Page 20 of 22

Re: CosmosEx - new device for your Atari ST

Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2016 7:15 pm
by calimero
So price for ASCI and SCSI version is same?

Is it possible to but Cosmosex without Raspberry Pi (I have one unused laying around...)

Re: CosmosEx - new device for your Atari ST

Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2016 7:33 pm
by Jookie
calimero wrote:So price for ASCI and SCSI version is same?

Is it possible to but Cosmosex without Raspberry Pi (I have one unused laying around...)


Yes and yes.

Re: CosmosEx - new device for your Atari ST

Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2016 8:55 pm
by DarkLord
Store is back up - order #47 has been placed. :)

Re: CosmosEx - new device for your Atari ST

Posted: Sat Nov 12, 2016 9:00 am
by catmando
Will wait for scsi version

Re: CosmosEx - new device for your Atari ST

Posted: Sun Nov 13, 2016 2:51 pm
by hommerfr
order #40 for me, waiting it

Re: CosmosEx - new device for your Atari ST

Posted: Sun Nov 13, 2016 3:43 pm
by Arawn
I'll also wait for the SCSI version, when it's ready. :)

Re: CosmosEx - new device for your Atari ST

Posted: Mon Nov 14, 2016 8:25 am
by athensnet
hommerfr wrote:order #40 for me, waiting it

I was faster #39 :lol:

Re: CosmosEx - new device for your Atari ST

Posted: Sat Nov 19, 2016 7:13 pm
by DarkLord
Got mine in today - that was fast! Thanks Jookie. :)

Re: CosmosEx - new device for your Atari ST

Posted: Sat Nov 19, 2016 10:36 pm
by calimero
I also waiting for SCSI vesrion.
SCSI can be also use with ASCI or it is only for SCSI?

Re: CosmosEx - new device for your Atari ST

Posted: Sat Nov 19, 2016 11:33 pm
by Faucon2001
I ordered the acsi version for my STE, and wait for a scsi version for my Falcon :-)
Thanks

Re: CosmosEx - new device for your Atari ST

Posted: Sun Nov 20, 2016 1:09 am
by Arawn
@ Calimero, SCSI version is both SCSI and ACSI. You can check all the info about CosmosEx here: http://joo.kie.sk/?page_id=384

Re: CosmosEx - new device for your Atari ST

Posted: Sun Nov 20, 2016 7:13 am
by 1st1
I still wonder that Jookie makes both versions, the SCSI/Acsi version would be enough. I also wait for scsi Version for a 2nd device.

Re: CosmosEx - new device for your Atari ST

Posted: Sun Nov 20, 2016 6:07 pm
by athensnet
I received the cosmosex on Friday and I had the time to explore it.
I had some problems with different SD cards. A Transcend 4 GB SDHC was always giving corrupt partitions but a no name 16GB microSDHC in an adapter works perfect!!!!. Except this micro problem everything works fine.
Just a note for other people and other threads about the BAD DMA MYTH :
As the documentation on the site states that STE machines with the alleged bad chip may have a problem it was proved that despite I have the alleged bad dma chip all works good. I could do major transfers with no problem.
You can see on the photo the type of my chipImage
Regarding the thread of the people having data corruption I run also the CE_TSTHD.PRG without any SD or USB attached and the results from the first KB gave erros ? What could be this?

Re: CosmosEx - new device for your Atari ST

Posted: Mon Nov 21, 2016 12:56 am
by Jookie
athensnet wrote:Regarding the thread of the people having data corruption I run also the CE_TSTHD.PRG without any SD or USB attached and the results from the first KB gave erros ? What could be this?


Yuo have the ACSI version, right? After this forst error, did the test then continue long enough without an error? Your case might be related to the booting of Raspberry Pi and runing the CE app too soon, while the boot didn't finish and still was causing a load on a CPU (my wild guess). This might need examination and possibly fixing, but in the mean time - did you run the test after minute or so from the power on? (to avoid doing this while linux is booting)

For this one I might need some logs later, and also a separate thread would be nice (instead of following in a random thread).

Re: CosmosEx - new device for your Atari ST

Posted: Mon Nov 21, 2016 6:04 am
by vizfizz
Placed my order for the ACSI version. I thought I'd start with that and see how it goes. If I like it, I'll be sure to pick up a SCSI version for my Falcon. I'll use the ACSI version for my Mega STe or 1040 STe.

Now the waiting begins. lol

Re: CosmosEx - new device for your Atari ST

Posted: Mon Nov 21, 2016 7:53 am
by hommerfr
not recept yet
i m waiting it
raspberry is ready to play, atari too

Re: CosmosEx - new device for your Atari ST

Posted: Tue Nov 22, 2016 7:55 am
by gazak28
Hi Jookie,
Gary from Australia, just went to a falcon meeting with fellow users in Brisbane. Being a user but not into the Technical side these guys fixed up my Falcon. One of the guys told us about the CosmosEx and I am very interested in registering for this item. My question is what would be the best way to go; an internal one or an external one.
I am not worried about waiting as I know you build these units yourself, I just need an idea of how long and how much.
Cheers
Gary

Re: CosmosEx - new device for your Atari ST

Posted: Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:07 am
by 1st1
There is no difference between internal and external device. You get a box of a size of a raw floppy drive. It's your turn to build it into an ST/TT/Falcon or to build it into an external box, like SF-354 chassis. The only thing you have to take care is that Falcon has no external floppy controller (and can officially only handle one floppy drive) and has no ACSI. So on Falcon you have to build it internally and you have to use the SCSI version and you have to make a link in some way to connect it to SCSI of the Falcon.

@Jookie: Question: Could you also offer an internal SCSI adapter for Falcon? (Like you do with keyboard injectors as usefull addons.) This would make it for Falcon users much more easy to install CosmosEx completely internally. Look at C-Lab Falcon MK2. They have a little board which is plugged into the sockets of the Falcon internal SCSI terminators. And the board provides internal 50 pin SCSI port plus sockets for terminator resistors.

Re: CosmosEx - new device for your Atari ST

Posted: Tue Nov 22, 2016 9:04 am
by Jookie
1st1 wrote:@Jookie: Question: Could you also offer an internal SCSI adapter for Falcon? (Like you do with keyboard injectors as usefull addons.) This would make it for Falcon users much more easy to install CosmosEx completely internally. Look at C-Lab Falcon MK2. They have a little board which is plugged into the sockets of the Falcon internal SCSI terminators. And the board provides internal 50 pin SCSI port plus sockets for terminator resistors.


Well, I possibly could, but I'm not sure if it would work for most people without soldering - the Falcon I have at home (borrowed from MiKRO) has the internal terminators soldered, so for a board like that you would have to unsolder them (or cut them away), clear the holes, solder sockets / connectors, and then possibly use that internal SCSI adapter. Did you check in your Falcon if you have these terminators soldered or socketed?

Re: CosmosEx - new device for your Atari ST

Posted: Tue Nov 22, 2016 10:10 am
by dhedberg
Jookie wrote:
1st1 wrote:@Jookie: Question: Could you also offer an internal SCSI adapter for Falcon? (Like you do with keyboard injectors as usefull addons.) This would make it for Falcon users much more easy to install CosmosEx completely internally. Look at C-Lab Falcon MK2. They have a little board which is plugged into the sockets of the Falcon internal SCSI terminators. And the board provides internal 50 pin SCSI port plus sockets for terminator resistors.

Well, I possibly could, but I'm not sure if it would work for most people without soldering - the Falcon I have at home (borrowed from MiKRO) has the internal terminators soldered, so for a board like that you would have to unsolder them (or cut them away), clear the holes, solder sockets / connectors, and then possibly use that internal SCSI adapter. Did you check in your Falcon if you have these terminators soldered or socketed?

Every Falcon I've seen has the resistor packs soldered. So there's no way of creating an easy plug-in SCSI adapter.

Re: CosmosEx - new device for your Atari ST

Posted: Tue Nov 22, 2016 12:56 pm
by 1st1
I don't remember if the terminators are soldered in my two Falcons or not. But anyhow, such an adapter board would make it easier, even if Falcon owners have to take the solder iron in hand.

Re: CosmosEx - new device for your Atari ST

Posted: Tue Nov 22, 2016 1:17 pm
by Jookie
1st1 wrote:I don't remember if the terminators are soldered in my two Falcons or not. But anyhow, such an adapter board would make it easier, even if Falcon owners have to take the solder iron in hand.


For those who are skilled enough - definitely. But for those, who aren't able to solder (yet), it would be either nightmare or a catastrophe. At this moment I couldn't test this adapter - I don't think I have the permission from MiKRO to solder things in his Falcon :-D

The design is pretty simple, once you match the exact position of the terminators on the Falcon board. So the least I could do is (at least) draw the thing in CAD - for users to make it themselves.

Re: CosmosEx - new device for your Atari ST

Posted: Thu Dec 01, 2016 10:47 pm
by stuarti
Just received my CosmosEx (took about a week to UK), installed into a 520STE. I've been away from Atari for quite some time and I must say I'm impressed - have tried loading floppy images via web browser and via network shared drive. Being able to use a trackpad and keyboard remotely is blowing my mind :)

btw I've mounted internally, removing the old floppy drive and cutting the case to provide access to ethernet and sd card

Great job Jookie! :thumbs:

Re: CosmosEx - new device for your Atari ST

Posted: Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:32 am
by leech
I would definitely buy an internal SCSI adapter for my Falcon. Been wanting one to simplify installation for it. I am thinking though of putting the CosmosEX in either my Mega STe or TT030. Just need to tweak the HD casing a bit, since the screw holes of the case are sized for a floppy drive instead of a 3.5" hard drive. With the Pi 3 support, built in wifi will make it nice and neat.

Re: CosmosEx - new device for your Atari ST

Posted: Tue Dec 13, 2016 9:20 am
by calimero
^
all Falcon motherboards have terminators soldered onboard. http://www.atari-wiki.com/index.php/Ata ... _revisions

I do not see easy way to have internal adapter for SCSI.