is still 'SD to ID 0 ,CE_DD to ID 1', then you want to format and partition ID 0.

Dela wrote:Stuck on how to get the usb working to transfer images to sd, and i'm not able to go to my configuration disk o: when sd card is entered?


Yes, this is the problem with some of the hard drive drivers - once they got loaded, they stop the other drivers to load from bootsector(s) of other device(s). So your options are (at least these two):
A) SD as 0, CE_DD as 1. Boot ICD Pro from SD card (0) and have the CE_DD.PRG in the AUTO folder of your boot partition (on SD card)
B) CE_DD as 0, SD as 1. This way it boots CE_DD first, then it continues to boot from SD card, and you should have both drivers loaded.

Re: Trouble configuring HD-sd

Posted: Thu Apr 16, 2015 8:13 pm
by Dela
Ok got it working with option B!

Thx! only problem now is i'm lacking memory to run cubase2.0 :( Before no problem to run the image from usb , only had to get the sd working to save my work.

Almost there :coffe:

Re: Trouble configuring HD-sd

Posted: Wed Apr 22, 2015 11:44 am
by Jookie
Dela wrote:Ok got it working with option B!

Thx! only problem now is i'm lacking memory to run cubase2.0 :( Before no problem to run the image from usb , only had to get the sd working to save my work.


Well, I'm not sure if this is a question, or just a note, but I'll answer it anyway :) Both drivers take some memory, so if you don't have enough memory to run your app with both, use only one when running the app, and then load both to copy data around, if needed.

Re: Trouble configuring HD-sd

Posted: Sat Apr 09, 2016 11:40 am
by Jungsi
I'am also back to using the CosmosEx (first version of board) :-)

I've tried version B
B) CE_DD as 0, SD as 1. This way it boots CE_DD first, then it continues to boot from SD card, and you should have both drivers loaded
All seems to be ok - so I can see the config-drive with the applications - but when I start for example ce_conf it seems to start - you can see the bee but nothing more happens - you can only reset the Atari
When I try Version A) it boot from the SD but doesn't boot form CE_DD - so I've put CE_DD in the Auto folder so the functionality is ok
I'am working on a 1040 STF with ICD Pro
Just to let you know :-)

Re: Trouble configuring HD-sd

Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 6:58 am
by Jookie
Jungsi wrote:B) CE_DD as 0, SD as 1. This way it boots CE_DD first, then it continues to boot from SD card, and you should have both drivers loaded
All seems to be ok - so I can see the config-drive with the applications - but when I start for example ce_conf it seems to start - you can see the bee but nothing more happens - you can only reset the Atari


I got reported something similar, but the result was the bombs instead of running application (or your busy bee waiting indefinitely). The other guy reported, that as soon as he's not using SD card, everything runs fine.

The other thing is, that in the next days there should be a release / update, which will totally change how running applications is done, so it might improve this or even break other things...

Re: Trouble configuring HD-sd

Posted: Mon Apr 18, 2016 10:07 pm
by nanard
Dela wrote:[...]
ok so I reformatted my floppy disk and copied the files of ICD pro again , now I get after the scan 2 possible drives to format :

ID 0,0 jookie CosmosEx 0
ID 1,0 jookie CosmosEx 1

which one do I select to continue?

I made a patch to add type to inquiry : BOOT / IMG / SD / RAW
https://github.com/miniupnp/ce-atari/tree/dev_name
;)