Can anybody crack the Delirious demo 4 (included)

All about ST/STE demos

Moderators: Mug UK, lotek_style, Moderator Team

axelf6
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 8:29 pm
Contact:

Can anybody crack the Delirious demo 4 (included)

Postby axelf6 » Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:00 am

Can anybody crack the Delirious demo 4 ?

no emulator runs it



i don't have time to do it (i don't even know if i can do it)

the TOSEC files of the del4 is attached




MEGA THX for the one who will do it
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
keili
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1287
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 7:29 pm
Location: Germany, near Leer
Contact:

Postby keili » Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:44 am

Just tried it with Steem3.2, 2MB, TOS1.02 and pasti enabled. After a dark screen with a scoller, it seems to crash to the desktop. A double klick on A: starts the demo.
TI 99/4A, C64, 800XL, 260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 1040ST, 1040 STE, Mega ST1, Mega ST2, Mega STe, Apple IIsi

User avatar
ASYLvM
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 302
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2004 11:53 am
Location: South Wales
Contact:

Postby ASYLvM » Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:46 am

Hi Alex.

At what point does it fail for you?

Originally, when I tried it it showed a big, blue scroller then went to black screen and stayed there. However, with pasti installed and set to max accuracy it goes further (shows a fake desktop and when you double click on the a drive a the bee gets swatted!

I didnt test it much further sorry.

ASY

/|\

User avatar
Arch Deviant
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 6:26 pm

Postby Arch Deviant » Sun Aug 27, 2006 1:59 pm

cant get just past the big blue scroller, it sits on IV till you press space then stays black.
got pasti installed, but dont know how to adjust the accuracy :cry:
99% of adult criminals owned Amigas as children.

User avatar
ASYLvM
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 302
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2004 11:53 am
Location: South Wales
Contact:

Postby ASYLvM » Sun Aug 27, 2006 2:23 pm

Open up the disk manager and then select the disk manager options button.



/|\
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

axelf6
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 8:29 pm
Contact:

Postby axelf6 » Sun Aug 27, 2006 9:01 pm

thx for trying
i've done the delirious 3 but not the 4
and i have lost contact with the other members....

User avatar
bodkinz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 791
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: London

Postby bodkinz » Sun Aug 27, 2006 10:55 pm

Umm don't you mean Ziggy? or am i missing something?
someone post something, i'm bored :)

User avatar
unseenmenace
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1961
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 9:33 pm
Location: Margate, Kent, UK
Contact:

Postby unseenmenace » Sun Aug 27, 2006 11:21 pm

I'm guessing he means Zippy of The Medway Boys but who knows :)
UNSEEN MENACE
Several STFM's, 4MB STE, 2MB TT with 1.2GB Hard Drive and 14MB Falcon with 540MB Hard Drive,
Lynx 2 and Jaguar with JagCD
Member of GamebaseST and AtariLegend team
Check out my website at http://unseenmenace.110mb.com

User avatar
bodkinz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 791
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: London

Postby bodkinz » Mon Aug 28, 2006 12:22 am

Ahh ok.. i was thinking Ziggy Stardust from OVR.. sorry
someone post something, i'm bored :)

axelf6
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 8:29 pm
Contact:

Postby axelf6 » Mon Aug 28, 2006 7:01 am

it was MAGNUM and THE DREAMER of MCS who made the protection
i'll try to find them (10 years without news, it will be fun)

it seem that the disks with [b] in their name are better

there is 2 screens : the one made by NGC and nightmare that use a kind of sync-scroll 4 bits (if i remember well)

you can also click on the shaver (at the top) and on the biscuit to have some other screens

ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3821
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Postby ijor » Mon Aug 28, 2006 7:11 pm

Maartau wrote:Ahem, I've tried the Pasti trick with Max Accur. & it runs.
Except It don't take disks swapping


Tell me please how to make it request for disk swap so that I could check it.

Also make sure you are using Pasti version 0.2h or higher. Earlier versions weren't really very accurate with non-Pasti (ST/MSA) images.

axelf6
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 8:29 pm
Contact:

Postby axelf6 » Mon Aug 28, 2006 8:34 pm

I'm my archives i've found all source code of the del4

here they are

in the DEL_4.bin folder you will find deprot.s
most of the comments are in french

in fact the protection was done by ALTAIR, the same guy who did the ATOMIK packer (a good packer if i remember well)

it's fun to read the scroll text :
they often joke at me because i don't drink (like them)
i can't stay all night awake
i shave every 3 days
i've done a demo (delirious 3) alone, wihtout any awesome technics, with 80% of time left in each screen, a buggy loader and i've won a prize for it => the humour and it was the first french demo on STE
MAGNUM was disgusted (he is a better coder than me) this is why he have done most of the screen of the del 4, he did not want STE features
I had the idea for the loader, i have done the little screen THRUD and the green shaded screen with a green shaded big logo (an effect never seen before) (i have done it with the blitter for STE but MAGNUM recode it for STF)
I don't remember why i didn't do other things for the del4
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Zorro 2
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2209
Joined: Tue May 21, 2002 12:44 pm
Location: Saint Cloud (France)
Contact:

Postby Zorro 2 » Tue Aug 29, 2006 12:52 pm

Hi mister Axel,

Nice gift ! I permit myself to ask you to put all the ASM codes on my proper website, specialy in my Sources page. And I ask you if there is a coderight and if I can do that. I meet you on my website to see that I talk...

Frederic (aka Altair) will be happy Then I send him is cool protection routs !

Hum, maybe with all codes you can make an another release ??? Who know ?
Member of NoExtra Team

axelf6
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 8:29 pm
Contact:

Postby axelf6 » Tue Aug 29, 2006 3:28 pm

i have not done this demo
it was in 1992 (14 years ago)
i have no news of the others (specially Magnum)
and as i know them => there is no problem you can put them on your website

do you want the DEL3 sources ?


i don't know when i will have time to redo the del4 without protection.....

ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3821
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Postby ijor » Tue Aug 29, 2006 3:44 pm

Maartau wrote:I used the old Pasti.dll at the moment. For selecting a screen, just lead the flying Lemming near a name on the background. Disk swapping (always with Pasti Max Accur.) seems to trying reading in loop.


It works ok for me (tried one screen only). So please check with Pasti.dll 0.2h and let me know.

For one screen, it displays a text wich contains "INSERT DELIRIOUS 3 DISK in DRIVE A". Space & it load, but appears bombs & that's all :?:


Hmm, is that a typo? Delirious 3 disk???

User avatar
Zorro 2
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2209
Joined: Tue May 21, 2002 12:44 pm
Location: Saint Cloud (France)
Contact:

Postby Zorro 2 » Tue Aug 29, 2006 3:48 pm

axelf6 wrote:i have not done this demo
it was in 1992 (14 years ago)
i have no news of the others (specially Magnum)
and as i know them => there is no problem you can put them on your website

do you want the DEL3 sources ?


i don't know when i will have time to redo the del4 without protection.....

Well, if you have no pbl, I want the DEL3 routs of course. You can post it here or by PM or by mail if it's big ;)

If I've some problems with the authors who returns from the past, I'll can remove them on my website without problem. I have already made it ! But I'm the only guy who publish on my website some interesting stuffs and routs from Atari ST demos/intros. Alors ?

I'm very glad to thank you for your gift, I like it ! Merci beaucoup !
Member of NoExtra Team

axelf6
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 8:29 pm
Contact:

Postby axelf6 » Tue Aug 29, 2006 9:29 pm

The delirious demo 3 emulator is a joke made by MAGNUM to laugh at my shitty "disk rout" i made in the delirious demo 3
=> it just bomb like with the real delirious 3 in a real STE (1 time on 2, and only after the second title i never knew why. And they (mcs) joked often at me with this, hehe they were jealous ;) )



i'm going to search in my archive for the del3 sources, i'll post them here

i don't understand why someone will not release sources 14 years after

User avatar
MiggyMog
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 866
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:43 pm
Location: Scotland

Postby MiggyMog » Tue Aug 29, 2006 9:55 pm

Del 3 had some nice effects But I am scared to use it on my real atari now incase it kills the Disk Drive :-)

I mentioned the main menu to Scene Regularly Menace a whie back as he was discussing using a similar technique with the flickering rasters in Turrican SE which he has now implemented as you may have seen.
('< o o o o |''| STM,2xSTFM,2xSTE+HD,C-Lab Falcon MK2+HD,Satandisk,Ultrasatandisk,Ethernat.

axelf6
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 8:29 pm
Contact:

Postby axelf6 » Tue Aug 29, 2006 10:29 pm

here are the DEL 3 sources
and BONUS : the Megatracker Sources
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

axelf6
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 8:29 pm
Contact:

Postby axelf6 » Tue Aug 29, 2006 10:34 pm

yes i try to stay in touch with Turrican SE
it's a great news to still have guys who love to code

after the DEL 3 i planned to remake Shadows of the Beast with the interlaced color technik. I never had time (i also planned to make a shoot on Falcon in True color, i have done 10% of the game..... sooo much unfinished project)

User avatar
unseenmenace
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1961
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 9:33 pm
Location: Margate, Kent, UK
Contact:

Postby unseenmenace » Wed Aug 30, 2006 6:55 am

MiggyMog wrote:Del 3 had some nice effects But I am scared to use it on my real atari now incase it kills the Disk Drive :-)

I mentioned the main menu to Scene Regularly Menace a while back as he was discussing using a similar technique with the flickering rasters in Turrican SE which he has now implemented as you may have seen.

It works great with the STE palette but for now I have dropped the idea. Although it works very well on a static (or horizontally scrolling) screen as soon as you try and scroll the rasters (vertical parallax scrolling) the effect is ruined. I will however be using the idea wherever I can, such as any levels with only horizontal scrolling or static sections. Of course as axel suggests the idea would work excellently on the outdoor sections of Shadow Of The Beast as it only scrolls horizontally :) Incidentally I am currently going with the working title of "Turrican - Resurrection". What do you all think?
UNSEEN MENACE
Several STFM's, 4MB STE, 2MB TT with 1.2GB Hard Drive and 14MB Falcon with 540MB Hard Drive,
Lynx 2 and Jaguar with JagCD
Member of GamebaseST and AtariLegend team
Check out my website at http://unseenmenace.110mb.com

axelf6
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 8:29 pm
Contact:

Postby axelf6 » Wed Aug 30, 2006 7:12 am

you a right
on vertical scroll it is not as good as horizontal


you are right
Turrican - Resurection is a very great project


i wish i have time to remake shadow of the beast now.
May be... at 65 years.... when retired from work
well, i hope someone else will remake it before me....

User avatar
unseenmenace
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1961
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 9:33 pm
Location: Margate, Kent, UK
Contact:

Postby unseenmenace » Wed Aug 30, 2006 7:59 am

axelf6 wrote:i wish i have time to remake shadow of the beast now.
May be... at 65 years.... when retired from work
well, i hope someone else will remake it before me....

It's on my list :)

Although converting Syndicate to the ST is next :)
UNSEEN MENACE
Several STFM's, 4MB STE, 2MB TT with 1.2GB Hard Drive and 14MB Falcon with 540MB Hard Drive,
Lynx 2 and Jaguar with JagCD
Member of GamebaseST and AtariLegend team
Check out my website at http://unseenmenace.110mb.com

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1311
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Can anybody crack the Delirious demo 4 (included)

Postby npomarede » Sun Nov 13, 2011 11:29 am

Hello

reopening an old topic, as I think some people will be able to answer me.

I improved Hatari and it can now run this demo, but I see strange things regarding STE/STF detection:

The code at address $80e seems false to me, if $ff8205 is writtable, then the flag at $8.w is set to STF mode, which means later from the menu, the 3 STE specific demos display "this demo only runs on STE" (but Hatari was started in STE mode).
On the other hand, if I modify the detection routine to invert its results, I can run the 3 STE demos, but in STF mode the demo loader writes to the DMA sound registers, which will give a bus error on STF.

So, my questions :
- was this demo really supposed to boot/work on STF ? Only 3 screens are STE only ("columns" also uses DMA sound if it detects it), but if the loader writes to DMA sound register if it crash on STF.
- on a real STE, is it possible to run the 3 STE screens ? Or is this due to a buggy version of Delirious 4 that was released ? In that case, does someone have a version of Delirious 4 that he can run on a real STE and get access to the 3 STE screens (fulltrax, tekila and la miga demo) ?

My feeling is that Hatari is correct about the STE detection and that the problem is in the demo's code, but I'd like to be sure.

Nicolas

punkrulesok
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 7:34 pm

Re: Can anybody crack the Delirious demo 4 (included)

Postby punkrulesok » Sun Nov 13, 2011 10:01 pm

thanks for these sources alexf.

someone should at least do a decent version of the first outdoor level on SOTB, the ST one was terrible. It could be like a demo competition.
I do recall that the guy who ported SOTB to the ST came on here and said he had a 1MB version that was a lot better, however the publishers stopped it.


Social Media

     

Return to “Demos - General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests