Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

All about ST/STE demos

Moderators: Mug UK, lotek_style, Moderator Team

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1950
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

Postby Steven Seagal » Sat Jan 17, 2015 10:30 am

Yo,

I patched two demos so that they will work on more STE:
Fantasia that checks for TOS v1.06 only, and Cuddly that was already patched for Steem, but needs to be patched again for the new version, and most probably for some STE.

Image

Image

available here:

http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem_demos4.htm

+ uploaded at AF:

edit: fix for new site
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Steven Seagal on Sun Mar 27, 2016 12:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Maartau
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2588
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2005 2:15 am
Location: France

Re: Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

Postby Maartau » Sat Jan 17, 2015 10:10 pm

Thanks Steven :D .

I haven't watched demos since a moment, with huge pleasure will have a look @ "The Cuddly".
Member of :
- aTaRi LeGeNd ,
- eLiTe ! ,
- NoExTrA .

Don't hesitate to visit http://www.atarimania.com/ & http://www.atarilegend.com/ :D

-> Slowed due to serious health troubles <-

User avatar
Jake/Depression
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 482
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2004 1:40 am
Location: Finland

Re: Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

Postby Jake/Depression » Sun Jan 18, 2015 12:56 am

How i thing there is already fixed Fantasia version made by original programmer. I look if i remember this one right or not...
-soimaamme toinen toista ja unohdamme tulta kohentaa-

User avatar
Jake/Depression
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 482
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2004 1:40 am
Location: Finland

Re: Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

Postby Jake/Depression » Sun Jan 18, 2015 3:54 am

I found it. They made later fixer. Original need to be unpack and then used fixer, so fixed demo is now Atomic packet.

Thanks for fixing Cuddly.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
-soimaamme toinen toista ja unohdamme tulta kohentaa-

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1950
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

Postby Steven Seagal » Sun Jan 18, 2015 6:15 pm

Thx, that's new to me.
Still an unpacked version is cool too :)

User avatar
AtariCrypt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 354
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 5:04 pm
Location: Lancashire, England
Contact:

Re: Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

Postby AtariCrypt » Tue Jan 20, 2015 9:43 pm

Indeed. Great work! :)
AtariCrypt ... ST/e gaming https://ataricrypt.blogspot.com

User avatar
leonard
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 640
Joined: Thu May 23, 2002 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

Postby leonard » Mon Jun 29, 2015 2:34 pm

I already patched the Cuddly demo long, long time ago, to support STE :) Works on both STF/STE: all fullscreen / hardscroller working, even the loading scroller in bottom border. Add to this, I added a fade in for the small picture during the boot :)

http://pacidemo.planet-d.net/archives/CUDDLY_P.ZIP
Leonard/OXYGENE.

User avatar
lotek_style
Mod(ul)erator
Mod(ul)erator
Posts: 2367
Joined: Sat May 11, 2002 2:39 pm
Location: germany
Contact:

Re: Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

Postby lotek_style » Mon Jun 29, 2015 5:22 pm

Leonard wins :P
lotek style / the sirius cybernetics corporation
- musician - ascii-artist - swapper - archivist -

.tSCc. - low-tech atari cyberpunks since 1990
http://www.tscc.de/ | http://demozoo.org/ | http://www.lotekstyle.de/ | http://ymrockerz.atari.org/

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1950
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

Postby Steven Seagal » Mon Jun 29, 2015 9:55 pm

In fact I just patched the version already patched by Leonard, because the menu screen flickers in Steem and on my STE.
Just one byte was changed IIRC. (one more NOP or such)

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1950
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

Postby Steven Seagal » Thu Aug 20, 2015 9:22 am

And I did a bad job too, as that version flickers like hell on both my STE and Steem. :oops:
Don't know what happened, must have been tested against an intermediary version.
New v2 is better hopefully.
Again, this is the version of Leonard with one byte changed.

http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem_demos4.htm

edit: fix link
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Steven Seagal on Sun Mar 27, 2016 12:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1950
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

Postby Steven Seagal » Sun Mar 27, 2016 10:35 am

Little surprise, in v3.8, Steem SSE displays the "patched once" (by Leonard) Cuddly Demo menu correctly with option wake-up state WS1.
Because the spurious "line +2" at the top causes a plane shift of other lines.
Now if it isn't a compensating bug in Steem SSE, this could explain why on my STE, sometimes it works, sometimes not: there would still be a wake-up state on the STE, where "partially loaded" Shifter tricks may "work" or not. Just speculation.

User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1197
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

Postby troed » Sun Mar 27, 2016 11:11 am

I don't understand what you mean with the above. There are indeed Shifter wakestates on STE, affecting words left in the Shifter, but nothing that would affect line lengths (GLUE/GST-MCU)

What do you see on real hardware?

/Troed

User avatar
Steven Seagal
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1950
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Undisclosed
Contact:

Re: Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

Postby Steven Seagal » Sun Mar 27, 2016 12:19 pm

I don't understand either.
On my STE, this menu(as patched by Leonard), sometimes is plane-shifted (like Steem 3.8 without option WS1), sometimes isn't.
There are other cases, like Overscan Demos 2000, some screens may randomly flicker.
For the second case, just going from menu to screens and back is enough to change this condition.

User avatar
Tronic
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 540
Joined: Wed May 19, 2004 10:37 am
Location: West Sussex, England
Contact:

Re: Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

Postby Tronic » Tue May 10, 2016 3:12 pm

Awesome :)
Atari 4Mb STE, Falcon 030 4Mb, Mega STE 4Mb, Atari 1Mb STFM, Atari 2.5Mb STFM, Atari 2Mb TT 030, UltraSatan, Satan Disk, BBC Micro B, Playstation 1, Amiga 600 and Amiga 1200.

Proud owner of http://www.ataristsales.com and http://stores.ebay.co.uk/Atari-Computer-Sales.
Atari ST demoscener active in Effect^Elite^Checkpoint as a coder and disk packer.

User avatar
Sturm
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2016 1:51 pm
Location: France

Re: Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

Postby Sturm » Sun Oct 09, 2016 9:02 pm

Would it be possible to patch The Cuddly Demo for Falcon ? This was the first demo i watched and my all time favorite !

User avatar
npomarede
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1160
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: France

Re: Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

Postby npomarede » Sun Oct 09, 2016 9:39 pm

The cuddly demo won't work on Falcon, even if you patch it to pass the loader, it requires an STF/STE shifter for all the border tricks, which the Falcon doesn't have (the Videl has a shifter compatible mode, but that's mainly for games/demos not using sync/freq switches to remove borders)
Nicolas

User avatar
leonard
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 640
Joined: Thu May 23, 2002 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

Postby leonard » Mon Oct 10, 2016 12:43 pm

npomarede wrote:The cuddly demo won't work on Falcon, even if you patch it to pass the loader, it requires an STF/STE shifter for all the border tricks, which the Falcon doesn't have (the Videl has a shifter compatible mode, but that's mainly for games/demos not using sync/freq switches to remove borders)
Nicolas


true! Anyway it's only for "fullscreen" or "syncscroll" trick. For instance I think some screens I patched should theorically work on falcon : the megascroller with vectorball for instance ( my patch just disable top border and syncscroll and just use video base address ( 8205,07,09 )

anyway even that is quite some work...

I already make my sprite record falcon compatible using 320*200, 16colors. Is the falcon capable of large resolution, say 416*272, only using the good video regs settings? (I guess not)
Leonard/OXYGENE.

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1286
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

Postby mikro » Tue Oct 11, 2016 4:14 am

leonard wrote:Is the falcon capable of large resolution, say 416*272, only using the good video regs settings? (I guess not)

What exactly is a good register setting? :-) If you mean changing amount of pixels in hz/v direction while keeping the ST palette registers then yes, this is possible. :)

User avatar
leonard
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 640
Joined: Thu May 23, 2002 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

Postby leonard » Tue Oct 11, 2016 6:43 pm

mikro wrote:If you mean changing amount of pixels in hz/v direction while keeping the ST palette registers then yes, this is possible. :)


really? you mean it's possible to set a 416*272 resolution with 4 bitplans and ST palette? If yes we could imagine a complete falcon port of cuddly demo, right?
Leonard/OXYGENE.

mikro
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1286
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Cuddly Demos and Fantasia patched

Postby mikro » Tue Oct 11, 2016 10:44 pm

Well, it has been some time but AFAIK you even *must* set the correct values for ST-Low (320x200), ST Med & ST High anyway. The compatibility flag just sets some basic parameters (like the ST palette). So if you decide to use other than 320x200 values, Videl wouldn't complain.

For 2-bitplane modes it is even more visible: there's no way to use a four colour resolution which doesn't use ST palette.


Social Media

     

Return to “Demos - General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest