C64 core problems.....

Area for discussing ST(E) clones

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Greenious, spiny, Moderator Team

braincell1973
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 10:32 am

C64 core problems.....

Postby braincell1973 » Thu Apr 20, 2017 12:53 pm

Hello All,
I have been working on adding T64,CRT & TAP support to the C64 core, After getting cartridge support working i found a few problems which are fundamental to the core.

PANG, in game sprite corrupted and frozen timer.

NAVY SEALS, upon entering the 1st level moving right causes the game to reset.

This happens on both the CRT images and D64...... This is also a problem on the ZX-Uno it seems.

Please can you peeps add any "dodgy" games below in an effort to help me track down whats wrong with the core.

Many thanks, Lee

DanyPPC
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: C64 core problems.....

Postby DanyPPC » Thu Apr 20, 2017 1:36 pm

Excuse me, how do you load CRT games ?

User avatar
vebxenon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 422
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: C64 core problems.....

Postby vebxenon » Thu Apr 20, 2017 1:38 pm

Can you please post here your beta? ;-)

braincell1973
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 10:32 am

Re: C64 core problems.....

Postby braincell1973 » Thu Apr 20, 2017 1:41 pm

I only released a testing version to the facebook MIST group but loading CRT's isnt important as theres much work still todo in that.

Whats important is that there are *major* problems in the core that are there from previous releases and as i said even on the ZX-Uno......

Any D64 game that has problems running needs to be listed in order to find the cause.

Lee

User avatar
vebxenon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 422
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: C64 core problems.....

Postby vebxenon » Thu Apr 20, 2017 1:46 pm

Ok, yes, you're talking for example about the corruption that appears in Pang, for example. I loaded a hacked DSK version and it's totally unplayable. I tested also the Facebook test version and same happened.

braincell1973
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 10:32 am

Re: C64 core problems.....

Postby braincell1973 » Thu Apr 20, 2017 1:49 pm

Quest at ZX-Uno tested on that hardware and also got the same result.

Tested last public release before i even got involved and its obviously there too, Apparently frantic freddy is problematic too but i havnt tried that yet.

Lee

User avatar
iceman
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 168
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 11:03 pm

Re: C64 core problems.....

Postby iceman » Thu Apr 20, 2017 2:26 pm

What's this facebag nonsense? Not all of us want to be product.

(Says me using Gmail)
Atarian since 1989. Atari 1040STFM, 4MB 520STe with UltraSatan and Unitor N, A dodgy 1 MBSTe that bombs out after a few minutes, and a 14MB 48MHz Falcon 030 with NetUSBee and Soundpool 8 channel DAC. Plus my new MiST!

braincell1973
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 10:32 am

Re: C64 core problems.....

Postby braincell1973 » Fri Apr 21, 2017 9:37 am

Facebook ? Well i needed some testers as found some strange results and the code was in no way near a public release.

All people need to do is fire up the c64 core and try to find a games thats got problems..........

weirdocollector
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 3:56 pm

Re: C64 core problems.....

Postby weirdocollector » Fri Apr 21, 2017 12:53 pm

And if we don't have a Facebook account?

braincell1973
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 10:32 am

Re: C64 core problems.....

Postby braincell1973 » Fri Apr 21, 2017 2:03 pm

What ??

Look this is really quite simple...... Do you have a mist ?

Do you have the c64 core on your mist ??

If you answer yes to both questions then try some ganes and report if they dont work as expected .....

Just use the last available c64 core. Not the beta......

Lee

weirdocollector
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 3:56 pm

Re: C64 core problems.....

Postby weirdocollector » Fri Apr 21, 2017 2:06 pm

braincell1973 wrote:What ??

Look this is really quite simple...... Do you have a mist ?

Do you have the c64 core on your mist ??

If you answer yes to both questions then try some ganes and report if they dont work as expected .....

Just use the last available c64 core. Not the beta......

Lee


OK, sorry, I misunderstood that having access to Facebook was a prerequiste :oops:

DanyPPC
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: C64 core problems.....

Postby DanyPPC » Fri Apr 21, 2017 2:49 pm

But C64 core is far from be complete.
SID emulation too.

At the moment only the Chameleon 64 is a good substitute for the original car.

braincell1973
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 10:32 am

Re: C64 core problems.....

Postby braincell1973 » Fri Apr 21, 2017 2:53 pm

And ??

Are you saying that because the mist is not upto the ccompatibility levels of the turbo chameleon whe should just say f@$# it ??

Im working to improve this core. I simply asked for some people to test games and report problems so i can fix this but read the above replies so far.........

User avatar
vebxenon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 422
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: C64 core problems.....

Postby vebxenon » Fri Apr 21, 2017 3:38 pm

First of all, FPGA is not emulation.

Well, SID on C=64 core was amazingly improved by Sorgelig, and it's the same FPGA implementation from 1541 Ultimate II. It sounds totally well, just like my C=64 C.

https://github.com/sorgelig/C64_MIST/tr ... r/releases

Thanks braincell1973 for working in improving media support and several bugs con C=64 core :D

Regards,

Salva

braincell1973
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 10:32 am

Re: C64 core problems.....

Postby braincell1973 » Fri Apr 21, 2017 4:12 pm

The voice of reason .I agree sid simulation is fine.

My t64 and crt largely works except i cant get any further without solving these problems first.

For example last ninja remix starts but the character cant move in any direction . Definately a core problem.......

The main problem is that this is a problem which requires dissassembling code to find ..... not an easy job so the more info the better :)

Lee

DanyPPC
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: C64 core problems.....

Postby DanyPPC » Fri Apr 21, 2017 4:15 pm

braincell1973 wrote:Im working to improve this core. I simply asked for some people to test games and report problems so i can fix this but read the above replies so far.........

Excuse me Braincell, I did not understand.

I'm pretty sure I've tested some games and the sound was wrong.
Now I will report the list of games as soon as I can.

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 211
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am

Re: C64 core problems.....

Postby NML32 » Fri Apr 21, 2017 8:14 pm

I created a simple Google Sheet that might make it easier to track games the core is having issues with.
Please, feel free to add to the list.

MiST C64 Google Sheet

DanyPPC
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: C64 core problems.....

Postby DanyPPC » Sat Apr 22, 2017 6:52 pm

C64 Core 20170206

- Pang.d64 doesn't works = graphic corruption
- Turbo OutRun, digital samples problems on Intro
- Gunfright (Spectrum Conversion), problems with Up Direction with USB Joypads (any), not with standard DB9 Joystick

more to come...

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 211
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am

Re: C64 core problems.....

Postby NML32 » Sat Apr 22, 2017 8:07 pm

DanyPPC wrote:C64 Core 20170206

- Pang.d64 doesn't works = graphic corruption
- Turbo OutRun, digital samples problems on Intro
- Gunfright (Spectrum Conversion), problems with Up Direction with USB Joypads (any), not with standard DB9 Joystick

more to come...

@DannyPPC and everyone else please add the games you find to the Google Sheet for easier tracking. Everyone should have edit rights to the Google Sheet.


https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/ ... 1138852569

Sorgelig
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 454
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: C64 core problems.....

Postby Sorgelig » Sun Apr 23, 2017 7:36 am

There is no dedicated developer for C64. So this table won't fix anything.. As i've told many times earlier - the problem not in finding the issues, but lack of developer knowing C64 hardware at excellent level.
Just get it at the level it is.. Complaining about issues to a "cloud" won't get it fixed.

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 850
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: C64 core problems.....

Postby Newsdee » Sun Apr 23, 2017 8:34 am

Exactly. Conpatibility lists are still useful to check if somebody else ran a particular game, but it can stay as is for a long time.

braincell1973
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 10:32 am

Re: C64 core problems.....

Postby braincell1973 » Sun Apr 23, 2017 9:12 am

Im asking so i can attenpt to fix these problems.......

True i may be a vhdl/verilog beginner but i AM learning . My T64 and CRT code works but i cannot go any further without addressing THIS problem......


But, that said, If you would rather a REAL developer sort this then fair enough........

lips2k15
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 10:19 am

Re: C64 core problems.....

Postby lips2k15 » Sun Apr 23, 2017 11:47 am

Noooo don't be put off... this core with your cart comparability is an awesome step - I have tried a handful of games so far with no issue... robocop 2 robocop 3 terminator 2 qbert work fine... Chase h.q 2 has graphical glitches when you use a turbo boost.

DanyPPC
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: C64 core problems.....

Postby DanyPPC » Sun Apr 23, 2017 12:28 pm

NML32 wrote:
DanyPPC wrote:@DannyPPC and everyone else please add the games you find to the Google Sheet for easier tracking. Everyone should have edit rights to the Google Sheet.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/ ... 1138852569


Ok, done

This is a little step, please support !

NML32
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 211
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am

Re: C64 core problems.....

Postby NML32 » Sun Apr 23, 2017 1:37 pm

braincell1973 wrote:Hello All,
I have been working on adding T64,CRT & TAP support to the C64 core, After getting cartridge support working i found a few problems which are fundamental to the core.
core.

Many thanks, Lee

How do you load .TAP files from your beta core? I mean what do you do to simulate pressing play on the tape drive? Or are you still working on the TAP loading function?

Also, the beta core doesn't recognize JiffyDos anymore.

Thanks


Social Media

     

Return to “ST(E) Clones (Suska / MiST)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests