CosmosEx and HD drivers

News, questions and bugs reports about CosmosEx by Jookie. Now we have a Raspberry Pi in our machines!

Moderators: Jookie, Moderator Team

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2144
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

CosmosEx and HD drivers

Postby DrCoolZic » Sun Oct 19, 2014 11:57 am

Seems like we are having problems with HD drivers and large drives connected to CosmosEx
So this thread is mainly for Jookie, Peter, and Uwe

For the tests I am using the following configuration
- ACSI ID0 = SD
- ACSI ID1 = RAW
- ACSI ID2 = CE_DD
Mount USB Media as RAW

Test Machine Atari STe 4MB RAM TOS 2.06

Test drives:
- 500GB USB Hard Disk. Even if it does not make too much sense it is used to test access to very large drive size.
- 4GB USB memory stick

HD Drivers
- HDDRIVER
- PPDRIVER

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Test HDDR903

- 500 GB Drive capacity reported 476940.0
Create 4 x 500 MB DOS&TOS partitions: works OK
Create 6 x 500 MB DOS&TOS partitions: Error "STOP could not write root sector"

- 4 GB drive capacity reported 3700.0
create 4 x 500MB DOS&TOS partitions: "Could not write root sector copy" continue OK
But last partition instead of being reported as CosmosEx 1 is reported as SH/MEGAFILE???
create 8 x 480MB DOS&TOS partitions: "Could not write root sector copy" continue "STOP could not write root sector"

-------------------------------------------------------------------
Test PPD 1.01 with partitioner SPP922U

- 500 GB Drive capacity reported 476940
Create 4 x 500 MB DOS&TOS partitions: works OK re-reading shows correct info
create 6 * 500 MB DOS&TOS partitions: seems to work OK
but when re-reading info it displays all 14 partitions 500 MB?
When reboot driver reports only 5 partitions.

- 4 GB drive capacity reported 3700
create 6 * 500 MB DOS&TOS partitions: seems to work OK
but when re-reading info it displays all 14 partitions 500 MB?
However when reading with HDDUTIL reports correctly 6 partitions

--------------------------------------------------------------

Bottom line: partitioning beyond 2 GB seems to cause problems on both drivers
do not know if problem with driver or problem with HW?
Last edited by DrCoolZic on Sun Oct 19, 2014 4:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2796
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: CosmosEx and HD drivers

Postby AtariZoll » Sun Oct 19, 2014 2:06 pm

Are tests with 4 GB drive done in RAW (USB) or SD card mode ?
If not in SD, you should test all it with some SD card too.

I tested with UltraSatan and 4 GB cards, and all was OK (with PPD). 2 GB limit may be signed 32-bit nature. But in partitioner all it goes by sector addressing, so 2GB is actually 32-10=22 bit addressing only. So, there hardly can be such limit.
I tested partitioner successfully with 200 GB IDE hard disk, and it worked fine.
Strange is different size reported for 4 GB disk by 2 util.
It would be useful to perform some R/W tests on latest partition , which is beyond 2GB , to see is problem appear with drivers too, or just by partitioners.
All what I can more to do this days is to get some 8-16 GB SD card and test with it .
Negative feedback has usually positive effect.

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2144
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: CosmosEx and HD drivers

Postby DrCoolZic » Sun Oct 19, 2014 4:18 pm

AtariZoll wrote:Are tests with 4 GB drive done in RAW (USB) or SD card mode ?
If not in SD, you should test all it with some SD card too.

Not sure I understand? As I said ID0=SD ID1=RAW
You cannot say SD to access RAW
For info I boot from SD card and it is a 2GB SD card - one with PPD one with HDD

I tested with UltraSatan and 4 GB cards, and all was OK (with PPD). 2 GB limit may be signed 32-bit nature. But in partitioner all it goes by sector addressing, so 2GB is actually 32-10=22 bit addressing only. So, there hardly can be such limit.
I tested partitioner successfully with 200 GB IDE hard disk, and it worked fine.
Strange is different size reported for 4 GB disk by 2 util.

This is my mistake. HDD offers two options for displaying capacity the stupid 1000 bytes per KB and the standard 1024 bytes per KB.
So capacity is the same 3700 MB

I have corrected the size reported in my first post

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2796
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: CosmosEx and HD drivers

Postby AtariZoll » Sun Oct 19, 2014 7:29 pm

DrCoolZic wrote:Not sure I understand? As I said ID0=SD ID1=RAW
You cannot say SD to access RAW
For info I boot from SD card and it is a 2GB SD card - one with PPD one with HDD ....


Just want to check is 2 GB limit problem appears with SD with ID0, so SD in SD slot. But you need bigger card for that, of course.
Negative feedback has usually positive effect.

AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2796
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: CosmosEx and HD drivers

Postby AtariZoll » Mon Oct 20, 2014 1:54 pm

I bought 16 GB Sandisk SD card (15 Euros) and did testings:
ppp13sd16.png

Created one 13 GB FAT32 part. to fill space. Then tested write and read on last FAT16 partition. Everything went fine - partitioner read same parts. and count after partitioning . So, there is no 2 GB limit for sure. In driver all worked fine on last partition, which is placed somewhere at 15 GB . Only error is UltraSatan's capacity report in gray bar - most likely it can max 4 digits.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Negative feedback has usually positive effect.

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2144
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: CosmosEx and HD drivers

Postby DrCoolZic » Tue Oct 21, 2014 2:57 pm

AtariZoll wrote:
DrCoolZic wrote:Not sure I understand? As I said ID0=SD ID1=RAW
You cannot say SD to access RAW
For info I boot from SD card and it is a 2GB SD card - one with PPD one with HDD ....


Just want to check is 2 GB limit problem appears with SD with ID0, so SD in SD slot. But you need bigger card for that, of course.

Must have a 4 GB SD will do tests

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2144
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: CosmosEx and HD drivers

Postby DrCoolZic » Tue Oct 21, 2014 2:58 pm

For Jookie :)

CosmosEx configuration
Let’s review the latest configuration options
We now have type SD, RAW, CE_DD in ACSI id assignment + We have USB as RAW/Translated
The RAW/translated act as a global setting: so either all RAW or all Trans.

Config
ACSI ID0 = SD
ACSI ID1 = RAW
ACSI ID3 = CE_DD
USB as RAW

Some tests:
1 - Plug a TOS SD card (4 partitions) in SD reader + TOS USB stick (4 partitions) in USB
HDD903 find all partitions on SD & USB cards.
Problem: ACSI ID3 is detected as Jookie CosmosEx 3 – device supports removable media. Therefore HDD reserve as many letters as specified in drive ID to reserve. ID3 should NOT be reported as support
Note: USB stick can be placed in any USB plug still works OK
2 – Plug a TOS SD card (4 partitions) in SD reader + TOS USB stick (4 partitions) in USB + TOS USB (1 partition)
In that case not clear which one is used? Seems like the winner is always the bottom one. Is this a rule?
3 -– Plug a TOS SD card (4 partitions) in SD reader + TOS USB stick (4 partitions) in USB + DOS USB stick (1 FAT32 partitions) in USB
IN that case behavior is a bit random. After first reset always get 4 bombs. After that it sometimes report the FAT32 partition as ACSI ID1 or the 4 partitions as ACSI ID1. Does not seems to be related to position USB top / bottom. Could not find any logic seems to pick one after power up and stick with it?

Remarks: Test 3 above does not make sense as we have all USB as RAW
Do we really need “use USB as” in config?
If we have specified an ID as RAW that means that we want to access USB as RAW otherwise won’t be accessible anyway.
On the reverse if we want to access DOS USB sticks we do not want to specify RAW ID?
So does it make sense to remove the “Mount USB media as” and just have the following rule? If one or several ID is assigned to RAW then we are in RAW mode.

Note: each time you specify an ID RAW this reserve letters in HDD driver even if nothing connected unless of course you specify 0 in drive ID to reserve (need to update doc).

Test 4 : same config as above but mount USB as TRAN
2 DOS FAT32 USB used works OK mounted by CE_DD without problem.
Test 5: plug a DOS&TOS partition created with HDD. Drive is present but not mounted correctly: MOUNT.ERR => mounting /dev/sdc failed invalid argument
Question are FAT16 supported?

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2144
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: CosmosEx and HD drivers

Postby DrCoolZic » Tue Oct 21, 2014 4:17 pm

DrCoolZic wrote:
AtariZoll wrote:
DrCoolZic wrote:Not sure I understand? As I said ID0=SD ID1=RAW
You cannot say SD to access RAW
For info I boot from SD card and it is a 2GB SD card - one with PPD one with HDD ....


Just want to check is 2 GB limit problem appears with SD with ID0, so SD in SD slot. But you need bigger card for that, of course.

Must have a 4 GB SD will do tests

Tested 4GB SD card
Partitioner works OK
Installed driver 1.01

So it seems that the problem comes from the USB drives?

FYI: As I spend my time switching between SD card that contains PPDR and HDDR SW I just killed one of my 2GB SD card :(
Seems like if you remove the card during boot (stupid isnt it?) it kill the card.

User avatar
Jookie
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1245
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 6:54 pm
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: CosmosEx and HD drivers

Postby Jookie » Thu Oct 23, 2014 7:01 am

The issue comes from accessing USB media beyond 2 GB - there's a variable overflow. I'm working on a fix, but I've hit another issue, so I have to fix the other issue, too, before releasing the fix for the first.

DrCoolZic wrote:Remarks: Test 3 above does not make sense as we have all USB as RAW
Do we really need “use USB as” in config?


It's not needed if there will be some automatic decision how to mount the USB media - just like before. But as that automatic decision didn't always do what user expected, the 'Use USB as' radio button were added.

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2144
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: CosmosEx and HD drivers

Postby DrCoolZic » Fri Oct 24, 2014 7:15 am

What I had in mind is that as soon as you specify an ID of type RAW then you are in RAW mode.
If you decide to go to "translated" mode currently you have to change the switch to TRAN with this new definition you would just neeed to remove the RAW ID ?

I am also thinking about the CE_DD ID. It is needed when no other ID (SD or RAW) have been assigned but it is a pain when one is assigned because during scan HDDR see a drive at this ID and reserve a letter to it. I do not know if there is an option to return the fact that a drive support removable media or not. In the case of the CE_DD ID HDDR thinks there is one here?
From what I understand you are using this ID to mimic a bootable drive here when the DMA bus is scan. But is it necessary when another driver has already been loaded? It use to be that with PPDR the CE_DD driver was loaded when declared, but it seems that this behavior has changed in latest release as it now behaves as HDDR (as soon as a driver loaded the boot scan is terminated).
It would be sufficient to say that if another media is present the CE_DD needs to be loaded by adding the program in the AUTO folder?

User avatar
Jookie
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1245
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 6:54 pm
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: CosmosEx and HD drivers

Postby Jookie » Sun Oct 26, 2014 3:47 am

DrCoolZic, there's an update that should fixthe USB media access in RAW mode.

Regarding the copying of files mentioned in 'Updates' thread:
DrCoolZic wrote:Much better but for some reason some files cannot be read.
picture of file not copied correctly


- I'm not sure if the comparing under Windows would work - some of the files shown on the picture seem to have LFN, and when you copy them to non-LFN drive (CE_DD drive), the filenames are shortened, but the information about the LFN is lost, so in example:
-- the original file is 'HCOPY_deen.doc'
-- the file on CE_DD drive will become 'HCOPY_~1.DOC' or 'HCOPY_DE.DOC'
...so I guess the Windows tool used to compare those files won't be able to match the original with the copy.

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2144
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: CosmosEx and HD drivers

Postby DrCoolZic » Sun Oct 26, 2014 1:51 pm

I have used the compare program because 14 files are missing.
The compare program shows the missing files and they are apparently all with long name.
I will try with you new release to see if things are better.

You have the test case. When you do the copy do find the original 142 files or only 128?

User avatar
Jookie
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1245
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 6:54 pm
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: CosmosEx and HD drivers

Postby Jookie » Mon Oct 27, 2014 7:35 am

DrCoolZic wrote:You have the test case. When you do the copy do find the original 142 files or only 128?


Before the fix I got 9 files missing when copying, after the fix those 9 files were there. Anyway, some people reported some issues with SD cards, I have to take a look at that one, too.

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2144
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: CosmosEx and HD drivers

Postby DrCoolZic » Fri Nov 14, 2014 12:10 pm

just tested with latest release still not right
Some file cannot be read from Windows source :(


Social Media

     

Return to “CosmosEx”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests