ikbd issue

News, questions and bugs reports about CosmosEx by Jookie. Now we have a Raspberry Pi in our machines!

Moderators: Jookie, Moderator Team

TXG/MNX
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 10:05 am

ikbd issue

Postby TXG/MNX » Fri Oct 17, 2014 6:09 pm

Hi

I got my cosmosex working with usb keyboard and mouse on my MegaSTE.
First issue was 3 soldering points not ok I did fix that ( thanx Joonie for helping me)

Now it works fine when IKBD is connected to the MegaSTE with the original keyboard plugged in aswell. But when I remove the original MegaSTE kbd from the IKBD And i start the Atari its ok but when I press a key it looks/sounds like a key is stuck on the keyboard. Is there a fix for this?
I want to stack my MegaSTE and TT machines and have an cosmosex on any machine and connect them to my KVM switch and use them on my tv/ pc monitor and pc kbd/mouse having the original keyboard on each machine connected aswell would be bad I want to save space on my desk.

User avatar
Jookie
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1245
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 6:54 pm
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: ikbd issue

Postby Jookie » Sat Oct 18, 2014 6:32 am

TXG/MNX wrote:Now it works fine when IKBD is connected to the MegaSTE with the original keyboard plugged in aswell. But when I remove the original MegaSTE kbd from the IKBD And i start the Atari its ok but when I press a key it looks/sounds like a key is stuck on the keyboard. Is there a fix for this?


To be honest I never tried to run the IKBD injection without the original keyboard - as the normal ST would look ugly without the original keyboard present in the case, I guessed that almost nobody would want to remove the original keyboard, and I never thought of Mega ST(e) where it would look normal.

I'll test that at my place, and will let report about the possible solution.

TXG/MNX
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 10:05 am

Re: ikbd issue

Postby TXG/MNX » Sat Oct 18, 2014 7:02 am

Thanx because i need this for all my mega-st(e) and tt systems...

Maybe a dummy plug on the keyboard side?

User avatar
Jookie
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1245
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 6:54 pm
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: ikbd issue

Postby Jookie » Sat Oct 18, 2014 7:04 am

TXG/MNX wrote:Thanx because i need this for all my mega-st(e) and tt systems...

Maybe a dummy plug on the keyboard side?


Yes, that would be one of the possible solutions.

HuggyOne76
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 9:40 pm

Re: ikbd issue

Postby HuggyOne76 » Sat Oct 18, 2014 11:57 am

Problem is the same with a standard STE. That was one of my first test.
Now, since I've got the good DMA chip, I only have problems with few softwares where the mouse stay in the upper left corner...

wietze
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:52 pm

Re: ikbd issue

Postby wietze » Sun Oct 19, 2014 1:15 am

HuggyOne76 wrote:Problem is the same with a standard STE. That was one of my first test.
Now, since I've got the good DMA chip, I only have problems with few softwares where the mouse stay in the upper left corner...


I ran into this issue as well. It can be reproduced by running megalomania for example.
The mouse can be moved up and down, but one cannot get the mouse pointer away from the left hand side of the screen.

TXG/MNX
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 10:05 am

Re: ikbd issue

Postby TXG/MNX » Wed Nov 05, 2014 6:25 pm

@jookie did you find a solution yet for use without kbd connected ?

User avatar
Jookie
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1245
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 6:54 pm
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: ikbd issue

Postby Jookie » Fri Nov 07, 2014 8:22 am

TXG/MNX wrote:@jookie did you find a solution yet for use without kbd connected ?


Hello TXG/MNX,

the 10k resistor as pull up solves the issue (for now), maybe there will be some update later which will solve this in other way, but currently just use the pull up:
Image

Jookie

TXG/MNX
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 10:05 am

Re: ikbd issue

Postby TXG/MNX » Fri Nov 07, 2014 8:39 am

Ok pin 1+2+4 ? When i look at the picture? I will make me a plug for now :-)

User avatar
Jookie
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1245
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 6:54 pm
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: ikbd issue

Postby Jookie » Fri Nov 07, 2014 8:56 am

TXG/MNX wrote:Ok pin 1+2+4 ? When i look at the picture? I will make me a plug for now :-)


Yes, when counting from right: 1+2 are VCC, and 4 is TX from original keyboard which without the original keyboard will float, so the pull it will make it always high.

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2144
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: ikbd issue

Postby DrCoolZic » Fri Nov 07, 2014 1:04 pm

I guess this could be done on a regular st when do not want to use KB?
I am asking question because I am thinking to just take a ST motherboard out of the Atari box and do a system with CosmosEx + MB in a different box ?

User avatar
Jookie
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1245
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 6:54 pm
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: ikbd issue

Postby Jookie » Fri Nov 07, 2014 1:16 pm

DrCoolZic wrote:I guess this could be done on a regular st when do not want to use KB?
I am asking question because I am thinking to just take a ST motherboard out of the Atari box and do a system with CosmosEx + MB in a different box ?


yes, it will be the same, only it will look different as on sandwich cased ST the injector and IKBD connector look different. Should I make a photo of the sandwich case IKBD plug for you?

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2144
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: ikbd issue

Postby DrCoolZic » Fri Nov 07, 2014 1:26 pm

no with above explanation I can figure it out
thanks

User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2144
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: ikbd issue

Postby DrCoolZic » Fri Nov 07, 2014 1:29 pm

DrCoolZic wrote:no with above explanation I can figure it out
thanks


EDIT:
by the way I have an STE board which is probably one of the latest produced with more compact DMA Ajax chip etc...
I got the board alone and it boots but the KB/Mouse does not work.
As this is a brabd new board I would be surprise it is broken?
Do you know if the KB on latest latest STE was using a different protocol? So that an old KB would not work on this new board?

User avatar
Jookie
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1245
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 6:54 pm
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: ikbd issue

Postby Jookie » Fri Nov 07, 2014 1:34 pm

DrCoolZic wrote:by the way I have an STE board which is probably one of the latest produced with more compact DMA Ajax chip etc...
I got the board alone and it boots but the KB/Mouse does not work.
As this is a brabd new board I would be surprise it is broken?
Do you know if the KB on latest latest STE was using a different protocol? So that an old KB would not work on this new board?


From the documents it doesn't seem like there should be a variation in the IKBD protocol, and as the CosmosEx IKBD part seems to work with Mega STE and TT, which should be newer than this STE, then I guess it's not the protocol that's causing the issue...


Social Media

     

Return to “CosmosEx”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest