Emulate JagPad for MegaSTe?

News, questions and bugs reports about CosmosEx by Jookie. Now we have a Raspberry Pi in our machines!

Moderators: Jookie, Moderator Team

User avatar
Kirkman
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 124
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 2:29 am

Emulate JagPad for MegaSTe?

Postby Kirkman » Tue Nov 06, 2018 9:09 pm

So my CosmosEx allows me to use a USB game controller in place of a joystick via the IKDB injector.

Would it be possible to do the same thing, but emulate a Jaguar joypad (Jagpad)?

For example, there's a new game "r0x zero" for the STe which requires a Jagpad. Unfortunately for me, I have a MegaSTe, so I don't have the ports to plug in a JagPad.

But if I could just emulate one via the CosmosEx, that'd be awesome.

User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2398
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: Emulate JagPad for MegaSTe?

Postby christos » Tue Nov 06, 2018 9:32 pm

If you read the ejp faq there is actually a way but it is probably not supported by either cosmosex or r0x zero.
Felix qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas.
My Atari blog

STOT Email address: stot(NoSPAM)atari(DOT)org

User avatar
Cyprian
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1515
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Emulate JagPad for MegaSTe?

Postby Cyprian » Tue Nov 06, 2018 9:49 pm

Kirkman wrote:So my CosmosEx allows me to use a USB game controller in place of a joystick via the IKDB injector.

Would it be possible to do the same thing, but emulate a Jaguar joypad (Jagpad)?

For example, there's a new game "r0x zero" for the STe which requires a Jagpad. Unfortunately for me, I have a MegaSTe, so I don't have the ports to plug in a JagPad.

But if I could just emulate one via the CosmosEx, that'd be awesome.


technically not possible.
Mouse/Joy are connected to the CPU bus through keyboard CPU and ACIA (and CosmosEx interface)

whereas in case of STE JoyPad are connected directly to the CPU bus, and in case of MegaSTE JoyPad hardware addresses are assigned to DIP switches
Jaugar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

FedePede04
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1072
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Emulate JagPad for MegaSTe?

Postby FedePede04 » Tue Nov 06, 2018 10:21 pm

Cyprian wrote:
Kirkman wrote:So my CosmosEx allows me to use a USB game controller in place of a joystick via the IKDB injector.

Would it be possible to do the same thing, but emulate a Jaguar joypad (Jagpad)?

For example, there's a new game "r0x zero" for the STe which requires a Jagpad. Unfortunately for me, I have a MegaSTe, so I don't have the ports to plug in a JagPad.

But if I could just emulate one via the CosmosEx, that'd be awesome.


technically not possible.
Mouse/Joy are connected to the CPU bus through keyboard CPU and ACIA (and CosmosEx interface)

whereas in case of STE JoyPad are connected directly to the CPU bus, and in case of MegaSTE JoyPad hardware addresses are assigned to DIP switches


Btw do you have the IKDB package list you could share?
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

User avatar
Cyprian
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1515
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Emulate JagPad for MegaSTe?

Postby Cyprian » Wed Nov 07, 2018 10:32 pm

FedePede04 wrote:Btw do you have the IKDB package list you could share?

no, I don't have. I guess, EmuTos source code would be good place to check that
Jaugar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

FedePede04
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1072
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Emulate JagPad for MegaSTe?

Postby FedePede04 » Thu Nov 08, 2018 5:33 am

Cyprian wrote:
FedePede04 wrote:Btw do you have the IKDB package list you could share?

no, I don't have. I guess, EmuTos source code would be good place to check that


ok thanks and thank for the suggestion.
i did have it at one point, i think i lost it due to hard disk failure.
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

User avatar
Cyprian
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1515
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Emulate JagPad for MegaSTe?

Postby Cyprian » Thu Nov 08, 2018 9:54 am

it happens to me also.
In the meantime I realized it's easier/faster to find some information on the Web than on my hdd :)

EmuTOS files you can find there:
https://github.com/emutos/emutos/blob/m ... ios/ikbd.c
https://github.com/emutos/emutos/blob/m ... ios/ikbd.h

and some old docs:
https://www.kernel.org/doc/Documentatio ... arikbd.txt
http://www.bighole.nl/pub/mirror/homepa ... lities.htm
Jaugar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

FedePede04
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1072
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Emulate JagPad for MegaSTe?

Postby FedePede04 » Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:03 am

Cyprian wrote:it happens to me also.
In the meantime I realized it's easier/faster to find some information on the Web than on my hdd :)

EmuTOS files you can find there:
https://github.com/emutos/emutos/blob/m ... ios/ikbd.c
https://github.com/emutos/emutos/blob/m ... ios/ikbd.h

and some old docs:
https://www.kernel.org/doc/Documentatio ... arikbd.txt
http://www.bighole.nl/pub/mirror/homepa ... lities.htm


super Many thanks :)
look like its what i am looking for :D
after i wrote the last post, i think i also found an old thread here of AF that had the information, at least some of it.
http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.ph ... bd#p159209
look like i will try and add Joystick support to Mainc Miner over the weekend :)
Thanks again :cheers:
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

User avatar
Tomchi
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 386
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 5:17 pm
Location: Au bord de la rivière
Contact:

Re: Emulate JagPad for MegaSTe?

Postby Tomchi » Sun Nov 11, 2018 1:06 pm

christos wrote:If you read the ejp faq there is actually a way but it is probably not supported by either cosmosex or r0x zero.


I'm curious, is there a way to support that , really ?

User avatar
Greenious
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1256
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:39 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Emulate JagPad for MegaSTe?

Postby Greenious » Sun Nov 11, 2018 1:44 pm

Tomchi wrote:
christos wrote:If you read the ejp faq there is actually a way but it is probably not supported by either cosmosex or r0x zero.


I'm curious, is there a way to support that , really ?


Afaik nobody has done it (yet), but in theory there's nothing stopping it. The STE got the same dip switches as the Mega STE.

You need to figure out the circuit and then retrofit it, should not be that hard.

The faq mentioned should be this one I guess: https://gamesx.com/controldata/ejp_faq.htm

and it says the same thing. It's just that noone bothered, probably because there haven't been a "killer app" for the EJP...
Updated my guides as of june 28th, 2016. Check'em out and feedback!
viewtopic.php?t=5040

User avatar
ggn
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1205
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 4:49 pm

Re: Emulate JagPad for MegaSTe?

Postby ggn » Sun Nov 11, 2018 1:46 pm

Cyprian wrote:https://www.kernel.org/doc/Documentation/input/atarikbd.txt


http://beyondbrown.mooo.com/post/ikbd/
is 73 Falcon patched atari games enough ? ^^

User avatar
Tomchi
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 386
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 5:17 pm
Location: Au bord de la rivière
Contact:

Re: Emulate JagPad for MegaSTe?

Postby Tomchi » Sun Nov 11, 2018 2:46 pm

Thx for the links.
I already read them , it helped me wire a usb pad on the STe port A.
But I suck at programming as much as beta testers sucked at playing RZ ( Hello friends !! :D )
So that's far above my skills ...

Best way (easiest) would be to wire a usb pad to both joystick+mouse ports , but then, who on earth will make his own controller ? I can do mine but not many of them .

I would ask for someone providing some routine but then, is it really worth ? ( I started the game in 2009-2010 :P )

FedePede04
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1072
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Emulate JagPad for MegaSTe?

Postby FedePede04 » Mon Nov 12, 2018 11:30 am

Tomchi wrote:Thx for the links.
I already read them , it helped me wire a usb pad on the STe port A.
But I suck at programming as much as beta testers sucked at playing RZ ( Hello friends !! :D )
So that's far above my skills ...

Best way (easiest) would be to wire a usb pad to both joystick+mouse ports , but then, who on earth will make his own controller ? I can do mine but not many of them .

I would ask for someone providing some routine but then, is it really worth ? ( I started the game in 2009-2010 :P )


also thanks for the link :)

Tomchi funny that you mentions this, i had this idea of convert some arcade games, and do my own joystick where i use both joystick port, so i could have multi buttons. i think that, if you do some great games then some would do the controller that fits :)
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

User avatar
Tomchi
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 386
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 5:17 pm
Location: Au bord de la rivière
Contact:

Re: Emulate JagPad for MegaSTe?

Postby Tomchi » Mon Nov 12, 2018 12:32 pm

FedePede04 wrote:i think that, if you do some great games then some would do the controller that fits :)


Hehe, i'm not doing great games, anyway, I'll do my own 2 ports controller and include routine in my tiny game.

I was thinking about keyboard and/or things I cannot do like emulate jagpad :)

FedePede04
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1072
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Emulate JagPad for MegaSTe?

Postby FedePede04 » Mon Nov 12, 2018 12:42 pm

Tomchi wrote:Hehe, i'm not doing great games, anyway,


not sure that all would agree with you on that one :lol:

Btw congratulations with the first place at SV2k18 :cheers:
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

User avatar
Tomchi
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 386
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 5:17 pm
Location: Au bord de la rivière
Contact:

Re: Emulate JagPad for MegaSTe?

Postby Tomchi » Mon Nov 12, 2018 1:11 pm

Thx, was great being there, pushing hospes so that he fixes his dragon kids STOS game, feeling that bit of competition stress too :)

But there's nothing as rewarding as pple playing your games.
When we arrived at party place there was someone playing r0x (the one i did in 2009) and having fun with the 2 players mode, made me so happy !
Also, the few posts on FB of pple playing it , well ... That's awesome !

FedePede04
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1072
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Emulate JagPad for MegaSTe?

Postby FedePede04 » Mon Nov 12, 2018 1:28 pm

Tomchi wrote:Thx, was great being there, pushing hospes so that he fixes his dragon kids STOS game, feeling that bit of competition stress too :)

But there's nothing as rewarding as pple playing your games.
When we arrived at party place there was someone playing r0x (the one i did in 2009) and having fun with the 2 players mode, made me so happy !
Also, the few posts on FB of pple playing it , well ... That's awesome !


I know that feeling all to well :D, it is always nice when people enjoy you work :)

i am sorry but i did not had the time to try it out yet :oops:, I still coding on Manic Miner to get it finish before X-Mas (and right now it's killing me slowly) :lol:
But i have seen some videos of it and it look very impressive :thumbs:,
and i do plan to try it out and some of the other games from SV2k18, when i got some time :)
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)

User avatar
Tomchi
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 386
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 5:17 pm
Location: Au bord de la rivière
Contact:

Re: Emulate JagPad for MegaSTe?

Postby Tomchi » Mon Nov 12, 2018 1:33 pm

FedePede04 wrote: still coding on Manic Miner to get it finish before X-Mas (and right now it's killing me slowly)



Good luck, last bits are painful :P
Would be great to have the full game for X-mas, keep up the (so far) good work !

FedePede04
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1072
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Emulate JagPad for MegaSTe?

Postby FedePede04 » Mon Nov 12, 2018 1:41 pm

Many thanks for the fine words. :cheers:

it is just so much easier today, with the build in debugger, so much power and memory available.
but it can be really hard on the old girl, many times is either speed or ram consumption, but you probably know that all to well :lol:
Atari will rule the world, long after man has disappeared

sometime my English is a little weird, Google translate is my best friend :)


Social Media

     

Return to “CosmosEx”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests