My problems

News, questions and bugs reports about CosmosEx by Jookie. Now we have a Raspberry Pi in our machines!

Moderators: Jookie, Moderator Team

User avatar
AdamK
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 234
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 8:44 am

My problems

Postby AdamK » Sat Aug 02, 2014 11:59 am

Hi

First, big thanks to Jookie and everybody that helped to bring this device to life :)

Finally, I got time to sit down and setup everything. I had big problems at the beggining, but guess what? It turns out that CosmosEx works much better when it is turned on :)

What I want to achieve, is to use SD card I previously used with UltraSatan in CosmosEx.

I got it all to boot (Hddriver, etc). I can see all partitions on Desktop (both from Hddriver and CosmosEx), but Hddriver partitions are shifted: I cant open C at all (but it is visible), and when I open D, it shows what I expect in C, when I open E it shows what I expect in D etc. Nothing from AUTO starts, no accesories either.

The same card bots perfectly with UltraSatan.

What am I doing wrong?

(I sshed into Raspi, and copied /ce/settings, I'm attaching it here )
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Atari: FireBee, Falcon030 + CT60e + SuperVidel + SvEthlana, TT, 520ST + 4MB ST RAM + 8MB TT RAM + CosmosEx + SC1435, 1040STFM + UltraSatan + SM124, 1040STE 4MB ST RAM + 8MB TT RAM + CosmosEx + NetUSBee + SM144 + SC1224, 65XE + U1MB + VBXE + SIDE2, Jaguar, Lynx II, 2 x Portfolio (HPC-006)

Adam Klobukowski [adamklobukowski@gmail.com]

User avatar
Jookie
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1245
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 6:54 pm
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: My problems

Postby Jookie » Sat Aug 02, 2014 8:48 pm

Hello,
I'm on vacation, I'll be back in a week, then we will look at it.
Jookie

Sent from HTC Desire S

User avatar
Jookie
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1245
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 6:54 pm
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: My problems

Postby Jookie » Sun Aug 10, 2014 2:30 am

AdamK wrote:I got it all to boot (Hddriver, etc). I can see all partitions on Desktop (both from Hddriver and CosmosEx), but Hddriver partitions are shifted: I cant open C at all (but it is visible), and when I open D, it shows what I expect in C, when I open E it shows what I expect in D etc. Nothing from AUTO starts, no accesories either.


This is the expected behaviour of HDDRIVER - for each ACSI ID it seeks for partitions, assigns drive letters to them and adds one empty drive letter after that as a reserve for some hot swapping cases - so if it finds 3 partitions on device, they will be C, D, E, and adds the F as extra one.

If you got the translated drive as ACSI ID 0, HDDRIVER finds no partitions there, and adds extra letter - C.
Then it seeks the partitions on the ACSI ID 1 (your SD card), finds there a couple of partitions (say 3), so it assigns them letters D, E, F, and adds one extra - G.

Either you swap the order of translated drive and SD card (and put the CE_DD.PRG on SD card in AUTO folder), or change the number of extra letters added to each device in HDDRUTIL (by default it's set to 1).

User avatar
AdamK
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 234
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 8:44 am

Re: My problems

Postby AdamK » Mon Aug 11, 2014 9:47 am

Ok, now I see the error of my ways, and it is working now.

The source of my problem was that I misunderstood what 'SD' and "RAW" are in ACSI setting, and I still have problem with RAW (and I read all quides on CosmosEx page). Can you explain what RAW is and how to use it?
Atari: FireBee, Falcon030 + CT60e + SuperVidel + SvEthlana, TT, 520ST + 4MB ST RAM + 8MB TT RAM + CosmosEx + SC1435, 1040STFM + UltraSatan + SM124, 1040STE 4MB ST RAM + 8MB TT RAM + CosmosEx + NetUSBee + SM144 + SC1224, 65XE + U1MB + VBXE + SIDE2, Jaguar, Lynx II, 2 x Portfolio (HPC-006)

Adam Klobukowski [adamklobukowski@gmail.com]

User avatar
Jookie
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1245
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 6:54 pm
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: My problems

Postby Jookie » Mon Aug 11, 2014 10:36 am

AdamK wrote:The source of my problem was that I misunderstood what 'SD' and "RAW" are in ACSI setting, and I still have problem with RAW (and I read all quides on CosmosEx page). Can you explain what RAW is and how to use it?


When ACSI ID is assigned as RAW, then a connected USB drive is accessible on that ACSI ID (for HDDRIVER and ICD Pro) as sectors, no additional logic is done, that means that the hard drive driver on ST handles partitions, directories, and so on. But not always are the USB drives connected as RAW, even when RAW is enabled on some ACSI ID, and here are the rules (which I will put on the web page to explain this)...

When the USB drive is connected, the root sector (sector 0) which contains the partition table for first 4 partitions is read, and it is determined if the USB drive is Atari formated (GEM or BGM partitions) or PC formated (FAT partitions). Depending on what you have enabled on ACSI bus and if the drive is Atari formated or not:
A) if some RAW ACSI ID is enabled, but not TRANSLATED - attach all drives (atari and non-atari) as RAW (use them with HDDRIVER or ICD Pro)
B) if have TRANSLATED enabled, but not RAW ACSI ID - can't attach atari drives, but do attach non-atari drives as TRANSLATED (use them with translated - ce_dd driver)
C) if both TRANSLATED and RAW are enabled - attach non-atari as TRANSLATED (use them with translated - ce_dd driver), and atari as RAW (use them with HDDRIVER or ICD Pro)
D) if there is no RAW ACSI ID and no TRANSLATED ACSI ID, then can't attach the USB drive

This way, you can achieve the following:
- you don't like the translated driver (ce_dd) or trust the native drivers more? Set it as in the case A.
- if you won't use any atari formated USB drives and you're fine with the translated (ce_dd) driver, set it as in the case B.
- if you do have some atari formated USB drives and some non-atari formated USB drives and you want to use native drivers (HDDRIVER or ICD Pro) and translated (ce_dd) drivers - each for his type of media, set it as in the case C.

Example configurations for the above cases:
A) ACSI ID 1 is RAW, ACSI ID 2 is RAW: 1st USB drive will be accessible for HDDRIVER / ICD Pro as device on ACSI ID 1, the 2nd USB drive will be accessible for HDDRIVER / ICD Pro as device on ACSI ID 2

B) only ACSI ID 1 is translated: USB drive which is Atari formated won't be accessible. USB drive which is PC formated will appear through ce_dd under first assigned drive letter (e.g. C:), another USB drive which is PC formated will appear as next drive letter (e.g. D:)

C) ACSI ID 1 is RAW, ACSI ID 2 is RAW, ACSI ID 3 is translated:
- PC formated USB drives will appear under drive letters through the ce_dd (when the first translated drive is set to G:, then 1st USB drive will appear as G:, 2nd USB drive will appear as H:)
- when you attach 1st atari formated USB drive, it will be accessible (for HDDRIVER / ICD Pro) as device on ACSI ID 1, when you attach 2nd atari formated USB drive, then it will be accessible (for HDDRIVER / ICD Pro) as device on ACSI ID 2

D) you don't have any RAW or translated ACSI IDs - USB drives won't be accessible to Atari

This might sound complicated, but once you know what you want to achieve, then you know what to choose for the ACSI IDs. (this will definitely go on the web page, it's hard to get it without the explanation).


Social Media

     

Return to “CosmosEx”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest