Best fullscreen screen.

All about ST/STE demos

Moderators: Mug UK, lotek_style, Moderator Team

User avatar
Dbug
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 8:42 pm
Location: Oslo (Norway)
Contact:

Re: Best Full Screen Ever

Postby Dbug » Sun Jan 01, 2006 4:59 pm

alien wrote:- Next's main menu of the Phaleon is also really nice
[...]
Unfortunately most overscan demos were... rather boring, which is understandable because it's hard to code overscan. But still it's a shame.


Well, it's not that hard, I guess that nearly half of the screens I coded were Overscan partly or entirelly. And in the Phaleon in particular we have a poo load of them :)

User avatar
Tanis
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2006 11:55 pm
Location: .se

Postby Tanis » Mon Jan 09, 2006 7:38 pm

Nice to hear that so many of you think the Cuddly demo stuff was so good. It's great for us to hear that you still remember our stuff. We had a great time doing them. :)

User avatar
Dbug
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 8:42 pm
Location: Oslo (Norway)
Contact:

Postby Dbug » Mon Jan 09, 2006 7:49 pm

Whaou, "Tanis", long time memories strikes back :)

User avatar
Tanis
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2006 11:55 pm
Location: .se

Postby Tanis » Mon Jan 09, 2006 10:35 pm

Hehehe... yes, quite. It has indeed been a few years since we all sat in our fastfood smelling rooms with the blinds down and pixels occupying our minds (or longwords if you were a coder ;)).
It's hard to remember those days without being filled with nostalgia. I only wished my parents would've gotten me another pair of glasses. The eighties style glasses were just awful. :)

Gunstick
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 258
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2002 6:49 pm
Location: Luxembourg
Contact:

Postby Gunstick » Mon Feb 13, 2006 11:04 pm

Ok, Tanis, what is *your* favorite overscan screen you have seen?

Greetings from Luxembourg,
Georges

ryo
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 232
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2002 8:01 pm

Postby ryo » Tue Jul 11, 2006 9:07 pm

is the technique of programming of the overscan really specific to ST where that exists on other computers, in particular C64?

User avatar
earx
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 353
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 7:09 am

Postby earx » Mon Aug 21, 2006 7:04 am

Programming overscan with CPU-clock timing is not specific to Atari ST. It was done on C64 before, indeed. However, what is specific to Atari ST is syncscrolling, a technique more or less evolved from overscan routines..

User avatar
illegal
Atari Forever
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 12:53 pm

my favourite overscan

Postby illegal » Mon Aug 21, 2006 7:20 pm

well, i remember the first one was very early in the age if the atari scene

just à bottom overscan, by Tex, in the little sound demo

it is my favourite bottom overscan...

But if you consider fullscreen, the level 16 one was a fake one, i prefer only the ones from the cuddly demos by tcb

User avatar
bod/STAX
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 508
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 8:13 pm
Location: Halesowen, West Midlands, England

Postby bod/STAX » Mon Aug 21, 2006 9:06 pm

Erm, I'm assuming the .PRG with sound sample/background colour change/reset proof and not the fullscreen in the Union demo?

User avatar
Arch Deviant
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 6:26 pm

Postby Arch Deviant » Tue Aug 22, 2006 12:48 pm

I remember a fake overscan on the spectrum 8O

on paperboy it used rasters to generate a pair of handlebars in the top border, that was the first time I had seen anything meaningful in a border.

The first time I saw rasters was on cybernoid I think... amazing at the time :D
99% of adult criminals owned Amigas as children.

User avatar
bodkinz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 790
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: London

Postby bodkinz » Tue Aug 22, 2006 10:41 pm

Also on the Speccy was a game called "Darkstar" which had a sort of space invader in the top border using rasters if i remember correctly... I remember this game because when my mother used the hoover the game would unpause for some strange reason...
someone post something, i'm bored :)

User avatar
keops
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 583
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 3:39 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Postby keops » Wed Aug 23, 2006 12:17 am

speaking of fullscreen screens, you might want to try this demo:

http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=26007


It features a fullscreen effect I missed back in the days, I did not know Omega did it that early.

User avatar
unseenmenace
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1961
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 9:33 pm
Location: Margate, Kent, UK
Contact:

Postby unseenmenace » Wed Aug 23, 2006 7:36 am

Unless I'm mistaken it opens all borders except the left one so it must be a very early one. Still some nice stuff in there once I figured out how to navigate around the menu's and tunes :)
UNSEEN MENACE
Several STFM's, 4MB STE, 2MB TT with 1.2GB Hard Drive and 14MB Falcon with 540MB Hard Drive,
Lynx 2 and Jaguar with JagCD
Member of GamebaseST and AtariLegend team
Check out my website at http://unseenmenace.110mb.com

User avatar
leonard
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 640
Joined: Thu May 23, 2002 10:48 pm
Contact:

Postby leonard » Fri Aug 25, 2006 8:50 am

never seen that demo... pretty cool for the period. Left border opened ! (I though "amiga demos" by TEX was the first one to open left border, am I wrong ?)
Last edited by leonard on Thu Jun 08, 2017 8:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Leonard/OXYGENE.

User avatar
Nyh
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1496
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 2:25 pm
Location: Netherlands

Postby Nyh » Fri Aug 25, 2006 10:06 am

leonard wrote:never seen than demo... pretty cool for the period. Left border opened ! (I though "amiga demos" by TEX was the first one to open left border, am I wrong ?)


Either The Amiga demo by TEX or the Fnil demo by TNT. I am not sure who was first.

Hans Wessels

User avatar
keops
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 583
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 3:39 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Postby keops » Fri Aug 25, 2006 12:01 pm

It's the right border, not left. Right border in Amiga demo as well (march 1988) if I'm not mistaken.

http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=11834

User avatar
leonard
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 640
Joined: Thu May 23, 2002 10:48 pm
Contact:

Postby leonard » Fri Aug 25, 2006 12:59 pm

Oh sorry I made mistake in my message. The OMEGA demo removes right border only, right? (or is another SainT bug ? :-))

If yes, then it's exactly as the TEX "Amiga demos". So who were the first?

btw the FNIL don't remove any left or right border, am I correct?
Leonard/OXYGENE.

User avatar
keops
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 583
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 3:39 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Postby keops » Fri Aug 25, 2006 1:52 pm

It seems that Tex did it before in the Amiga demo (right border)

About the FNIL, I don't exactly remember, gotta check :)

evil
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 139
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 8:03 pm

Postby evil » Sun Nov 12, 2006 8:15 pm

leonard wrote:Oh sorry I made mistake in my message. The OMEGA demo removes right border only, right? (or is another SainT bug ? :-))

If yes, then it's exactly as the TEX "Amiga demos". So who were the first?



If the left border is not removed, then it's another emulator bug. The demo has a fullscreen with all borders removed. It's _very_ tricky to get it working, but it's possible.

And even if the Omega-demo didn't remove the left one; the "Amiga demo" by TEX doesn't remove the top border, which ofcourse, the Omega one does.

Basicly; rewrite your ST demo history, Level 16 in the Union demo were not the first to do fullscreen, Omega was, in 1988.


Here is a PAL screendump from the Atariscene 1985-1988 DVD showing Omegas fullscreen.

User avatar
leonard
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 640
Joined: Thu May 23, 2002 10:48 pm
Contact:

Postby leonard » Sun Nov 12, 2006 9:25 pm

Oh this is really interesting ! I never see that demo !

complete fullscreen in 1988? Could you give us an URL with a disk image?
Leonard/OXYGENE.

User avatar
keops
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 583
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 3:39 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Postby keops » Mon Nov 13, 2006 12:13 am

Leonard: I think that Evil is talking about this one:
http://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=26007

He once sent me the .msa. I knew this demo but I never reached the main menu till Evil told me about the reset thing :)

ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3100
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Postby ijor » Tue Nov 14, 2006 3:14 pm

It does open the left border. But seems the timing is wrong and it works in one wakeup only.

User avatar
bod/STAX
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 508
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 8:13 pm
Location: Halesowen, West Midlands, England

Postby bod/STAX » Tue Nov 14, 2006 4:36 pm

How exactly do you select the demos? I can scroll the list but can't select anything. :(

User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2581
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Postby alexh » Thu Nov 16, 2006 8:05 pm

Page Up

User avatar
bod/STAX
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 508
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 8:13 pm
Location: Halesowen, West Midlands, England

Postby bod/STAX » Fri Nov 17, 2006 3:54 pm

Thanks. :D


Social Media

     

Return to “Demos - General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests